We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #47 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Beautiful property, stylishly furnished with many Thai accessories. Excellent, friendly service from Patrice, the manager.As other reviewers have stated, you will not find this place on your own so book a reputable transfer from the airport. Sadly, when we visited in October, the weather wasn't good enough to take advantage of the small pool or roof-terrace. We took advantage of the in-house hammam and had a massage in our room which was good value compared with other places. The property is about 10 minutes walk from the Djemma el Fnaa and ideally placed for the souks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fidders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
There are newer reviews for Riad Ambre et Epices
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2012

Approached through a maze of unpromising alleyways this Riad is a hidden gem. Beautifully designed and furnished with superior taste, Ambre et Epices is elegant, peaceful and welcoming. Outstanding service and customer care from Patrice and his staff, delightful food and comfortable beds combine to make this the perfect place to stay near the centre of Marrakech.

A tip - taxis have to drop you off some distance away (two hundred yards) so book a reputable transfer before travelling, so that you will be guided to the Riad. You won't find it on your own - no street names, numbers etc! And take some small change, either dhirams or euros. Money exchange at Airport not open when we arrived early evening.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicGloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Ok, so the surprise to this Riad is the long walk through the labyrinth of Marrakeches alleyways. You finally reach a rather scruffy dead end, feel almost dissappointed if not worried, you go in through a little door and suddenly, hey presto you are in a little palace. Beautifully designed, roof terrace, small dipping pool, hammam, courtyard, everything and more you would expect of your Marrakech Riad. Rooms again beautifully designed. Wi Fi. Great traditional Maroccan breakfasts. Excellent staff - friendly personal atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this to all. You won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We have been made extremely welcome by Adil, Patrice and Abdul and cannot recommend this Riad highly enough. Everything is excellent!

A real oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle.

Just one tip - book an airport transfer to get you there - you will never find it without assistance the first time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanFTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

There are many Riads in Marrakech, and they aren't all that dissimilar. What sets this one apart is the location, tucked far back in the quiet residential streets of the medina, and the food. Our meal here was amongst the best we had in the country, and certainly in Marrakech. If you stay here, brush up on your French, as English is a challenge. But you should dust off your French anyways if going to Morocco.

Room Tip: Do not close the large wooden doors to your room when leaving for the night, as this is a sign you h...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We spent a magical week in Marrakech walking every day in the Medina getting a feel for the place and people. Both were above and beyond expectations as was the riad. Patrice and his staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, the breakfasts were varied and tasty and the riad was SO pretty. I was particularly taken with the tadelakt walls, the elaborate decoration and the location in among the back streets near the Dar el Bacha palace. The riad is very handy for the souks, the square and the jardins Majorelle. Patrice was on hand to give us advice about the best daytrips, where to get more money (you will always want to spend more than you thought) and the price you should expect to pay for things. We have no hesitation about giving Ambre et Epices top marks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent five days in Marrakesh and in the Riad Ambre & Epices and we were absolutely delighted to have found this beautiful place and absolute oasis of peace in the middle of the medina. Coming back from a fascination but also noisy and chaotic day in Marrakesh, opening the massive wooden door and stepping into the cool and calm inyard with its little pool, the lounge chairs, quiet music and beautiful decoration was really like entering a different world. And after having had a traditional peppermint tea with some cookies, a chat with the super nice owner of the Riad and just some quiet moments we were refreshed and ready for the next adventure. The Riad is extremely beautiful - a traditional Moroccan house, nicely decorated and with everything you need for a relaxing and nice vacation - and the breakfast is just amazing. Everyday we had a little variation of sweets, fruit salad, bread - and what could be a better way to start your day than sitting on the roof top terrace in the shade and having a freshly squeezed orange juice while going over the possible plans for the day? All this beauty was absolutely perfected by the warm and extremely welcoming service we could enjoy during our stay. We always got good advice for nice places to eat, a perfect goal for a day trip or just had a little chat about the day. Finally I can only say: Travelers going to Marrakesh should absolutely not miss this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apoelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.5 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#27 of 1,160 in Marrakech
589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#16 of 1,160 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#50 of 1,160 in Marrakech
331 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad O
Riad O
#54 of 1,160 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#28 of 1,160 in Marrakech
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £53 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing