We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard to find, a bit too expensive, been neglected”
Review of Dar Cherifa

Dar Cherifa
Ranked #25 of 967 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Situated in the very heart of the souks, this building is a hidden secret, only found by the discerning and curious visitor, where history is recorded in the delicate tracery of the stucco and skilfully carved wood. In the year 2000 , Marrakech Riads, a leading player in the restoration of the riads of Marrakech, brought Dar Cherifa back to life, and simultaneously unveiled a hidden treasure of the medina, the refined decor of this building recalling that of the Medersa Ben Youssef, jewel of the Saadian era (16th century) and one of the finest monuments of Marrakech. Renovated with the greatest care and attention to detail, with the participation of renowned craftsmen so as to maintain its authenticity and splendour, Dar Cherifa welcomes all visitors eager to meet new and interesting people. It is a real cultural venue, hosting regular exhibitions, workshops, concerts and events. This inimitable space draws one into a meditative state of mind and heart. Everyone fortunate enough to visit this building says that they breathe an atmosphere of peace and serenity the minute they cross the threshold. The mention of Moroccan culture immediately implies Moroccan cuisine, and what more beguiling setting than this pure and refined interior for sampling a cuisine abounding in cultural exchange; a subtle blend of sweet and sour, the inheritance of Berber, Jewish and Arab-Andalucian influences. Enjoy!
Reviewed 9 March 2014

i was looking for something special to visit and stay for a couple of hours far away from the souk noise
even if i did enjoy the quietness of this place, i need to be honest as have been very very vdisappointement in regards on all the good reviews i red about dar cherifa
it is quite hard to find, but who cares as i found it - price for a basic drink is unbelievable, i do not talk here about food price
have notice as well that the place is not very clean, a bit dirty in some parts of the patio - i did have an argue with the waiter as my spoon was very filthy, napkins given have been used before
except of the quietness of the premice, i do not recommand this place at all
rainer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank matthias r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thanks a lot for this first visit to Dar Cherifa and we hope to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

505 - 509 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

What an Oasis of calm and serenity Dar Cherifa is. Some fellow guests at our riyad recommended this place. Rather tricky to find down tiny alleyways -GPS helps - you arrive at a door, knock and someone will let you in. They serve tea during most of the day and lunch (no dinner) We really enjoyed the fresh beautifully served dishes. The ground floor is gorgeous and don't forget to go up onto the roof terrace also. Madame Tahiri is the perfect welcoming host and the whole place is a much needed respite from the madness of the Souks !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Thanks for you visit to Dar Cherifa and we hope to receive you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Probably our best meal in Marrakesh. We had the special for lunch which was a chicken tagine with lemons olives and herbs. I had this meal three times at various restaurants but this was the best and the cheapest. A selection of Moroccan salads and grilled vegetables went down very nicely with it. The building is simple and elegant and the staff absolutely charming. Eat on the roof where you can relax on cushions and eat off low tables. Not easy to find, very hidden away and the door will be closed, you have to ring the bell. An absolute gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Responsable relations publiques at Dar Cherifa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour, l'équipe de Dar Cherifa tient à vous remercier pour votre avis et nous espérons que vous allez revenir pour goûter d'autres plats si délicieux que le tagine de poulets aux citrons et aux olives. Nous tenons à vous informer qu'à cote du restaurant, nous avons une programmation artistique régulière au café littéraire et galerie Dar Cherifa dont des expositions, des ateliers de calligraphie arabe, des conférences, des spectacles, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Having had tea here on a previous visit, we returned for lunch which was beautifully presented and very delicious. Service was excellent, and the lady in charge was very charming and pleasant. The tables in the downstairs patio are widely spaced, and one can relax in very comfortable armchairs and admire the stunning architectural details going back to the 16th century. There was an exhibition of modern photographs, and we only wish we could have come back for the concert the next evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Irena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Cherifa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions vivement pour votre visite chez nous ainsi que pour votre commentaire et espérons vous revoir une prochaine fois et vous accueillir dans les meilleurs conditions possibles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We went to Dar Cherifa after it was recommended in the Lonely Planet guidebook and we were not disappointed. It's a little tricky to find and as with lots of the restaurants/riads in Marrakech, you think that you are simply heading towards a dead end derb. Don't give up. We asked a few locals for directions and are so glad that we did. Ring the bell next to the big wooden door and someone will come and open it. The terrace is a lovely, relaxing place to stop and have a mint tea after a morning shopping in the souks. The courtyard is also a cool and relaxing space in which you can unwind and enjoy some peace and quiet. The staff are very friendly too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jejo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Dar Cherifa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions de votre visite ainsi que votre commentaire satisfaisant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dar Cherifa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Cherifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing