We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect family holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #194 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have just returned from a five night break at Villas Fawakay with our one year old girl......it was a perfect break and the place is absolutely stunning. Our villa was beautifully decorated and spacious...lots of room for our little girl to run around! The food was delicious and nothing was too much trouble. The gardens were stunning and our little girl loved all the animals, particularly Doris the donkey! Everything is so well thought out and stress free, from the airport collection to arranging what time to eat and where. We will definitely be re-booking and would recommend to anyone looking for a family holiday. Thank you very much Dawn and Francis for such a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_RCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you are looking for somewhere out of the Medina (but still accessible) then Villas Fawakay is the spot. Three beautiful villas sit in an atmospheric, beautiful, and spacious setting spaced around a swimming pool, rose gardens, and berber style tents.

It is perfect for large family groups or couples looking for a quiet retreat with enough space to make sure you can make the place whatever you want it to be.

We have stayed both as a couple and then subsequently rented the whole property for our extended family and have had amazing times in both quite different scenarios.

Dawn and Francis the owners are fantastic, accommodating, and a great attention to detail and are able to organise whatever you are looking for.

We were so impressed with them we hosted a big BBQ party for 100 people on site which was amazingly organised by Fawakay. Our guests all left wowed by them.

We will definitely be heading back!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David_and_Sarah_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Had five wonderfully lazy days here before hitting the the Medina in mid-October. We knew beforehand that we had the whole villa (Laklak) to ourselves, though in the event just the top floor was more than enough for us - loved the bathroom in particular. Although we had thought of a day trip out somewhere in the mountains, in the event we could never manage to tear ourselves away from the array of sunbeds and chairs surrounding the pool, most of which we had to ourselves for much of our stay.

Activity rarely got beyond flitting between sun on one side of the pool and shade on the other - oh and occasionally a few metres more to the honesty bar for another glass of the very acceptable local vino. Doris the donkey did join us for our first alfresco breakfast, but she seemed to quickly suss that we weren't the sharing types ! Only slightly more reticent morning visitors were the very cute pea-chicks (with mum and dad) - definitely a first to be in such proximity to a family of them.

As others have said, Francis and Dawn are very friendly and helpful hosts, and the service from their staff was faultless - we thought the food was of a very high standard without ever trying to be something it wasn't. Would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this to anyone who wants a few days r-and-r, and I am sure we will return; hopefully to incorporate a trip down to Ouarzazate or Ait Benhaddou, though you never know - the pull of those sunbeds may win out again !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I was lucky enough to stay at Villas Fawakay, thanks to a freind's reccomendation. It is a stunning place, with brilliant host & hostess; nothing is too much trouble and they are full of good ideas for shopping, sight seeing and eating out.
They serve delicious food, have a stunning garden and my villa was really comfortable. I can't reccomend it more highly - you MUST stay there!
It is 10 minutes into the centre of town and a perfect place to stay. The hustle and bustle of shopping is fun, but then you need to escape to the peace and tranquility for a laze by the pool afterwards. Get booking - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

This is a fantastic base for a holiday in Marrakech, a little way out from the hustle and heat of the city. We (dad and two kids, 9 and 13) went for a blast of sunshine before the end of the summer hols, and we certainly got that. The temperature was nudging 40 degrees most days, but there’s plenty of shade at the villa and around the two pools, and it was easy to avoid getting sun burnt. The villas themselves are very well appointed, decorated with a flair for drama and theatrical effect – high ceilings, comfortable beds, pretty lamps in nooks, wooden shutters, romantic Moroccan stone baths, separate showers with huge brass shower-heads, tiled floors covered with local rugs, and effective air conditioning units. We chose Villa Sannor with three rooms, but each one was like a villa in its own right, with complete facilities in each one – the upstairs villa was particularly nice, with roof terraces either side, and a huge bathroom. There’s also a separate kitchen with fridge stocked with goodies, and large divan in the shade. We were served our sumptuous breakfasts on the canopied patio in front of the villa, next to the plunge pool.

The food was delicious and far more varied than we’ve heard from other visitors to Morocco – home-made pastries, pancakes, eggs, fresh fruit salad and juices every morning; a range of delicious lunch options from simple grilled cheese sandwiches (good for younger kids with more conservative palates), to chilled soups, salads, and more substantial meals on request; and beautifully prepared three-course dinners in the evening, with exciting salads, mezze, tagines, couscous, ices, etc. My daughter is a vegetarian, and she was very well catered for too. We all got on like a house on fire with Francis, Dawn, and their lovely children, so we ate most of our evening meals out by the bar, but we could have been more private if we’d wanted. Another couple were there at the same time as us, newly-weds who were happy to stay in their own romantic cocoon without disturbance.

The villa itself is located outside the main part of the city, and the journey out there by taxi is an education in itself, past olive groves, vacant scrubland, astonishing new housing developments, and also, unavoidably, some areas of notable poverty. Getting a taxi to and from the villa was easy with Francis and Dawn’s help – they settle up with the taxi driver for you, so there is no question of debating the cost in the local currency. We weren’t particularly active while we were there: we visited the souk (a must-see for any visitor to Marrakech) and the Oasiria water-park, which was a good day out (the Camel’s Back slide is not for the faint-hearted), but if we had wanted to visit to centre of Marrakech more often, it would have been easy. Our newly-wed friends took a Moroccan cookery lesson at the villa, which they enjoyed. The Atlas mountains are near enough for a day trip (with an early start), as is the coast, and Francis and Dawn are free with their advice as to where best to go and how to get there. There’s a clay tennis court, but I wasn’t feeling brave enough to use it. There’s also an outdoor library of books and DVDs, so it would be tough to get bored here. The villa has a rich abundance of semi-domesticated wildlife – Doris the donkey, peacocks, hens, a turkey and a guinea fowl stalk around the place pecking at the gardens, while cats and dogs flit in and out of the conversation, and one or two rather charming toads croak in the evening. While the heat when we were there meant that the place had a generally languorous air, especially around midday, it was never dull.

There weren’t any traditional holiday problems. I was bitten by a mosquito once or twice, but that is probably only because I didn’t bother using the mosquito repellent that is thoughtfully provided in each villa. The water supply is clean and there were no dicky tummies in our party. The wines and beer at the villa are all local, delicious, kept perfectly chilled, and poured by Francis with a solicitous and ever-steady hand. The bar is open at all times, so you just grab a drink as you feel like it and jot it down on a list. The kids were particularly pleased that our fridge had a stock of M&Ms and other chocolate treats kept at the ideal temperature.

All in all, Villa Fawakay is a top-notch holiday place, with a great marriage of local cuisine and atmosphere with westernized conveniences, a relaxed and peaceful alternative to the more traditional inner-city riad.

Room Tip: Villa Sannor is like three villas in one, great for everyone to have their own space
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lykaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I joined a group of about 25 friends and family(including about 9 children) for a magical four days to celebrate a dear friend's wedding. After a very early start from Brighton, we arrived exhausted and hot around 10.30am. The previous guests were dragging their heels in leaving( who could blame them!) and our amazing hosts Francis and Dawn were most apologetic to us. They needn't had been concerned...for we had arrived in Nirvana for all! After a divine pick-me-up of mint tea and pastries, we all chilled out while the fanrastic staff prepared our rooms , expertly, in record time. I have never experienced such a place such as Villa Fawakay. In our group ,the ages ranged from 3 years to 70 plus years. Everyone, bar no one, loved every minute of the Fawakay stay. Dawn and Francis have an incredibly warm, thoughtful and caring approach with the height of professionalism...I have never experienced that perfect mix before anywhere and the whole group agreed. All our plans for the first evening spent at the Souk disappeared...in fact the minibus i booked for 12, left with just 4 people(and two of those had to dragged away from Fawakay even just for 3 hours!!). The children adored this place, which is incredibly safe,.Francis and Dawn's wonderful children are polite, well brought up,great fun and only will join the group when asked which they of course were all day and evening! I have recommended the Villa to couples, families and singles. We all shed tears saying goodbye but were so grateful to our amazing hosts.
Marrakesh is incredible and Villa Fawakay is sublime perfection.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank englishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I stayed in Villas Fawakay back in July and it has been the topic of conversation ever since we returned. My friends and I absolutely loved the whole setup of it and I know we shall return next year!!
We were greeted by Francis as soon as we arrived and made us feel incredibly welcome. It was late at night as our flight was delayed but even then, some food has been prepared for us before we went to bed. The staff had stayed up for us and despite it being 1 o'clock in the morning, were still smiling and wishing us a wonderful stay.
The food was immaculate. Classic Moroccan homemade cooking for dinner and snacks, salads, sandwiches, soup etc for lunch were perfect after a filling breakfast. After a week of staying there, we still didn't feel that we had had enough of the food that Villas Fawakay had to offer!
Bouchra, the head cook, and the rest of the staff in the hotel were always smiling, made us feel right at home and looked after us very well. They all spoke excellent french, arabic and Bouchra would even attempted to speak to us in English! We have never stayed in a place where the host and hostess have been quite so charming and hospitable. Everything that has been said on here previously we second!!
My friends and I left the property in a taxi organised by Dawn and Francis a couple of time either to go out for supper or into the souks which are about 15 minutes away from the Hotel. However, we decided that after returning, Villas Fawakay's pool, food and bar weren't worth leaving and so spent the rest of our time there.
We will definitely be returning next year as a friend of mine who came with me is planning her husband's 50th birthday party. Dawn was incredibly helpful and enthusiastic about what I'm sure is going to be a fantastic day for all of us next June. It is so helpful having an English person to discuss and organise things with.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
5.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#144 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#184 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#78 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#47 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#48 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Property: Fawakay Villas
Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing