We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming oasis in the middle of the chaotic medina” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Limoun Amara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Limoun Amara
Ranked #470 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A charming oasis in the middle of the chaotic medina”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

The courtyard of this charming inn is so peaceful that you want to whisper when you talk. This is a stunning contrast to the hustle and bustle of the surrounding streets of the medina, which makes this a perfect location for exploration and tranquility. The rooms are large and comforatable, though not stunning; they all have A/C. There are lounge chairs and a small dipping pool on the thrid floor roof. Bathrooms are modernized. Breakfast is served on the interior courtyard, all freshly made breads, patries and juices. The staff cannot do enough for you; they will suggest things that they can do for your comfort and convenience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pejackson94606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    49
    6
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
71
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2010

Hidden behind a subtle wooden door, in the back streets of Marrakech, hides Dar Limoun Amara, a world away from the busy streets, narrow paths and hectic stores of the medina. Upon arrival, we found friendly staff and tranquil rooms that helped us relax. The rooms all looked out into an enclosed courtyard that was filled with the sound of birds, but the distant sound of calling for prayers, quickly reminded you of where you are. The riad is not central to the Medina but it is only a short distance (10 minute walk) away from the souks. Upon leaving the riad, we found it beneficial to be on the edge of the medina as it allowed us to walk throughout the numerous routes and discover the hidden faces of Marrakech. The riad offered a comfortable stay and the rooms were all air conditioned. On our last night, the owner upgraded to a deluxe room which offered even more space and a highly decorative bathroom. The breakfast was simple but enjoyable and staff were always attentive to your needs. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Marrakech......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank distanthorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2010

After a rather disappointing and boring journey from Essaouria we arrived in Marrakech to a rather bemused taxi driver who could not understand why we wanted to be taken to the Bahia Palace with suitcases! If you get to the car park for the palace you will then be directed by a very helpful gentleman who runs the antique shop on the corner who helped us every day for free.

The riad is just down an alleyway from this car park and it is easy once you have seen the route. We were welcomed at the riad by a French speaking lady who showed us two rooms, but we just took the first one offered as it was so beautiful looking out over the tiled centre courtyard. An amazing bonus was free air-con as we had a superior double room. After peeping into another room they seemed to have a mosquito net over the bed so presumably did not have air-con.

We were given a free glass of fresh orange and we then raced up to the lovely rooftop terrace with sunbeds, parasols, tables and chairs and a small paddling pool which was very welcome in July! We spent lots of time relaxing up on the roof during the days and evenings: it was quiet in the riad being July. We took our own little radio and enjoyed listening to this as well as drinking our own alcohol. They even supply towels and hats for guests up there! The roof terrace was lit up and it was very quiet around the riad at night. We also enjoyed sitting in the centre courtyard.

The breakfasts were delightful in the quiet beautiful courtyard with its fountain, little birds and 2 resident tortoises. The owner, Enrique, is very charming and speaks every language and is very helpful with maps etc. We had homemade jams, marmalades, honey and syrup, freshly made pancakes and cakes that were still warm.

The riad is in a fantastic position being just around the corner from the Bahia Palace, and the infamous Kozybar (expect to pay £4 per pint of beer but it was the only place we found selling alcohol and spent our son’s inheritance there!!).

If you turn left instead at the little antique shop this is a main thoroughfare to the square and takes about 10 minutes. I felt perfectly safe as there were many Europeans using this route day and night and it was well lit. The motorbikes, however, also use these routes as race tracks and it is quite dangerous and noisy.

Along that route there was a candlelit restaurant which looked lovely from outside, but I really cannot recommend it as it was very dark, hot and claustrophobic and the tangines were expensive and not that great. Just before this is a café upstairs and they provided us with lovely coffee and sandwiches very cheaply.

In order to sit in the cafes in the square many of them demanded that you also bought a meal during July. We were once again no hassle, but did not take photographs of the snake charmers, etc as these can prove expensive. We did not eat or drink anything from the café stalls on the square.

We cannot wait to revisit Enrique and his beautiful riad, and I would be more than happy to visit for a long weekend for heat, rest and total relaxation. My husband had a shave in a local barber shop and there were also many offers at the local massage places.

Any questions, give me a shout. Cathy

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I booked the Dar Limoun Amara based on trip advisor reviews and I have to say that I like it too.

We organised a taxi transfer from the airport with them which is probably a must as you would never find it if you tried to yourself. Everything worked well and we were taken from the airport and met a few hundred yards from the Riad itself by a couple of staff (names escape me).
After we had settled in they took us to the Jeema el fna so we could get our barings. It was about a 10 minute walk down quite a busy street which was easy enough to trace back and safe. We were also shown where to get currency and a good place to eat on the first night so all in all the service was excellent as time was given up to help us.

Its the first time that I have stayed in a Riad before so it was very different from accommodation that ive stayed in in the past. I understand that the Dar Limoun Amara is a typical Riad in the sense that the focal point is a open air courtyard in the middle of the Riad with the bedrooms around the courtyard over a couple of floors.

I had a twin room on the ground floor which is quite intimate with the courtyard. The room was basic, nice typical decor, en-suite bathroom with the most fantastic shower...not in its workings but the way it is. I cant desribe it.
The best addition to the room is the air conditioning unit which soon blasts out the cool air.
I think you do have to be a bit adaptable in these rooms if people stay up late chatting or get up for breakfast early you can hear it all. I reckon that that is the case in most Riads though due to their size and the location of the rooms though.

Breakfast is a mixture of pastries, cakes, tea, coffee and juice but as its served in the courtyard you are not always the only ones to eat it!!

There is a nice roof top terrace with seats and sun loungers and a makeshift pool which was good for relaxing.

There is free wifi but I didnt have my laptop. However they did let me use a laptop to check the internet which I thought was very good of them.

I booked this accommodation through Hotels.com who state payment can be made by card.....Its a cash only property.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forthevillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the wirral
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

This place was amazing and Enrique and Abdul couldn't of been more helpful and welcoming. The Riad itself was peaceful, beautifully clean and the breakfast was great. one tiny drawback. being next to a mosque means a sometimes unwelcome six o clock alarm call for the morning call to prayer. and if you get them to pick you up, there's a bit of a worrying walk down a dodgy looking alley, especially if you arrive after dark. but abdul is on the Riads payroll, don't worry!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank undercoverscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2010

My partner and I spent 4 nights in Marrakech and stayed at Dar Limoun Amara. On arrival, a taxi met us at the airport (highly recommended - it'll take you forever to find it!) and when we got to the riad we had such a warm welcome and some mint tea.

The riad is beautiful. Quiet, clean and the staff are very friendly. It was so much nicer than what we expected, really luxurious with a wonderful bathroom and comfy bed, all decorated in a Moroccan style. The riad also has a roof terrace with sunbeds where you can relax. It's so quiet and peaceful, which you need after a crazy day in the medina!

Breakfast was cakes, bread, boiled eggs, cereals and different types of pancakes. Tasty and there was plenty of it. The cooks there can also make an evening meal for you, I think it was about 20 Euros but we didn't eat at the riad as we liked to try a few different places. You can also get alcoholic drinks at the riad, we had a hard time finding restaurants in the medina where you could have a glass of wine or a beer as the sale of alcohol is heavily restricted. Only a couple of more expensive restaurants (outside of our budget) sold alcohol so it's nice to have the opportunity to have a drink in the riad.

Staff are really friendly and make you feel at home. Enrique speaks perfect English and Abdul was so kind and helpful. Marrakech is a great place for a long weekend, we found it so hot, hectic, noisy and fascinating! We got lost constantly - just make sure you memorise the route from the riad to the main square (about 10 mins' pleasant walk) and back again and you will be fine!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rouen
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We had an absolutely wonderful time at the Dar Limoun Amara! Enrique and Abdou were both very friendly, always asking us if we needed anything. Our room was well-maintained, full of natural light from the skylight, and full of lovely details. We also spent some time in the courtyard playing with the turtles (Sophia and Mustafa) and enjoying the quiet after the chaos of the souks.

The only trouble with it was finding it, which is a problem anywhere in Marrakech - I would advise you to find a small boy to bring you to it, then give him a few dirhams when you arrive. It's actually more like a 15-minute walk from Djemaa el-Fna, 10 minutes at night when there's nobody in the streets. But it's a nice walk, well-lit even at night.

We were also very pleased with the service: breakfast was delicious and they even served us breakfast at 6 am on our last day when we needed to get to the airport early. All in all we had a wonderful experience, and it was definitely a great value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fleursdelysa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#120 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#332 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#329 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#520 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Colline
Riad Dar Colline
#666 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Assounfou Apart-Hotel
Assounfou Apart-Hotel
#444 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Limoun Amara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Limoun Amara

Property: Dar Limoun Amara
Address: 71 Derb Jemaa | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40400, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #470 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Limoun Amara 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the fresh court, to rest reading, chatting with your friends or drinking a delicious moroccan tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Dar Limoun Amara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing