We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar Lea, very nice authentic hotel downtown Marrakech”
Review of Riad Lea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Lea
Ranked #463 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Dar Lea, very nice authentic hotel downtown Marrakech”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We enjoyed the hotel so much. An oasis of peace and beauty in downtown Marrakech.
The interior, the rooms, the beds and the fantastic food made this stay unforgettable.
The owners are French and speak very good English as well.
The hotel is very close to Souks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    29
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
81
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This riad was fine... clean enough, the rooms were nice enough - clean and with character but simple and spartan. The bathroom was OK - the drains were slow so you'd end up with a sink full of water after brushing your teeth or ankle-deep in the shower. And as the other reviewer mentioned, a shower curtain would be nice. And you can hear everything that the other guests are up to...

Breakfast was simple but fine. The common area was a little unkempt, but hey.

The rooftop patio area was nice, but again quite spartan.

The riad is very well located, however... Marrakech can be confusing, and this place is right on a major route across from the parking lot of the Bahia Palace. That mean's it's also a very handy (and easy) walk from the Jemaa El-Fnaa square.

The owners live in the riad, and during our stay they were up until well after midnight with the TV blaring... A little inconsiderate to us guests, I think.

Other than that though they were pleasant though reserved. Limited French speaking and no English speaking skills, FYI.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Me and my partner stayed at this cozy small Riad after looking at Tripadvisor. We are very satisfied with our stay and can recommend this place for staying at in Marrakech.
We do not have any other Riad in Marrakech to compare with except a super luxury one in Agadir. If you want to stay at a small and cozy Riad with great service this is a great choice. Not luxury but very cozy!

Breakfest: 4+ (home made feeling, NICE!)
Location: 3 (a little bit off, but no prob to take taxi for 15 MAD or take a 10 min wake to Soke)
Price: 4 (worth the money!)
Service: 5+ (hard to find better service, like I said; “family feeling”)
Ismael: 6+ (nice dude working there)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JunSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed in Riad dar Lea the first week of january 2011 from New Years Eve to the next thursday and we certainly had a very good time over there!

We were picked up from the Airport by the hotel staff, and luckily they brought us to the hotel because we would never have found it on our own. You have to cross some shabby backstreets from Place Laarous to get to the hotel, which are not as dangerous as they might seem the first time you'll get there. The hotel is located in a dark alley and there are no signs at all, so make sure you have a guide or be very good in mapreading! from the hotel it is a 15-20min walk to the Jema el fna square, or you can easily take a cab from Place Laarous.

The hotel staff was very friendly and always ready to give us tips or help. They even cooked us a special New Years Eve dinner on our request, while the restaurant was actually closed that evening. Also Ismail was always ready to make us some tea in the middle of the night when we were a bit ill.
The breakfast every morning was excellent and provided a good start of the day. The rooms are very nice and romantic and such a big diffrence with the non-emotional big hotels in the Nouvelle Ville! The beds were very good and because the hotel is really quiet at night (exept for the mosques in the early morning of course) this Riad is a good place to get some rest after a long day of walking trough Marrakech. The rooms on the first floor are more quiet than the rooms on the ground level (Topaze & Agathe), which are next to the central hall, reception and the little restaurant. The only minus that I can mention is that the water in the bathroom wasn't always hot (it started hot, then went cold, then hot & cold again etc.) but that didn't spoil the fun for us!

I would recommend this Riad to all travellers who would like to stay in a more romantic place than the big hotels outside the Medina and who want to be not too far from 'the action' in the old city center. Tough it wasn't very cheap (we had to pay some extra 'tourist taxes' and stuff on top of the price we had when we booked it trough Expedia) it was certainly worth the money!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Sabine and her husband run the riad with absolute care to detail. They are so helpful when you arrive and tell you about Marrakesh and the best places to eat and shop. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The Riad has a fabulous feel to it, very authentic and the staff are lovely. The rooms are very well appointed with everything you would need for a stay. The meal we had there was very good. As was the Mint Tea. We will certainly be going back to see Sabine next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyfromcroydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

We had read the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor already and so were expecting somewhere pretty good and we were not disappointed in any quarter. The real highlight though that puts Riad Dar Lea way out in front is the care and enthusiasm extended to all the guests by its owners. They themselves are delightful and it seems they feed on the pleasure of their guests discovering the delights of Marrakech and Riad living. Given the opportunity to give advice they have endless tips and ideas for those that are overwhelmed by the Marrakech experience. Alternatively, if you want a quiet time they melt away and leave friendly attentive staff to take care of you. 6 stars!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suntrekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Having read all the previous reviews we thought that everything would be fantastic but the room were were given "Topaz" was far from that although we did have a comfortable bed and slept well.
Service was very good and we enjoyed the evening meal we had the night we arrived having been picked up from the airport by Pierre.
It is just that for us the other reviews made us believe we were going somewhere very special indeed so we were dissapointed that it did not live up to our high expectations

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianandc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#288 of 500 in Marrakech
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 500 in Marrakech
931 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 500 in Marrakech
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belleville
Hotel Belleville
#525 of 1,139 in Marrakech
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#124 of 1,139 in Marrakech
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lea

Property: Riad Lea
Address: Place Riad Laarouss Sidi Bouamar Derb El Mezgour 41, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly La Maison de Lea)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #463 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Lea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison De Lea Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing