We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks great, but ....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #113 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Looks great, but ....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We arrived last night. First issue: the reception clerk asked me to sign a pre-authorization credit charge amounting to about twice what my total hotel bill is likely to be. Second Issue: they could not provide a suite with twin beds for our daughters, claiming that had not been specified on the reservation. Third Issue: they moved us to the other older building where the rooms are priced cheaper but claimed this was simply a different concept and the price would be the same. Fourth Issue: the air conditioning did not work properly in that second room we had so that after two hours of unsuccessfully waiting for the room to cool, we were moved to a third room back in the section we had reserved. Fifth Issue: they claimed they had just moved us to a more expensive section (the section I had reserved and paid for) and would have to charge us more!!!! Sixth Issue: they claimed they had no evidence that I had reserved in the Palais Imperial section.Need I go on?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DCTravelerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    387
    188
    100
    58
See reviews for
347
635
59
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We felt like princesses and we were deeply impressed by the hospitality. Everybody is doing such a good job, everybody is so kind, so friendly and we felt so very welcome in the Sofitel. The service was just perfect and the rooms, the restaurants, the pools, the gardens… it left us speechless! Our cordial thanks to the hotel. We will recommend Sofitel as the place to be in Marrakech!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina Magda... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

The hotel is ideally situated for the Medina and to see most parts of the town. The room was a nice size (although felt like a railway carriage as it was long and thin) but was very dark inside. The rooms were very clean. The shower in the bathroom was very poor. For a five star hotel I would have expected better. Bathrooms not clean to the level of detail I would expect from five star hotels. The pool area was nice. Good size swimming pools and nice sunbeds. The service was mixed - some great staff others not interested. The biggest problem was the constant sound of music from the bar. From 7:30 to 0:30 this could be heard in the rooms. When we asked to change rooms on the second occasion we were told the music would be turned down. This never happened. It made sleeping in the evening difficult and I was awoken by the noise. It also meant siestas could not happen. For this reason I would advise against this hotel and not stay there again. Although food prices in five star hotels go with the territory this was exceptionally overpriced. Furthermore, considering the price there was no free transportation between the airport and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Hotel Sofitel is situated at the top location in Marrakech. It's beautifully styled and provides more than excellent comfort that anyone could ask for. But if you're somehow used to comfort and care, the hospitality of the staff of Sofitel is overwhelming and beyond your wildest imagination. You’ll get spoiled in care, love and beauty in Sofitel. Taking a haman and massage in their Spa is no less than a divine experience. They really make up for their motto ‘life is beautiful’ .

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrJohanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
367 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We stayed at the Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial the nights of June 20th and 21st and were delighted with our overall experience. Very high standards and professionnal. The food was also very good in all the restaurants we tried. Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

Spent a week here with my girlfriend. If you want a relaxing holiday, other than sunbathing round the impressive pool area, there's very little to do. If you are going to go worth boking half board, as the prices round the pool are ridiculuous eg £10 for 2 coffees!.

Our room was quite small and very noisy. Opening the door onto the exteremely small balcony led to loads of noise. Also, there was no air conditioning and although we complained, they did very little, very slowly. Unless you speak fluent French, they can't understand you.

Gnerally, unimpressed with the hotel, the surrounding areas. The only attraction is its proximity to the walled City.

Dont bother unless you want to be stressed and feel ripped off.

On a positive note, it has the most amazing pool area with fantastic sofa beds to sunbathe on, but the poolside prices are crazy.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guy_davison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.1 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#64 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#190 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing