We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Break”
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #190 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“A Brilliant Break”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My friend and I had a flying 2 night visit to Fawakay Villas and enjoyed every minute of it. It's so easy to get there from the UK and we were transported from a damp and grey Stansted to another exotic world in a matter of hours.
We were warmly greeted on arrival by Dawn and Francis (and Doris the donkey!) and enjoyed a drink and olives by the open fire near the bar area, which was the perfect start to our adventure. We then rounded off the evening with a delicious 3 course meal in our dining room again in front of a roaring fire.
Our rooms were perfect with lots of space and a nice shower plus a comfy sitting room area with a telly and open fire. A big thank you Francis for making sure we could watch our favourite tv programme in the evening!
The next day after a hearty breakfast served by the ever smiling staff, Dawn arranged a car into town and recommended where to go in the Marrakech souks, where to eat and how much to pay for taxis which was a great help as it's easy to be over charged. We had a lot of fun soaking up the atmosphere and enjoyed a superb lunch at the rooftop restaurant of Cafe Arabe, thank you Dawn!
In summary it's a lovely place to stay, we were warmly welcomed and looked after by all and I would definitely like to go again for a longer visit. We were lucky with the weather but it would be nice to go when it's a little warmer in the evenings and we could make use of all the outside facilities, as there are lots of hidden seating areas and beautiful gardens and the pool looked very inviting... next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Manager at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It might have been a flying visit but we all enjoyed having you here especially Doris - sorry she was so interested in you on your first night at the bar. I hope she didn't distract you too much from enjoying your vodka and tonic! Please come back and see us for a longer stay next time. Those souks (and the vodka and tonics) will be waiting for you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned from villas fawakay and had a wonderful four days. We had read all the glowing reviews on TA before we booked and are most surprised to read a review headed "A Dissapointment". Our experience and seemingly of the other guests we spoke to during our stay) was one of relaxed charm and discreet and very efficient service. Boushra the chef is a wonderful cook (We loved her chicken pastilla!) and our lunches by the pool and dinners by the open fires were fab. There is so much space in the villas and gardens and the newly heated pool is a great asset for these cooler months. Needless to say Doris the resident donkey, Couscous and the other animals greatly amused us all too.
Many thanks Francis and Dawn - you were both great hosts and great company and we are already looking at dates for a return trip. Dawn, we will most definitely take you up on your kind offer of a shopping trip next time and book on some extra bags!! See you in 2014 inshallah.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We loved having you here and so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. The pool, Doris and Couscous will all be waiting for you when you return. And Dawn will definitely put on her tour guide hat and take you around the souks. You better bring two extra bags at least.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

It's true that Villa Fawakay has stunning grounds and beautiful villas, but we got the sense that it had seen better days. The atmosphere in the compound was tense - staff seemed overworked and unhappy. One of the owners flat out told me that she didn't like having to look after people (she didn't need to tell me this, it was pretty obvious). Difficult when you are staying in the middle of a deserted field miles from Marrakech and reliant on the owners for everything. I got the sense that perhaps something was wrong with the owners and we were being neglected due to other circumstances. But it still made for an uncomfortable trip, especially when nothing here is cheap (dinner for one costs £30 and there is nowhere else to eat). We made the best out of it by spending our days at another hotel (they closed the pool for several days with no warning and no refund!!). Perhaps we just came at a bad time, but when I complained at the end of our trip they didn't seem surprised or terribly concerned. A real disspointment...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saltdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback which we take very seriously. Obviously we are extremely disappointed to read such a negative review as we take great pride in offering all our guests a wonderful all-round experience when they stay at Fawakay.
However we would like to make the following points in response:
- The pool was not closed. It simply has a cover put on it each night which is removed each morning in order to keep the temperature at 27 degrees. If you don't do this, you end up losing lots of heat overnight.
- A three course dinner costs 250 dhm which at the current exchange rate of 13 dhm to the £ works out just under £20 per person.
- We have never before received feedback about the staff appearing to be unhappy. Many of the staff have been with us for years. I can only apologise if this is the impression you had.

We would also like to point out a few things which you didn't pick up on in your review:
- You made no mention of the fact that you had booked a three-bedroom villa (you were a family of five) but when you decided on arrival that you would prefer the two-bedroom villa, we let you stay in the three-bedroom one at the two-bed price.
- All of the group enjoyed a complimentary dinner on the first night because of your unhappiness with the villa situation.
- We went out of our way to help you with your arrangements. This included making dinner reservations on two nights, drawing maps of how to find the restaurants, offering to source an I-pad screen replacement (your's had been broken on the flight over) and even driving to the nearest shop (a bit of a distance) at 2130 to buy more Pringles. You complained on our return that they were the wrong flavour.

I can only stress again how disappointed we were to read your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Thanks to all for looking after our party. Lovely rooms, a super lunch and plenty of G & Ts and cold beer. Francis sorted out all our taxis into Marrakech and for the airport run on the Sunday evening. A lovely bar and pool area to while away the time and relax

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We enjoyed having you here and chatting over the G&Ts and cold beers! Look forward to you visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were a group of mates who stayed here for a few nights at the end of our 2 week trip aroun Morocco.This was a fabulous place to end on! Great owners who live on site and are more than happy to help out and have a chat. Fantastic hospitality. The place itself is just stunning especially the gardens which are a beautiful mixture of flowers and edible plants. We spent most of our time lounging by the pool and enjoying the place over a glass of wine or two however another bonus of this place is that it is only 10 minutes to the medina of Marrakech if your up for a treasure ( or trash) hunt. Oh and let's not go forgetting the animals who are very much part of the family : Doris the donkey, Couscous the dog and all the peacocks wandering around just give this place a special feeling.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themindfultraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
it was a pleasure to have you all here, thank you for leaving such wonderful feedback. Doris was bereft after you had gone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Our wedding was exactly the enchanting experience we wanted with tremendous, heartfelt thanks to Dawn & Francis of Villas Fawakay. As a matter of fact, much to our happiness, they over-delivered on our wedding day. The venue was decorated in such a way that it was breath taking, the ceremony was very intimate and beautiful and the staff was very accomodating. Besides being the owners of the villa, Dawn is absolutely the best wedding planner on the planet and Francis is an amazing celebrant. Because of them and Villas Fawakay as our venue, we had the wedding that dreams are made of. For those planning a wedding at the Villas, I highly recommend: the dream team (Dawn as wedding planner and Francis as celebrant), a massage at the villa (mine was outdoor near the rose garden), bridal henna, moroccan patisserie & fire eaters for entertainment.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vanemercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
thank you so much for taking the time to write, it means a lot to us that you enjoyed your most special day. We so loved having you here, and making your day as special as it deserved to be. Please do try and come back for those 3 days would be great to spend more time with you both x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are so glad we chose Villas Fawakay as our wedding venue in Marrakesh and did not regret that decision for 1 minute!
We had 38 people attending so we took up all 3 of the villas here and also used the nearby Villa Dinari (whom Dawn and Francis know well) for the remainder of our guests.
Dawn and Francis were perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble! Dawn decorated the venue for our wedding day beautifully and took care of all our theme with table plans, decorations and even picked flowers from the gardens to make my bouquet, organised entertainment and suggested a beautiful menu which Bouchera and the staff did a fantastic job. Francis seamlessly arranged for all our guests transportation to/from the airport and to Villa Dinari and back throughout the weekend, and somehow managed to remember each one of our friends and family's names! Not forgetting opening the bar for us any time of the day or night! A massive thanks also to Astrid, who was lovely, and the rest of the staff too!
The villas are beautiful, each one with it's own theme and decorated beautifully with their own kitchen area and honesty bar. The grounds and gardens are very well kept with a couple of berber tents dotted around, as well as a lovely pool and plenty of sunbeds.
Meals here are lovely, we had a couple of very tasty tagines (especially the kofta) and the salads are also highly recommended! Breakfast is plentiful and very tasty.
Food & drink prices here are very reasonable, and actually much cheaper than the main hotels and restaurants around Hivernage and La Palmeraie!
As most others have mentioned, the resident donkey Doris and the rest of the animals and dogs are very entertaining and even joined in with the party!
A fantastic time was had by all and we have memories to last forever - thank you Dawn and Francis for giving us our perfect wedding weekend! Hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: If you can, go for a suite - the roof terraces are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
it was such a pleasure having you all here, and so glad that your wedding was everything you hoped it would be! We so loved having you all here...Really looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
942 reviews
6.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#20 of 499 in Marrakech
754 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#130 of 499 in Marrakech
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.5 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Clos Des Oliviers
Le Clos Des Oliviers
#354 of 1,148 in Marrakech
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Property: Fawakay Villas
Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing