We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laughably bad guest services.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #123 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Laughably bad guest services.”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We booked luxury rooms with pool/garden view. On arrival were put in small, much inferior rooms where we would have remained had I not complained. Room 1 smelt of sewage & was very noisy ( due to patio doors not closing). Second rooms satisfactory but TV in son's room was broken & not repaired/replaced despite 2 requests. Reception staff unhelpful & evasive, with poor command of English. Five star prices but extremely weak customer services. There is plentiful luxury accommodation in Marrakech, so stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    402
    201
    104
    65
See reviews for
370
658
60
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We went to stay in the Sofitel Imperial as it was a cheaper alternative to other hotels we had stayed at such as La Mamounia. We had booked in the Imperial rather than the Lounge as it seemed more modern, from a recent renovation, and thus had a slightly higher price. We had booked two rooms, one with two beds in it however were pleased to be presented with two upgrades to junior suites. The suites were quite small, compared to other leading 5 star resorts it was not as luxurious as expected and it turned out that the room didn't have two beds, and it could not be arranged either. The rooms took well over the allotted time to be ready with its cleaning and we ended up being admitted to the rooms over 2 hours after the reception had promised - be careful with them. We tried to change one of the rooms into the original two beds standard room only to find that they had already rented out our allotted rooms leaving us with no choice but to stay in the junior suites. The suites were quite small, and the TV and other electronics were basic and suggested that they only wanted us to be in the room for sleeping. The decor of the hotel was wonderful, and the pool was also, the decor of the rooms was dark, miserable and quite frankly terrible. The room had a very dark feel with very little light for the night time as well as natural day time light however the balcony was satisfactory. The restaurants were average, however not worth the price - one can find much better food elsewhere in Marrakech. The pool area was nice, the pool if not a touch cold. The hotel was situated in very small grounds, and everyday we had to take a taxi ride away to play either golf or tennis, of which we did in the new and quite incredible (however for us fully booked with a corporate event) 4 Seasons. Overall it seemed a good financial choice with lots of places within reach, however presented itself with quite a few problems later on. The service was generally good, however many tend to ignore you and wonder around the hotel on their breaks smoking. Speaking French IS A MUST at this hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the Atlas mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ehtravelabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed 10 nights in the Sofitel Marrakech and I am more than pleased.

First of all the staff is very friendly, helpful and efficient, guest relation personnel are always attentive and check on the guest if they have any issue and how well they enjoy the stay

Location of the hotel is excellent as its 10 min walk from the medina and Jama El Fna square yes it's area is very modern and elegant

Facilities are great specially the two big swimming pools in the beautiful gardens

Breakfast is really good with big buffet with so many things to choose from

It was my first trip to Marrakech and part why I love the city now is this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABSI-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We had a slight issue with our room when we first arrived, but the General Manager Hamed and his team did all that they could to resolve the issue which they accomplished and I can now see that Sofitel Marrakech is worthy of all of the great reviews that it gets.
There are some excellent staff from Fatima who serviced our room and made a real effort for my wife's birthday to the concierge who booked us into some fantastic restaurants from traditional Moroccan (Palais Solemain) to modern Buddah Bar type restaurants (Bo Zin & Lotus Club).
The team at Sofitel put on a welcome night on Monday night and it was a great way to meet the staff and other guests in a friendly, informal atmosphere. One of the managers Yassin sang a few songs and it is worth going just to hear that; he was excellent!!
The pool staff (particularly Jumal the life guard) were all very helpful and could not do enough to make your stay comfortable.
School boy French is definitely beneficial because many staff and locals do not have a great command of English. We had a fantastic horse and carriage ride who took us to all of the local sights and it was a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulyC1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Smiley faces every where you go inside the hotel. This morning I had my breakfast in the garden next to restaurant. The sun was as warm as the hospitality I had from Abderrahim and Morad, waiters in the restaurant. After I had the breakfast Abderrahim suggested to prepare vervin tea fresh leaves from the garden. They made my day!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamadsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Look this is a really nice hotel, very well located, nicely appointed, a varied offering of different restaurants and bars, The pool area is particular good offering two separate pools and a mix of spaces that break up the area so you don't feel like a bunch of tourists trying to secure your own little bit of territory in a crowded world.

I have eaten here two nights and the food in the Orangey Restaurant like the service has been top notch,

I write this from the external bar of the So nightclub/restaurant having just pointed out on Facebook that my night cap is being nursed as some 'young un's are just going out.

Bedrooms. I am in a very tidy room with views South to the Atlas Mountains. Well appointed and boast the Sofitel 'my bed' with its under duvet which makes for a really comfortable sleep.

I have no problem recommending the hotel, it offers a real quality experience that is probably a lot better value than other brands with more of a North American heritage.

If you come here and you are Anglo Saxon in temperament and I include my American and Canadian cousins you just have to accept the pace of service and attention to detail is different, not wrong but different. So don't always expect staff to fall over to serve you. Test understanding of what you have asked for.... This is true for the whole of Marrakech and try and find a degree of patience - The West End of London or downtown Manhattan this is not. Embrace it and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadysmithJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Its a beautiful hotel but the staff is very amateuristic. I forgot my phone in the gym when I went back, not even 3 minutes later it was gone and the only person there was a crew member. He denied and even started being rude. And I also noticed that they treat Americans and Europeans way better than their own people. My friend is Moroccan and they were very rude to him! I was surprised and I actually felt shame. How idiot but anyway the hotel is cool and theres much to do in the area but dont expect a good treatment in this hotel..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#69 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#189 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing