We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff on strike throughout our stay allegedly because of non payment of wages affected our stay but the hotel was comfortable wi”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bab Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bab Hotel
Ranked #311 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staff on strike throughout our stay allegedly because of non payment of wages affected our stay but the hotel was comfortable wi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

The dispute between management and workers meant that the hotel was unable to provide breakfast or clean the rooms on two of our four day stay.Money was provided for breakfast to be taken at an alternative hotel which was of a high standard and the manager did offer to find us other accommodation.The workers were camping outside the hotel and constant meetings were seemingly being held to try and resolve the issue.Whilst these circumstances did not unduly worry us as no one was in any hostile but never the less was less than conducive to a stress free stay as we were uncertain that the hotel would actually stay open.Suggest you investigate current situation before booking this hotel.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    89
    36
    18
    34
See reviews for
26
115
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Arrived to be told by a sour-faced receptionist that we didn't have a reservation, despite me showing her the confirmation email. I was then told that they had new management and a different internet system. My problem? I don't think so. Resisted my instinct to leave and go to another hotel nearby, but unfortunately we stayed. But only for 2 nights of the 7 nights booked: within 1 hour of arriving we had to be moved to another room as the cupboard space in the supposedly deluxe room was tiny, and the impressively huge TV wouldn't switch off. Actually we didn't want it on, but a member of staff came in uninvited, fiddled with controls and then left with the volume blasting out. Eventually we got upgraded to a better room. The evening was OK, trendy bar with suitably cool looking clients but unimpressive bar staff. On day 2 we returned late from dinner to find our breakfast tray still out and the bed unmade, etc. At 10am the next day the tray was still outside our door where I had left it at 1am. Finally, the shower broke and we had first cold water and then no water. At this point we left, with assurances that "next time it will be better". Not for us, as there definitely we won't be going there again. My husband is Moroccan and we're frequent travellers to Marrakesh - this is bottom of my list. It looks good and the website is impressive, but the service, staffing, maintenance and attention to detail just isn't there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed at the hotel from the 5th of February - 10th of February 2012, standard room, breakfast included.

The interior and design of the hotel is very impressive. The rooms are spacious and clean. The bathrooms excellent. Staff was very helpful, kind and at your service all time. Breakfast average.

At check in we were offered a room on 1st floor, but requested to have a room on a higher floor (after reading some reviews). Eventually we ended up on the 2nd floor. Unfortunately we were unable to sleep all 5 nights, as the noise from the bar/club in the evening was very loud. It continued until 2 am every night and we were unable to sleep. Unacceptable

On their website the hotel claims to have fitness facilities. When we asked at the reception, we were informed that the 2 sets of dumbells in the room were the only fitness facilities available. Not acceptable.

Swimming pool - well. It was a 2 m x 5 m "pool", that was more a part of the outdoor bar decor than a practical swimming pool.

This hotel is definitely not 5 star worthy. Interior and staff great, but unacceptable facilities and noise level from the bar/club was a big let down.

Will choose different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Don't stay at 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizona81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

The hotel room was large, modern and really nice, but in the evening the restaurant downstairs gets fairly busy and smoky. This smoke went all the way to the fourth floor into our room. We knew it would be waste of time changing rooms, so we put towels through the gaps of the door. The Tv is nice but noisy and when were watching a movie it crashed halfway through and we never got to finish it. We asked if we could have late checkout at 4pm and that was fine, but I felt that the maids were waiting for us to leave as we popped out for half an hour and they were in our room. We told them it wasn't necessary as we will be leaving in four hours. The breakfast was okay and it was strange to see roast potatoes for breakfast, but tasty. The food and drink is rather expensive, but the cocktails were tasty. Just couple a metres outside the hotel there is a few homeless people, which was bit of a contrast to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie&rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

You don't have to leave the hotel to have an great time in Marrakech. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are really nice. It's a bit expensive, but totally worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincentraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Everything is highly exceptional. It is more than an excellent experience we had during our stay. Usually people like free offers which are the thing that make me prefer to come back again and again. ... My wife & I appreciate the honeymooners compliments the hotel surprised us with. Superb, Marvelous, Exceptional and Wonderful times and extraordinary experience and memories in a relaxing home-like place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed 5 nights as a single traveler early October. As from the moment I entered the hotel a relaxed feeling came over me. Soft lounge music, elegant fragrance, perfect interior. Was happily surprised with the deluxe room on the first floor. Room is big with separate dressing and awesome bathroom, all spotless clean. Nice to have the balcony as well. It felt good to realize that I definite made the right decision to choose for this hotel. I am in the interior and rental business myself so I check out my hotels with a lot of attention. Hotel staff is very competently, helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet was ok but a bit more variety would be nice although. This small minus won't prevent me to return, I found the perfect spot for my trips in the future. It was already my third visit to Marrakesh, have stayed in nice riads in the medina. Main purpose this time was shopping and after a tiring day I definite prefer the 5 minutes bus ride to Gueliz to walking through the medina. Another reason for choosing Gueliz is the wide offer in good restaurants and bars. As a single woman walking in Gueliz in the evening felt more safe and comfortable in than the medina, I never had any trouble in the medina but in Gueliz there are all the time people on the street which gives a safer feeling.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
2Ciels Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#388 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Sea Le Printemps
Blue Sea Le Printemps
#338 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Marrakech Carre Eden
3.6 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#176 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#142 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab Hotel

Property: Bab Hotel
Address: Angle bd Mansour Eddahbi | Angle BD Mansour Eddahbi, Rue Mohammed El Baqal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bab Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most endearing Marrakesh neighborhood, the BAB HOTEL decidedly urban and design offers a black and white world and an innovative concept, where the richness of Moroccan culture blends contemporary design. First urban boutique hotel in the Red City, ideally placed to ensure a pleasant stay, you'll love the stylish and relaxed atmosphere. Enjoy a good night's sleep in a design hotel with 45 unique rooms. All rooms have a terrace. On the ground floor, the lounge bar and the restaurant open to non-residents (excellent creative cuisine) offers large spaces - patio / pool, library, fireplace space - while Sky Bar allows you to enjoy the starry nights of Marrakech. BO SPA is a space dedicated to the well being and beauty of the body and mind. BAB Hotel provides for its business customers an equipped meeting room (up to 40 people). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bab Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing