We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in manic Marrakech”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Ambre et Epices
Ranked #52 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in manic Marrakech”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Pros: Service excellent (Patrice was very helpful and sorted out our transfers when Jet2 let us down), breakfast superb and changed every day - enjoyed on the roof terrace, free wifi, central location, dinner really good - felt like private dining on the roof terrace, good strong air con, very clean and peaceful with a lovely plunge pool in the courtyard

Cons: Difficult to find initially but Patrice very helpful with direction, room a touch on the small side/a bit too much furniture in it, our bathroom a bit dark

Conclusion: very good, would highly recommend. Made a real difference to our stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MB83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    136
    18
    5
    0
See reviews for
79
419
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spent a long weekend in Marrakech to celebrate TB's birthday and booked Ambre et Epices and after a few emails with Patrice, requested the Trésor de Chine room, on the first floor.

We had a great time staying here, it's small enough to feel like a real guest home, but there is plenty of space to spread out and relax in the sun. Patrice and the rest of the staff are very welcoming and attentive - helping us to make restaurant bookings, helpful hints on attractions, and providing some champagne for a special birthday breakfast treat (there was even some singing!) If you want a chilled night without leaving the Riad, the team can also prepare a delicious traditional Moroccan meal for you, finished off with a glass of wine by the fire.

Like most buildings in the city, all the rooms face into the centre of the riad, meaning no exterior view. Heavy wooden doors are closed at night ensure that you're not woken to early by light, however in Marrakech, you're more likely to be woken by the early calls to prayer - this is unavoidable in the city centre, so pack earplugs if you're worried about getting a full night's sleep. The rooms are also individually decorated, so you can pick the one that best suits your taste.

If you're bad with directions, make sure you take detailed notes on how to find Ambre et Epices... you get the hang of it after a while, but it's not the easiest place to find.

Room Tip: The Tresor de Chine room is on the first floor and has an extra-long bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBellaBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We have recently returned from a five night stay in this riad. As other travelers have stated it would be impossible to find on your own but we were met by Abdul who escorted us Up the small alleyways to the riad. Once inside the door we were greeted by Patrice who along with all the other staff Abdul, Fatima and the girl who cleans the rooms works extremely hard to make sure your every need is catered for. The riad itself is an oasis of peace and tranquility! Much appreciated after the madness, hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It is tastefully decorated in cool colors, each bedroom being individually designed, I would liken it to a small boutique hotel. We stayed half board, breakfast was served on the roof terrace and was different every day, being a mixture of either delicious fresh yogourt or fresh strawberries or eggs along with delicious breads and pastries. Evening meals were three course and we had home made soup, or Moroccan salad to start (highly recommended) followed by a different tagine either chicken or beef, desert was usually light, either poached pears or oranges or creme caramel, all freshly prepared. Patrice is extremely knowledgable and helpful about navigating around Marrakech and even arranged our return pick up to the airport. All in all a little gem, highly recommended and if I were to return to Marrakech I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1959251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We chose this Riad on the basis of all the great reviews and were not disappointed.
We took the hotel arranged taxi transfer (included in the price) and were very happy that we did as we would never have found it without the guide. If you book 3 or more nights direct with the Riad then the return airport taxi is also included, otherwise it costs euro20. Our room on the ground floor was good with a comfy bed. Breakfast each day varied slightly with fruit salad one day, an omelet another and fried eggs on a third.
Patrice is very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: You can see the rooms (which all have names) on the website so can choose which one you would like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 317DavidW317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Riad Ambre et Epices and had an amazing time.

Patrice and staff were extremely friendly, helpful and went out their way to make the stay as enjoyable as possible. We asked them to arrange taxi transfer to and from the airport which was well organised and took the hassle out of this part of the journey. I'd recommend this as the Riad would be very difficult to find unguided!

The Riad itself is perfectly formed and the roof terrace was a lovely place to relax in the afternoon heat. Our room was a little small, more due to the fact that we'd got an online deal than anything else and can't be held against the Riad (in future I think I'll book direct).

The location is excellent, just a 5-10 minute walk to the souks and 15 minutes to the new town. There are a wealth of good restaurants close by. We ate in the Riad one night and also had lunch on our last day - the food was excellent and I would highly recommend it. The breakfast was also very good with something slightly different every day.

Very happy that we chose this as our place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_Catch_Dinosaurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Stayed 5 nights at this Riad and it lived up to our expectations after reading the comments from other guests.
Proprietor Patrice was a wonderful friendly host and takes great attention to detail and looks after you throughout your stay.
We took advantage of the Riad's organised taxi service from the airport, where we were met, greeted and efficiently transferred to the Riad.
Abdul guided us to the Riad and was always on hand, helpful, very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.
We ate at the Riad twice, which was a very relaxing respite from the hustle and bustle of the City, we definitely recommend the food and the local wines.
After a busy day sightseeing we walked back around 5pm, ordered a bottle of local Moroccan wine and sat up on the roof terrace to chill.
Overall, a great place to stay... P and N

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Our first trip to Marrakech and it is certainly one we will not forget. This Riad is inside the old city walls in a residential area. Even going to and from the Riad was an experience.

Patrice and his staff were excellent and the room we had was amazing. My partner especially enjoyed the sunken bath at the end of each day. The bed was also really good.

On our second night we ate at the Riad to celebrate Amanda's birthday and it was wonderful. I cannot thank the Riad enough for making it such a lovely evening.

This Riad has 5 or six rooms. There is a seating area in the court yard with a plunge pool and a small sitting room with a real open fire.

Breakfast was served each morning on the roof and it was gorgeous. They always offered something a little different each day. There is spectacular views of the city from the roof and on a clear day the atlas mountains.

We enjoyed our stay but would most probably try a different Riad on our next visit, just for some variety.

I would strongly recommend that you ask the Riad to arrange collection from the airport and ask them to meet you at the taxi. It takes some time to get your bearings. It is like a maze.

Room Tip: We had the Racines Suite and it is excellent. Lovely bed and a great sunken bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovetoholiday2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#40 of 1,139 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#63 of 1,139 in Marrakech
273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,139 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Rafaele
Riad Rafaele
#35 of 1,139 in Marrakech
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,139 in Marrakech
637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#42 of 1,139 in Marrakech
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ambre et Epices? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ambre et Epices

Property: Riad Ambre et Epices
Address: 89-90 Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Ambre et Epices 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the Dar El Bacha's old district and very close from the famous Souks, this former house, owned in the past by a big trader of spices, renovated in the respect of the art and moroccan traditions, will become your new address in Marrakesh. Riad Ambre et Epices is a place of interbreeding by its refinement inspired at the same time by the East, Africa and India, all in an authentic Marrakchi atmosphere. Turkish bath, massages, swimming pools / Jacuzzi, terraces and solariums will contribute to your well-being and your relaxation, before joining one of the 11 suites and rooms suggestively decorated by the most important steps of the spices route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Ambre et Epices reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ambre Et Epices Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing