We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Riad!”
Review of Dar Limoun Amara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Limoun Amara
Ranked #535 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good value Riad!”
Reviewed 9 June 2010

I booked the Dar Limoun Amara based on trip advisor reviews and I have to say that I like it too.

We organised a taxi transfer from the airport with them which is probably a must as you would never find it if you tried to yourself. Everything worked well and we were taken from the airport and met a few hundred yards from the Riad itself by a couple of staff (names escape me).
After we had settled in they took us to the Jeema el fna so we could get our barings. It was about a 10 minute walk down quite a busy street which was easy enough to trace back and safe. We were also shown where to get currency and a good place to eat on the first night so all in all the service was excellent as time was given up to help us.

Its the first time that I have stayed in a Riad before so it was very different from accommodation that ive stayed in in the past. I understand that the Dar Limoun Amara is a typical Riad in the sense that the focal point is a open air courtyard in the middle of the Riad with the bedrooms around the courtyard over a couple of floors.

I had a twin room on the ground floor which is quite intimate with the courtyard. The room was basic, nice typical decor, en-suite bathroom with the most fantastic shower...not in its workings but the way it is. I cant desribe it.
The best addition to the room is the air conditioning unit which soon blasts out the cool air.
I think you do have to be a bit adaptable in these rooms if people stay up late chatting or get up for breakfast early you can hear it all. I reckon that that is the case in most Riads though due to their size and the location of the rooms though.

Breakfast is a mixture of pastries, cakes, tea, coffee and juice but as its served in the courtyard you are not always the only ones to eat it!!

There is a nice roof top terrace with seats and sun loungers and a makeshift pool which was good for relaxing.

There is free wifi but I didnt have my laptop. However they did let me use a laptop to check the internet which I thought was very good of them.

I booked this accommodation through Hotels.com who state payment can be made by card.....Its a cash only property.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    49
    6
    11
    7
See reviews for
30
72
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
the wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

This place was amazing and Enrique and Abdul couldn't of been more helpful and welcoming. The Riad itself was peaceful, beautifully clean and the breakfast was great. one tiny drawback. being next to a mosque means a sometimes unwelcome six o clock alarm call for the morning call to prayer. and if you get them to pick you up, there's a bit of a worrying walk down a dodgy looking alley, especially if you arrive after dark. but abdul is on the Riads payroll, don't worry!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undercoverscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My partner and I spent 4 nights in Marrakech and stayed at Dar Limoun Amara. On arrival, a taxi met us at the airport (highly recommended - it'll take you forever to find it!) and when we got to the riad we had such a warm welcome and some mint tea.

The riad is beautiful. Quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly. It was so much nicer than what we expected, really luxurious with a wonderful bathroom and comfy bed, all decorated in a Moroccan style. The riad also has a roof terrace with sunbeds where you can relax. It's so quiet and peaceful, which you need after a crazy day in the medina!

Breakfast was cakes, bread, boiled eggs, cereals and different types of pancakes. Tasty and there was plenty of it. The cooks there can also make an evening meal for you, I think it was about 20 Euros but we didn't eat at the riad as we liked to try a few different places. You can also get alcoholic drinks at the riad, we had a hard time finding restaurants in the medina where you could have a glass of wine or a beer as the sale of alcohol is heavily restricted. Only a couple of more expensive restaurants (outside of our budget) sold alcohol so it's nice to have the opportunity to have a drink in the riad.

Staff are really friendly and make you feel at home. Enrique speaks perfect English and Abdul was so kind and helpful. Marrakech is a great place for a long weekend, we found it so hot, hectic, noisy and fascinating! We got lost constantly - just make sure you memorise the route from the riad to the main square (about 10 mins' pleasant walk) and back again and you will be fine!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Dar Limoun Amara! Enrique and Abdou were both very friendly, always asking us if we needed anything. Our room was well-maintained, full of natural light from the skylight, and full of lovely details. We also spent some time in the courtyard playing with the turtles (Sophia and Mustafa) and enjoying the quiet after the chaos of the souks.

The only trouble with it was finding it, which is a problem anywhere in Marrakech - I would advise you to find a small boy to bring you to it, then give him a few dirhams when you arrive. It's actually more like a 15-minute walk from Djemaa el-Fna, 10 minutes at night when there's nobody in the streets. But it's a nice walk, well-lit even at night.

We were also very pleased with the service: breakfast was delicious and they even served us breakfast at 6 am on our last day when we needed to get to the airport early. All in all we had a wonderful experience, and it was definitely a great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleursdelysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bath, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2010

We stayed here 9 jan 2010, initially for 2 nights, but extended our stay, and also spent our last night at this charming Riad. Since we had not visited Marrakech before we thought we could arrive independently using the local airport bus. We did arrive, but at great cost to the nerves since we got horribly lost and seemed to attract a number of "hangers on" - in hindsight we would probably advise taking the offer of collection - but equally a small adventure here and there is fun.
Staff were great and happy to provide a slightly different breakfast to the array of sweet cakes. Very clean - cant recommend it highly enough
It also turned out to be a good location since it was near enough to the large square, but also far enough away to be out of the "hubbub" if we wanted.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesleysm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2009

The hotel arranged a pick up from the airport and took us straight to the hostel door which made life very easy would recommend it if you have not been to Marrakech before. The rooms were ideal, spacious and reasonably piriced. Nice setting with the breakfast room just outside the room. The hotel is located approx 5minutes from the main square, easy walk back if you want some peace and quite from the hustle and bustle. My boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 days and it was good as we just wanted somewhere as a base, the staff very helpfull. I would strongly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#188 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#130 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#52 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#161 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#353 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#513 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun Amara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun Amara

Property: Dar Limoun Amara
Address: 71 Derb Jemaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40400, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #535 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun Amara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fresh court, to rest reading, chatting with your friends or drinking a delicious moroccan tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Limoun Amara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing