We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hideaway....”
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #191 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely quiet hideaway....”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights in mid-March and loved every minute of it. The owners Francis and Dawn could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. We traveled with our 3 year old daughter who made full use of the heated pool and petted Doris, the donkey, all the day long. We could not have chosen a better place to stay with our 3 year old.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was lovely having you all to stay. I think we're going to have to acquire a second Doris some time soon - she's such a star attraction! Come and see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The weather in Marrakech was initially unkind but once the sun reappeared Villas Fawakay really came into their own. Great accommodation, delicious food, heated pool that you could actually use in January, lovely gardens, and a relaxed vibe. We enjoyed sunset drinks on our terrace with peacocks in attendance and my granddaughter made friends with a donkey.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank JulienneEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Very glad that you all enjoyed yourselves and that Doris was a hit (again - that donkey has so many friends across the globe....!) Do come back and see us again soon, we'd love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Where to start? We arrived late due to a problem with BA to find a blazing fire lit in our dining room and another in our beautiful lounge. Francis showed us around our lovely villa, made a note of what we were looking for in our all too short break and then took our order for dinner which was served within half an hour despite the lateness of the hour and like every meal we had was excellent. The cook Bushara made a point of noting my wife's food intolerance and unlike most of her experiences of being a veggie abroad she enjoyed every single meal. I loved the food too, especially the delicate pancakes for breakfast and the tagines. All the staff were lovely, polite and considerate. You never felt you were being fussed over too much but nothing was too much trouble. We had two great massages organised on our behalf which really helped us to chill out. The drinks fridge was well stocked and the wine rack contained some surprising gems. The rose wasn't great but then at my age I ought to know better than drinking rose in January! The reds were lovely and I recommend the local beer. As for the resort itself it felt like a mixture of Gerald Durrell's books and the Arabian Nights - gardens of rosemary and thyme, an extremely friendly donkey, majestic peacocks, beautiful grounds and a slightly mad but completely soppy dog called Cous Cous. A trip to Marrakesh is essential and we found some real bargains in the Souk where a little French and Arabic, and some polite smiles ensured you never felt hassled or bothered. Francis recommended a perfect restaurant (Cafe Arab) where we had a lovely French/Italian meal and enjoyed excellent service. The whole of the villas are decorated with lovely photography and art works and while we didnt end up getting in the pool we did enjoy a few beers by the side of it. Francis made a point of making us incredibly welcome and comfortable - nothing was too much trouble and at the end we felt we saying a fond goodbye to a new friend. Whether it was writing on the terrace while trying to deter the donkey eating my laptop or our perfect evenings in our own dining room chatting over another perfect meal but we fell totally in love with the place. Francis was incredibly helpful when it came to sourcing materials and decorations for my events business or getting me fags when I had run out at 10 pm! but this isn't the only reason why we will be returning as soon as we can. With such a big world to explore and a limited time to do so it sometimes seems to us a waste to return to the same places, however lovely. With Fawakay however we think we have found the place that makes us rethink that philosophy and return again and again. And we didn't even get round to trying one of Francis's famous gin and tonics. Next time I am sure we can address that! Thank you again for the perfect break and we look forward to spending more time unwinding in and enjoying your beautiful home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAbiKaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
I can only apologise for tardiness of our response - no excuse apart from being busy pouring those gin and tonics for guests.....What can we say apart from thank you for such a fantastic review which obviously took some time to compose but which means such a lot to us. Whilst we love our lives at Fawakay and count ourselves as being extremely lucky to be here, it can have its challenges - but a review such as this makes it all worthwhile. We will look forward to your return visit for sure and have that large gin and tonic all ready and waiting for you.
With very best wishes.
Francis and Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the villas Lak Lak over the Xmas week..it was the perfect winter getaway! The villa is in the middle of nowhere but everything you need is available. The villa Lak Lak was absolutely stunning and more than we expected. The rooms were cosy, comfortable and had a beautiful ambiance. The villas offer utmost privacy just the way we wanted it and the peace and tranquility of the gardens and pool area is just what we were after. Breakfast was really nice and refreshing and the staff always ask you what time you want to have breakfast which they serve in your own villa. The lunch and dinner menu was lovely Morroccon cuisine or you can get something closer to home if you fancied, again at the time you please.
The old town of Marrakech is only a 15-20 minute taxi ride away which you can organise through the villa owners. This is always the safer option to avoid getting lost or being ripped of elsewhere. The Jmaa el Fenaa is mad, lots of entertainers, tricksters and food places. Nice buzz but its nice to come back to a peaceful place.

Just want to thank all the staff who ensured that our food was served at the exact time we wanted, a lovely breakfast each morning and shisha whenever we wanted. Also thank you to Francis who welcomed us at your lovely villas and made our stay pleasant and peaceful.

Hoping to cone back with more of the family and our little bundle of joy!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ask2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
I have passed your thanks on to the ladies - we all appreciate getting such positive feedback so many thanks to you for taking the time to write. Christmas now seems a dim distant memory - but we're so glad you chose to spend a few days here and will definitely look forward to seeing you again soon - all of you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the lovely Villas Fawakay at the beginning of November with our 15 month old son and had a beautiful relaxing week at Francis and Dawn's oasis. Their hospitality was warm and friendly, the grounds peaceful, the villa's beautifully decorated - everything was exactly as we had hoped and more.
Nothing was too much trouble (we even had a roaring fire lit for us in our villa on chilly evenings), and we were made to feel very welcome with our baby - who loved the heated pools, the donkey, peacocks and Couscous the dog. Staying in the villa close to the pool and bar meant we were able to put our baby to bed and have the monitor on so that we could enjoy dinner and drinks (and the great company of our hosts) at the poolside bar. The hardest thing about staying here was choosing where to eat, whether it be poolside, on our private terrace, or in the gardens - a luxury problem.
Was a great week, thank you Villas Fawakay - we will be back some day :-)

Room Tip: Villa Lak Lak is closest to the pool (and still very private). Good for those with young children a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Manager at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
We couldn't have asked for nicer guests - thank you for your review which we so appreciate. The nights can be a little bit chilly here at this time of year and we feel that nothing beats a real log fire for a cosy night in.
We very much hope to see you again and sending you best wishes for a very happy Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My friend and I had a flying 2 night visit to Fawakay Villas and enjoyed every minute of it. It's so easy to get there from the UK and we were transported from a damp and grey Stansted to another exotic world in a matter of hours.
We were warmly greeted on arrival by Dawn and Francis (and Doris the donkey!) and enjoyed a drink and olives by the open fire near the bar area, which was the perfect start to our adventure. We then rounded off the evening with a delicious 3 course meal in our dining room again in front of a roaring fire.
Our rooms were perfect with lots of space and a nice shower plus a comfy sitting room area with a telly and open fire. A big thank you Francis for making sure we could watch our favourite tv programme in the evening!
The next day after a hearty breakfast served by the ever smiling staff, Dawn arranged a car into town and recommended where to go in the Marrakech souks, where to eat and how much to pay for taxis which was a great help as it's easy to be over charged. We had a lot of fun soaking up the atmosphere and enjoyed a superb lunch at the rooftop restaurant of Cafe Arabe, thank you Dawn!
In summary it's a lovely place to stay, we were warmly welcomed and looked after by all and I would definitely like to go again for a longer visit. We were lucky with the weather but it would be nice to go when it's a little warmer in the evenings and we could make use of all the outside facilities, as there are lots of hidden seating areas and beautiful gardens and the pool looked very inviting... next time!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Manager at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
It might have been a flying visit but we all enjoyed having you here especially Doris - sorry she was so interested in you on your first night at the bar. I hope she didn't distract you too much from enjoying your vodka and tonic! Please come back and see us for a longer stay next time. Those souks (and the vodka and tonics) will be waiting for you......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We have just returned from villas fawakay and had a wonderful four days. We had read all the glowing reviews on TA before we booked and are most surprised to read a review headed "A Dissapointment". Our experience and seemingly of the other guests we spoke to during our stay) was one of relaxed charm and discreet and very efficient service. Boushra the chef is a wonderful cook (We loved her chicken pastilla!) and our lunches by the pool and dinners by the open fires were fab. There is so much space in the villas and gardens and the newly heated pool is a great asset for these cooler months. Needless to say Doris the resident donkey, Couscous and the other animals greatly amused us all too.
Many thanks Francis and Dawn - you were both great hosts and great company and we are already looking at dates for a return trip. Dawn, we will most definitely take you up on your kind offer of a shopping trip next time and book on some extra bags!! See you in 2014 inshallah.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fawakay, Owner at Fawakay Villas, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We loved having you here and so glad that you enjoyed yourselves. The pool, Doris and Couscous will all be waiting for you when you return. And Dawn will definitely put on her tour guide hat and take you around the souks. You better bring two extra bags at least.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
940 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#127 of 499 in Marrakech
308 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sahara Palace Marrakech
Sahara Palace Marrakech
#270 of 499 in Marrakech
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#20 of 499 in Marrakech
754 reviews
7.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
2.5 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#72 of 499 in Marrakech
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Property: Fawakay Villas
Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing