We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place lovely people”
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #214 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This was the perfect getaway for our little family. We are a couple from West London, with a year and half old toddler, and we couldn't have asked for more from our week break in the sun. The villas and rooms are really comfortable, there's a lovely pool and bar, and a top notch clay tennis court if the fancy takes you. But the two things that really make this so special are the staff and the location. The family and their extended family of staff are so kind, thoughtful, gentle and helpful. We ate delicious food, learnt how to cook it and often had our little one swept up into a member of staff's arms and taken off on an adventure to see Doris the donkey. Plus the location makes Marrakech and the medina with it's souks easily accessible in a twenty minute cab journey. This is a very special place. Only note of caution would be to say you need to keep an eye on toddlers with the (albeit magical!) plunge pools on your villa porches...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdizzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

thank you for your lovely review, it was lovely having you to stay here at the villas, and delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back one day soon....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

A beautiful retreat within easy reach of the city, with delicious authentic food, friendly staff and a really relaxing atmosphere. The villas are stunning and the grounds and pool area are too. We really enjoyed our visit here and would definitely be keen to return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review, it was so lovely to meet you and really hope you will come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We first visited Fawakay in January this year and after around 2 seconds chose it as our wedding venue. We've just got back from the most magical wedding and I can't thank the team at VF enough for the effort and care they put into making it such a special day.
The villas are in an enviable position, around fifteen minutes outside of the medina, so a sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle but near enough to make the most of the town centre when you want to. The suites are incredible, both in terms of furnishings, comfort and value.
You can't help but chill out around the beautiful pool and bar area, under the atlas mountains and if that wasn't enough, just try one mouthful of Bushra's amazing food and you'll never want to leave!
We've been there for a romantic break, with the family (aged 3 to ahem, older) and with friends for our big day and every single one of them loved it.
Hats, well Fezes, off to Dawn and Francis for creating such a fantastic place and for being brilliant, fun hosts. I can't recommend this place enough (as long as there is always a spare room for us to stay once word gets around!)

Room Tip: Our favourite rooms have to be the top suites at both LakLak and Sannor - but all of them are unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We visited Villas Fawakay at probably the most difficult time of year to be in Marrakech - during the hot, hot heat of August and at the end of Ramadan when the city is even crazier than normal. The Villas (we stayed in Lak Lak) were a magical, restful respite from the dust and the noise and a great base from where we could make trips into the city.

We were travelling with our 2 children (8 and 9). Villas Fawakay couldn't have been more relaxing for all of us - stunningly beautiful accommodation - I particularly loved the photographs of Morocco in the suites - extensive grounds with lots of secret spots to hide away in, good food and wine (lots of it) and best of all super friendly hosts.

The menagerie of animals that share Fawakay add enormously to the charm. Doris the pregnant donkey is a constant source of amusement, the peacocks and peahens are beautiful and serene.

We loved Fawakay - it's the perfect oasis for an easy holiday that allows you to flop and drop or venture out and explore the city. Everything is taken care of for you and we are already planning another trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestL0nd0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

A truely lovely hotel/collection of villas, with beautiful grounds. We stayed in Villa Sannor (one of the three bedroom villas) and absolutely loved the hotel. The service was great, the owners (as were the staff) were extremely attentive and helpful, whilst creating a relaxed atmosphere.
The bedrooms were great! Comfortable and spacious, whilst opulently decorated with Moroccan touches, and all had sunken baths. Each of the downstairs ones also had a separate living area attached which was useful. One had a tv and dvd player, whilst there was a large selection of dvds if you felt like a quiet night in.
We ate lots of meals at the hotel, which had a wide menu for such a small establishment and the food was never anything but tasty! (You specify the time you wish to eat and whether by the pool/in the outdoor dining area/at your villa).
All in all a great holiday with a nice retreat to come back to after a busy day in the Medina, camel riding, waterfall climbing, quad biking or just relaxing by the pool!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fattyy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Myself and 5 friends have just come back from a 3 night stay at Villa Fawakay and couldn't fault anything. The villa's are comfy, spacious spotlessly clean and above all come with their own private plunge pool. Francis and Dawn couldn't have been more helpful and arranged all our transfers for shopping trips and nights out. The food is amazing simple morroccan style with bags of flavour, I personally thought the food was better here than what we had at a top restaurant we dined at. The Animals on site make it a fun experience and Doris the donkey enjoyed coming to say hello while we were sunbathing. The Pool area is amazing, very clean and tranquil and the perfect way to spend the day lazing in the sun. I would highly recommend as a perfect place to stay in Marrakech

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adamsp186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Five of us stayed in the 3 bedroomed Villa Sannur for 5 nights in May/June 2012. We were Mum, Dad, and 3 older teenagers - all worn out and the kids all just post- exams.
As everyone has commented, Dawn and Francis are delightful hosts - helpful but also relaxed.
All the bedroom suites were lovely and comfortable, with many local touches.

We loved the spacious swimming pool and the many spaces to lounge and laze. Having the peacocks and peahens (including the new pea-chick) and the turkey with her 5 chicken chicks around (and the gentle small dogs, hungry donkey, geckos etc) all added to the relaxed rustic feel of Villas Fawakay.
Dawn and Francis were brilliant at arranging our transport for all the trips we did - airport, Marrakesh, Atlas mountains and even camel riding (which was great fun). They did not impose or push us but just facilitated. Great hosts - thank you.

One observation about the bedroom layouts and families :
In Villa Sannur, the biggest bedroom suite was upstairs. The 2 (only slightly) less grand bedrooms downstairs had their own front doors (which we could not lock absolutely securely - we just learnt to chill). All 3 bedrooms doors opened onto a covered porch-like area furnished with a huge day-bed to lounge on.
However, if you are one for great security or ease of access between bedrooms at night (I refer to children, not suggesting anything else..!), you will need to be aware that the porch-like lounging area only had 2 walls - look at the photos of the villas and you will see what I mean.
So if your kids are in the downstairs bedrooms and they need you in the night, they would have to go outside into the open darkness to get to your bedroom door. Perhaps bring some walkie-talkies if that could be an issue!

Prices (sorry to be so common as to mention Money, but I believe it matters to some...) at Villas Fawakay for food, drinks, transport and the tiny on-site gift shop were reasonable, probably slightly cheaper than in UK - not dirt cheap (this is, after all, a luxury hotel in the Moroccan countryside) but equally, not exorbitant either. (despite being a luxury hotel in the Moroccan countryside.)

Overall, we felt that Villas Fawakay was like an oasis of relaxed calm and cool just outside Marrakesh, and great for a family break.(not just for weddings!)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilywithTeenagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.6 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
464 reviews
6.4 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
2,175 reviews
3.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
5.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
1,357 reviews
5.6 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £179 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing