We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Fawakay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fawakay Villas
Ranked #187 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

The hotel is half hour from the city centre and perfect peace and quiet. Don't get alarmed as the taxi turns off the main road onto an increasingly bumpy and remote mud road; it is all part of the setting and when you turn through the gates you encounter an oasis of comfort.
The villas are beautiful and plenty spacious. We were 2 couples and shared a villa but still had our private terraces plus our dining room and sitting rooms. Real luxury. And the great joy is that your meals are served in your villa, not in a resturant. I suspect that even when full the complex will never be crowded and everyone will have privacy. Wonderful pool and excellent tennis court, bring your shoes, rackets provided.
Use the taxis that Francis will book and go into the city for the day, or just for dinner. They are very reliable and not expensive. Francis will also arrange longer trips for you.
The honesty bar in your villa is well stocked with wines, beer and soft drinks and the wines are very drinkable and at around £10 per bottle fantastic value.
Food is OK, not gastronomic but again remarkable value for money and the added bonus of having it served for you in your private dining room cannot be beaten.
Very friendly staff and everything works well enough for Morocco. If you dont like the idea of a very friendly donkey trying to get into your villa then this place is not for you: book into the Sofitel or similar, otherwise go for it

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
73
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2010

Having been to Marrakech several times and staying in large hotels it was wonderful to find this lovely boutique hotel. Being only 20mins from the Medina, the piece and quiet was heavenly. Our villa was beautifully decorated with wonderful Morrocan artifacts. Breakfast was served on our private terrace by wonderfully polite staff - we even had our own plunge pool to cool down in. The children thoroughly enjoyed the swimming pool and did try their hand at some tennis. Francis and Dawn Boyes-Stone (the owners) were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble from organising taxis, retaurants, excursions to even finding a lovely lady from the village to henna my daughters hands! I would thoroughly recommend Villas Fawakay.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuffleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2009

No sooner had we arrived and been shown around our wonderful villa and introduced to Doris the donkey, our hosts had a chilled glass of wine ready for us at the bar. This truly is an oasis in which to relax by the pool, play tennis, or just unwind with a good book on one of the many sun-loungers.
In fact, we loved it so much we have booked to come back with our children next month.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenfingers1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A frog in the UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I have found a little piece and i would love to keep it to myself but I thought it might be a bit selfish. What can i that hasn't been said. We arrived and felt at home straightaway the owners and staff friendly and very welcoming. I am now going to be very picky the only thing that was missing in order to make it amazingly perfect as opposed to already perfect, i wish the food was more Morroccan at lunch time it's more a comment than a criticism and don't be put off because you would regret it. I'm going back that's for sure!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed in the downstairs suite of the Lak Lak villa which was stunning, massive and VERY good value for money.

Dawn & Francis who run the place couldn't have been more welcoming, the staff are lovely, the food was incredible and the 2 goats, pregnant donkey, 2 dogs, 2 peacocks, 3 tortoises and 2 Moroccan cats were great to have around. There are allegedly rabbits too but we didn't can't sight of them.

The pictures on the hotel site don't do it justice - it's a total oasis of calm not far from the airport or centre of Marrakech. We will definitley be going back.

Did I already mention that the food was divine?!

We didn't leave the hotel once there and the bill was very reasonable - dinner is a set menu, lunch is a la carte and they run a well stocked and fairly priced honesty bar system.

As for the weather, we stayed early October and although chilly in the evenings it was scorching throughout the day.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsh001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

A wonderful location for really feeling away from the bussle of Marrakech..yet only a minute drive away..easliy organised by the resident Patrons. The villa was of a very high standard ..decorated with impeccable taste to reflect the local culture.. Dinner is available cooked by resident staff..highly recommended of a good standard.
Relaxing sunning area and swimming pool and a well stocked bar complete with very friendly resident donkey ! ensured we all achieved what we were looking for from our 3 day trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nell0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

Having grown up in Sub Sahara Africa this was my 1st visit to North Africa since 1970. This place is amazing.....the clever design of The Villa's allows you the rare oppurtunity of total solitude ,or to mix with other guests as your mood suits.
The Villas are of a very high standard,spacious & tastefully furnished .Dawn & Francis are excellent hosts & ensure you are well looked after. The food was of a very high standard,the fish dish we had on Saturday evening will be remembered for a very long time.
Sat at the bar,with Doris The Donkey helping Francis has got to be experienced !
The only down point........having to return to The UK ! I am already looking at dates for my next visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donks64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.8 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#16 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Palais Namaskar
Palais Namaskar
#72 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.6 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#171 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jnane Tamsna
Jnane Tamsna
#159 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
4.9 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawakay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawakay Villas

Property: Fawakay Villas
Address: 8km Route de Fez, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
English owned and run, Villas Fawakay is a small rustic chic hotel within a villa setting, an oasis of tranquility located just fifteen minutes from Marrakech. Escape the bustle of the Medina in one of our three individually styled fully staffed and catered villas, each one a haven of peace. Each villa is equipped with everything you need a/c, safes, plunge pool, Berber tents and pools, tennis court, table tennis, beauty rooms, darts and cookery classes always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fawakay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Fawakay Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing