We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, good value lunch in prime location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nid'cigogne

Nid'cigogne
Ranked #474 of 848 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, good value lunch in prime location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went here for lunch after a visit to the Saadian Tombs and were not disappointed. The beautiful roof terrace puts you level with the nesting storks whilst giving you a good view of life in the streets below and the atmosphere was very relaxed. We were short on time as we had a flight to catch and told our waitress this before ordering. She then assured us that our meal would be prioritised in the kitchen. Beautiful olives and bread were served before our very reasonably priced and delicious meals arrived after about 10 minutes. We paid quickly at the cash point where they accepted a mixture of euros and dirhams as payment and the whole experience was very pleasurable and professional. It was particularly good to experience such a good level of service after several less than fantastic experiences in other restaurants during our stay.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    53
    24
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“aka Stork Cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This restaurant us also known as Stork, perhaps due to being the closest to the Storks' nest above Rue de la Kasbah.

I rate this number two of the group of three cafes at the north end of this street.

Don't be put off by the low key entrance, and the plain staircase. The view of the storks is worth it. We visited very late in the evening, so the cafe was almost empty, sold out of tagines. I had a lamb kebab which was very tasty and came with a large portion of salad.

Reasonably priced, clean tourist cafe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch in the Kasbah”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stopped in for lunch before visiting the Saadian Tombs. The food was good value for money (around 100dh for sandwiches, chips and drinks for the two of us and also included free olives and more bread!). Well worth it for the lovely atmosphere and views across the Kasbah roofs and of the nesting storks.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharChar20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anywhere in the world
Level Contributor
313 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Good value, tasty food, and stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If you are visiting the kasbah or the saadian tombs, this is a great spot to grab some lunch. Located almost directly opposite the saadian tombs on rue de la kasbah, it has a quaint rooftop terrace on 3 levels, with excellent views (complete with storks!)

The Moroccan food is fresh and tasty, though the service can be a bit haphazard when busy. Both the food and the drinks (including alcoholic drinks) are very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good location, poor food & awful servce.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

WIth a 2 tier roof terrace overlooking the Saadian Tombs and the Kasbah mosque, the restaurant looked like it had potential so we went in for lunch after visiting the tombs. However when we arrived nobody greeted us, we looked around enquiringly and a woman reading a newspaper at a table looked up, but said/did nothing - we presumed she was just another customer eating lunch. We took a menu and sat down, however 10 minutes later the same woman came over to take our order. My boyfriend ordered an omlette and myself a veggie cous cous dish. Food came out relatively quickly, but without a smile, and was of pretty poor quality compared to all other meals we had in Marrakech (including the markets). Waitresses not to be seen again when we wanted to pay - reappeared after about 10mins. When we went to pay, they then added a mandatory 20dh tip to our bill (of 108dh). I challenged and they grumpily removed it from our bill. Any tip I would have left out of courtesy went back into my purse.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhhyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nid'cigogne also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Nid'cigogne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing