We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, beautiful place, quiet and good breakfast”
Review of Dar Limoun Amara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Limoun Amara
Ranked #539 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good service, beautiful place, quiet and good breakfast”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed only one night in the terrasroom (on the roof terras). Dar Limoun is quiet, clean, beautiful and the staff are very friendly. We got the most royal breakfast with cakes, freshly baked bread and homemade marmalades. It gives a homely feeling. The Tiskiwin museum around the corner is slightly amateuristic but has the best collection of ethnical clothes and tools in Marrakesh and its house is beautiful.
Thank you Dar Limoun,
Livia-The Netherlands

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    6
    13
    7
See reviews for
31
74
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a great getaway, right in the middle of the medina! Centrally located for shopping trips to the medina and easy walking distance to many sightseeing stops, also an easy walk to one of the few parking lots. I was fortunate to have the entire place to myself, my room was upgraded- breakfast was delicious. So peaceful and the best part of it all was the friendly host, Enrique. It was no problem at all to leave my bags until late afternoon so I could enjoy the city before my evening train trip. A perfect solution for so many issues while traveling in Marrakesh- beautiful, comfortable, flexible, private, quiet, delicious, affordable...I could go on and on! Even walking home alone at night, I was not bothered at all by locals, the neighborhood is well lit and respectful of foreigners...you couldn't ask for better! I highly highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hey_life_is_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

If you are looking for great value for money, with friendly service in a fab location, this is your place!

When we arrived, the man working was extremely accommodating and as we had arrived late he walked us around the area showing how to get around and took us to a restaurant that catered to our needs. It was great that he was able to show us how to get to Djema El Fnaa and we didn't get lost once! It's only about a 5 - 7min walk and is really quite easy from this riad. The man who checked us in looked after us so well throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble.

The riad itself is beautiful and the inner courtyard was so peaceful & relaxing and the roof terrace added that extra touch. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmagregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I stayed at the Dar Limoun for 3 nights with my partner. We loved it- a very central location but as soon as you go down the windy alleyway to the riad, it is very quiet! Very friendly staff, comfortable room and laid out as most moroccan riads are, with a roof terrace.

Highly recommend and would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonharris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2011

My partner and I went to Morocco to finish a creative project. We stayed at Dar Limoun Amara for the whole month and we loved every day there. It is a small private riad, very quiet and very beautiful, and it is also located centrally. It is only a short pleasant walk to the main square, and many restaurants and shops. There's a taxi stand nearby for other trips, and also a little convenience kiosk around the corner.
What really made our stay comfortable was the amazing stuff. Enrique, Rashida, and Ali were very helpful and attentive toward our every need. The breakfast was traditional and always fresh and delicious. We also often ate dinner right there at the riad, and we both agreed loud and clear that Rashida's cooking was superior. We ate at the fanciest restaurants in Marrakech, but none of them compares to her delicious dishes! The stuff set our dinner table on the roof top of the riad from where you could hear the hustle and drumming of the main square, and those were truly most romantic nights in Morocco. The riad manager Enrique also cooked for us once, and it was most delicious, and thoughtful.
The riad has internet connection and two turtles who live in the courtyard :))))
We highly recommend Dar Limoun Amara.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcortese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlimounamara, Gérant at Dar Limoun Amara, responded to this review, 10 May 2011
Thanks for your adivse, hope to see you again in Marrech
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We absolutely loved this place and would highly recommend staying at Dar Limoun Amara to anyone planning on visiting Marrakech.

Getting there:
After bartering with the taxi drivers at the airport (I think we were slightly duped!) we paid 135 Dirham to get to the car park nearest to Dar Limoun Amara. You can't drive up to the Riad, so you have to walk down a few side streets to get there, but it's easy once you know how!

After being approached by a few young men trying to earn a few Dirham by showing us to the Riad, we ended up asking a shop keeper if he could show us to the Riad, as we were being hassled by the boys and I didn't feel comfortable being followed by them all. The shop keeper was lovely, and we gave him 10 Dirham as a thank you.

TOP TIP: If you stay at Dar Limoun Amara, just get in touch with Enrique (who runs the Riad) and he will arrange for a taxi to pick you up and show you to the door! MUCH easier and cheaper than how we did it!

The arrival:
Once we arrived, we were given such a warm welcome by Enrique (the Riad manager) and some of the other guests staying there. Enrique speaks excellent English and took the time to show us exactly where we were on the map of Marrakech, and gave us some tips on where to eat and what to see. We also got a lovely mint tea!

The room:
We had a lovely double room (two single mattresses on a double frame - not the easiest to sleep on if you're used to a double bed, but very comfortable if you stay on the one side!). The whole room and ensuite bathroom were extremely clean and beautifully dressed. The towels were changed regularly and were of good quality.

I think the only very slightly downside of the Riad is that you can hear almost everything that happens in the building. I could hear the water running in the other rooms and when the courtyard was being prepared for breakfast, I could hear the plates and cutlery being put on the tables. Despite this, we still slept really well (probably because we did so much walking during the day!), but I was aware of being able to hear other people coughing and talking. In addition to this, but something we found really interesting, is the proximity of the Riad to a mosque, so every time a call to prayer was announced, it sounded as if it was right outside our door! But it only lasted for a few minutes, so didn't really bother us too much.

TOP TIP: (Strange but useful!) If we go to Marrakech again, we will definitely take some of our own toilet paper. We found that in most places (not just the Riad), the toilet paper was of quite poor quality and there wasn't very much of it. In the end we resorted to our Kleenex tissues.

Overall, our stay in Marrakech was enhanced by our time at Dar Limoun Amara. It was a lovely quiet retreat from the hustle and bustle of the Medina. We chilled out in the courtyard and on the rooftop terrace, which made for a nice break from the intensity of the main streets and market places. Enrique and staff are all really friendly and helpful, and we're really grateful to them for making our stay so lovely.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EUTravellerOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We stayed there for a few days. The riad has a great location (5 min to Jemma El Fna). The people were very helpful. We arrived late in the evening with pre booked taxi from the airport. We were at the riad arond 12p. We wanted to go out but we didnt know the way. Abdul took as to the main square and waited with us until we finish our dinner He brought us back to the riad. The owner was also very friendly and helpful. We reccomend this riad and I am sure that we will come back there some day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viktorpetya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#448 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#435 of 500 in Marrakech
107 reviews
2.5 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#431 of 500 in Marrakech
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#279 of 500 in Marrakech
111 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#432 of 500 in Marrakech
105 reviews
2.2 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#400 of 500 in Marrakech
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun Amara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun Amara

Property: Dar Limoun Amara
Address: 71 Derb Jemaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40400, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun Amara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fresh court, to rest reading, chatting with your friends or drinking a delicious moroccan tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dar Limoun Amara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing