We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm......”
Review of Le Riad Berbere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Riad Berbere
Ranked #69 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

When my friend and I decided to stay in a riad in the Medina I didn't know where to start as there were so many! I spent a few days searching for one with a twin room with 2 proper size single beds rather than a sofa bed or 'put you up' type thing in with the double which some seem to do. This made it slightly easier to narrow down and I finally got down to three! We settled on Riad Berbere as they offered the twin room and all the reviews I read on here were so positive and the pictures looked lovely. We arranged airport transfer with them and eventually, after walking along a narrow, dark ally we arrived at a door! You have no idea what is behind it as you approach, so to walk in to a rose oil scented courtyard, filled with olive, lime and banana trees - and 2 tortoises - was just amazing.. It was quiet and the staff were lovely and we ate there on the first night and it was a lovely meal. We stayed in the balcony room which was really nice. Ingrid, the English speaking manager took us into the Souks the next morning and pointed out landmarks so that we could get back. We also couldn't find the hamman that we wanted to go to so we went to the local (very basic) one virtually next door to the riad. Ingrid came with us to help translate as we had trouble getting in to begin with and she even lent us some money as we didn't have enough on us. We found the breakfast delicious, varying over the 3 mornings we were there and it filled us up for most of the day. If at anytime we just stayed around the riad, we were offered mint tea and biscuits - for free. . The riad was full the whole time we were there and we found it very quiet. I would definitely go back - with the children next time and I would highly recommend to anyone. Just to say we were 2 women travellers and never once felt vulnerable or threatened coming and going.

Room Tip: Balcony room has the stairs leading to the roof terraces going past door. When we were there the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 263Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here on first arriving in Morocco, for the first time. Although slightly overwhelmed by the initial journey from airport to hotel, via taxi (organised by the brilliant manager Ingrid) and the walk with the man with the cart through the narrow streets, the riad did not disappoint. It is beautifully decorated, very welcoming and a lovely haven of tranquility in a very vibrant city. Would strongly recommend it. Ingrid and her staff were extremely helpful. They showed us the way to the souks, he square and took us to good restaurants. In addition when moving onto the next part of our holiday, Ingrid organised our bus tickets etc making it all so much easier. A definite for any newcomers to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VESPY74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Our favorite hotel in Marocco (we visited about 7 hotels). It's equipped with cozy bright rooms (of which you don't want go out), spacious terraces, very good organized place for rest and meal in the centre of hotel. Excellent staff and wonderful hostess named Ingrid. She gave us a lot of valuable advices and even bought us some bottles of maroccan wine in a local hypermarket when we asked her.
What else? Hotel has very good location near the Djemaa el Fna Square and markets (goods, food, spices). Also you can find a lot of european level restaurants, spa, massage etc.
We miss this place and send to Ingrid and her funny cats our greetings!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VagabundoXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We have just returned from Le Riad Berbere and what was a brief but wonderful stay. As soon as I walked in the scent from burning rose oil made me feel relaxed! The garden was beautiful and it was lovely to dip my feet into the pool and sip on mint tea. Our room was beautiful (terrace room) and perfect as we could put our baby to sleep and either sit out on the terrace or go downstairs to sit in the garden.
Ingrid was super helpful and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable in the riad. She showed us the way into the souk and pointed out landmarks so we could get back! Our daughter (2years) loved her and is still talking about her! In fact, all staff were very friendly.
I really regret not eating at the riad as it looked pretty delicious and breakfast was fantastic... and maybe a massage would have been nice in the treatment room! We will be back and I promise to send everyone I know!
Thank you, Ingrid!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazfraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Riad Berbere, and staying here really made our Marrakech holiday. Ingrid and her staff were so helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The riad itself is beautiful, and a perfect oasis to retreat to when the Medina gets too overwhelming!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardMDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We've just come back from four nights in this wonderful Riad, and can honestly say it was fabulous.

You can't really describe the experience of arriving, as you enter through a medieval looking door from a tiny little alleyway into somewhere that makes you go "wow". We arrived mid evening to a very warm welcome from Ingrid into a candlelit courtyard perfumed by lovely rose scented burners-it looked stunning! Ingrid showed us the way to the central square on the night of arrival pointing out landmarks as we went so we wouldn't get lost, this was invaluable!

We stayed in the upper room with our own large private terrace. The room was lovely, clean with a beautiful bathroom. The only downside to this room would be if you had any kind of disability as you do have to go up a tiny staircase and the bathroom and bedroom are on two levels. Never the less we loved it!

Breakfast was great and different every day, fruit, local yoghurt, fresh baked breads, eggs on request, juice, tea or coffee. .

We also ordered mint tea and coffees (with fresh biscuits) on our return from shopping and sight seeing. The Riad is a wonderful oasis of calm from the hustle and bustle of the medina and souks.

The Riad was clean and charming, with lovely friendly staff and a manager who was extremely helpful and friendly. Ingrid organised our transport to and from the hotel and for our trip to Casbah Tamadot making our holiday very easy and problem free.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Riad Berbere for a truly memorable holiday. The pictures on the website don't really do it justice, its better in real life!

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room with a private terrace which was lovely,. This room also has the advan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isaachill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Just arrived home from a 4 night stay in Marrakech, staying at the Le Riad Berbere. On arrival we were taken down some narrow streets to the front door of the Riad. When you walk inside there is a beautiful smell of rose and there are lighted candles to create a welcoming feel. We were shown into a beautiful courtyard and Ingrid showed us to our rooms. The rooms were clean, spacious and well presented. We had clean towels and there was a special touch of dried flowers scattered around the room. The breakfast was lovely with home baked goods and tea/coffee was available at anytime. The staff were warm and friendly and you have a choice of where you would like to eat breakfast. We chose the roof terrace to have breakfast in the sun. Ingrid arranged our taxi transfers, walked us into jemaa el fna showing us landmarks on the way to enable us to find our way home. Nothing was too much trouble for her and she arranged a taxi for us to visit kasbah Tamadot in the Atlas mountains for lunch. Ingrid took time to chat with us and gave advice on places to visit, eat and sightsee. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend staying at Riad Berbere to our friends.
I would not hesitate to return to stay with Ingrid and her team. The Riad is in a great location to the hustle and bustle of the medina, but once inside you instantly find peace and tranquility.
Thanks for giving us such a lovely experience.
Lisa

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#20 of 1,172 in Marrakech
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#44 of 1,172 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#26 of 1,172 in Marrakech
676 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Ennafoura
Riad Ennafoura
#472 of 1,172 in Marrakech
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Berbere

Address: 23, derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nasser | quartier Kaat Ben Nahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £73 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Riad Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beautiful riad in the old medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Riad Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing