We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Wedding, Extraordinary Hosts, Thank you Dawn & Francis!”
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #174 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
2 reviews
“Magical Wedding, Extraordinary Hosts, Thank you Dawn & Francis!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our wedding was exactly the enchanting experience we wanted with tremendous, heartfelt thanks to Dawn & Francis of Villas Fawakay. As a matter of fact, much to our happiness, they over-delivered on our wedding day. The venue was decorated in such a way that it was breath taking, the ceremony was very intimate and beautiful and the staff was very accomodating. Besides being the owners of the villa, Dawn is absolutely the best wedding planner on the planet and Francis is an amazing celebrant. Because of them and Villas Fawakay as our venue, we had the wedding that dreams are made of. For those planning a wedding at the Villas, I highly recommend: the dream team (Dawn as wedding planner and Francis as celebrant), a massage at the villa (mine was outdoor near the rose garden), bridal henna, moroccan patisserie & fire eaters for entertainment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanemercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
thank you so much for taking the time to write, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your most special day. We so loved having you here, and making your day as special as it deserved to be. Please do try and come back for those 3 days would be great to spend more time with you both x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are so glad we chose Villas Fawakay as our wedding venue in Marrakesh and did not regret that decision for 1 minute!
We had 38 people attending so we took up all 3 of the villas here and also used the nearby Villa Dinari (whom Dawn and Francis know well) for the remainder of our guests.
Dawn and Francis were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble! Dawn decorated the venue for our wedding day beautifully and took care of all our theme with table plans, decorations and even picked flowers from the gardens to make my bouquet, organised entertainment and suggested a beautiful menu which Bouchera and the staff did a fantastic job. Francis seamlessly arranged for all our guests transportation to/from the airport and to Villa Dinari and back throughout the weekend, and somehow managed to remember each one of our friends and family's names! Not forgetting opening the bar for us any time of the day or night! A massive thanks also to Astrid, who was lovely, and the rest of the staff too!
The villas are beautiful, each one with it's own theme and decorated beautifully with their own kitchen area and honesty bar. The grounds and gardens are very well kept with a couple of berber tents dotted around, as well as a lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds.
Meals here are lovely, we had a couple of very tasty tagines (especially the kofta) and the salads are also highly recommended! Breakfast is plentiful and very tasty.
Food & drink prices here are very reasonable, and actually much cheaper than the main hotels and restaurants around Hivernage and La Palmeraie!
As most others have mentioned, the resident donkey Doris and the rest of the animals and dogs are very entertaining and even joined in with the party!
A fantastic time was had by all and we have memories to last forever - thank you Dawn and Francis for giving us our perfect wedding weekend! Hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a suite - the roof terraces are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
it was such a pleasure having you all here, and so glad that your wedding was everything you hoped it would be! We so loved having you all here...Really looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hednesford
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Our daughter's weddingtook place at Villas Fawakay on 14th September with approximately 40 guests. What a fabulous location for a wedding. The villas and gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. We stayed at the villas for four days and like everyone else, were made to feel at home immediately by Dawn and Francis.
The ceremony, conducted by Francis, was lovely, the food (and wine) were
excellent, as was the entertainment. A good time was had by all. Thank you Dawn, Francis and staff for all your hard work and making everything go so smoothly.
And, we still miss Doris!
Marion and Michael.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
it was an honour for us to be a part of your special day, and really hope we can persuade you to return to see Doris again, who is, if you can imagine it, even bigger than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We visited Fawakay Villas for a long weekend to attend our Friend’s wedding on 14th September. I cannot praise this Villa enough, Francis and Anita are wonderful hosts and Astrid and their Staff are credit to them, no request is too much for them. The rooms are each individually beautiful, filled with Anita’s amazing work and the food and the service are second to none, the grounds are filled with beautiful flowers, plants and trees, very tranquil. You will not be disappointed with this Villa it is amazing and we had a marvellous time, I wish we had stayed here for longer as I miss peacocks walking past our doors, Couscous coming in our room for a nose about and Doris the Donkey who amused us so much!

Thank You Francis and Anita we had a great time……Francis, you gave me the recipe for your wonderful carrots recipe that we ate at the wedding…..can’t wait to try it!

Take care, hope to see you very soon.
Clare & Glen Darby

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
thank you for taking the time to write such a review and so glad you enjoyed your stay, we certainly enjoyed having you all here! Hope the carrots were a success!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We cannot Thank Francis & Dawn enough for an amazing stay at Villas Fawakay.
We stayed for 5 days for our friends wedding and it was absolutely beautiful.
The food was great, Astrid and all the staff were lovely and very helpful and friendly, the rooms were stunning and very comfortable with loads of space with everything you could possibly need and more.
From the first moment we arrived we felt very welcome and at ease, Francis and Dawn were lovely and made our stay at the villas very good fun. They were always on hand for advice on what to do in town, trips to staying up late to make sure we had a great time at the bar! Nothing was too much for them. It really was the best service we have ever experienced.

It was lovely having the animals rooming around and keeping us entertained! Doris the donkey, Couscous the gorgeous puppy, the lovely Woof & Wotsit along with the peacocks and the odd toad!
The wedding was seamless from start to finish and it was a stunning setting.
No negatives whatsoever - only that we didn't stay longer!
Thank you so much for a great time and we hope to return soon!
Ben & Maria.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariahos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
thank you for your lovely review, we so enjoyed having you all here. Hope your wedding in Antigua goes realy well, and hopefully we will be able to persuade you to return to see us again one day....with best wishes and thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Marvellous hotel. Highly recommended and in a great place.. We had a fantastic time and the weather was perfect. A big thank you to Dawn and Francis for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back, that's for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller162
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Villas Fawakay is most certainly the place to get away from it all! Francis and Dawn are great hosts, the whole place is beautiful from the rose gardens to the pool area, very comfortable and spacious well laid out villas with luxury linen and towels and great views from the terrace!
The kitchen offers a great choice of food throughout the day and a set menu in the evening all of which was delicious and can be served either in your villa or out at the bar area, it was so good we didn't want to eat out!
We have already planned our return visit next year.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank traveller162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
thanks so much for this...really kind of you, and so looking forward to seeing you back here next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
5.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#178 of 500 in Marrakech
470 reviews
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#17 of 500 in Marrakech
930 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#72 of 500 in Marrakech
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#146 of 500 in Marrakech
305 reviews
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.6 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#44 of 500 in Marrakech
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Property: Fawakay Villas
Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing