We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, but dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Ranked #111 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, but dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed first 2 nights and was completely dissapointing. The hotel is just beautiful, but it is a luxury hotel in which the details are very important. Some areas are being restored and there is no care to covering these areas from guests. We reserved a king bed room, and we received double beds, the tv was not working as well as the safety lock. Room was beautiful as well as the area. Walking 10 min from the old city, Medina.
I made a complaint at check out, and since we already had a second reservation 3 nights after, in our second stay we received an upgrade in our room, which was a very good thing from the hotel, but still I believe they have much to improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azazueta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear guest ,

Frist of all I would like to thank for your coment regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech.

I am so sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations especially concerning the noise of constructions ; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

I wish to receive agin you in other to make you live an exeptionnel stay .

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,056
    393
    195
    102
    60
See reviews for
360
646
59
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My brother, my daughter and I had waited so long to be checked into our rooms on arrival which resulted in my daughter and I being given an upgrade to a room next door to my brother's room as a gesture of apology and in celebration of my birthday!

I had a lovely birthday dinner with my daughter on our last night stay at the hotel and to my delight several of the hotel's restaurant staff came to our table in procession with lit sparkling candles, singing 'Happy Birthday' in french, english and arabic, carrying to our table a lovely dessert courtesy of the hotel. Others in the restaurant joined in the singing. After dinner, back in our room was a lovely surprise birthday cake, beautiful red roses and a lovely birthday card greeting from room service and the rest of the staff! A truly memorable birthday experience especially having had a delightful pool side lunch and swim in the afternoon in the beautiful surroundings.

I would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel for 4 nights in July 2014. The experience was pure luxury from the start. You never open a door yourself, there's always someone to do it for you! We were sat down with the concierge who explained everything and we were given cool towels to cool us down and mint tea. We had the biggest balcony in the world! Overlooking the medina walls with a view of the Kotoubia mosque. The pool was fantastic and the sunbeds were so comfy. The staff were so attentive and friendly. Food and drinks were expensive but you'd expect it at a hotel like this. We were there during Ramadam so the SoLounge was quiet in the evenings. Looking forward to going back!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guests,

Iam very pleased to receive your positif coments concerning your stay with us.

Our priority is to offer you the best service in terme of accomodation, restaurants etc

As you are forward to coming back, we also are looking forward to receive you again in other to make you feel a different experience.

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Good location, beautiful property
Small room, average quality in term of room facility
Good breakfast
Restaurant doesn't offer local many specialities, mainly western foods
Pricing is expensive

I stayed there for 3 nights as a business traveler.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This Hotel is an impressine place. the rooms are okay, the vue is ok. but the service is just wonderful. the staff is so friendly. We stayed for 2 days and we were so glad to meet such a nice person : thank you SAMIRA for your kindness. We will come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank your coments it was a real pleasure for us to know that our team has been above your expectation .

I remain at your disposal

Ahmed Benkirane
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 10 days and it was all just perfect. The personnel were all very helpfull. The always friendly Amina at the receptiondesk was very helpfull and always smiling, nezha from palais darkum serves with a smile. We had 2 dinners at l'orangerie, all i can say is that the food was very good and personnel are very friendly. Especially mokhtar and youssef.
The doormen are always friendly and very helpfull in helping you with the luggage or if you need a taxi. The lady ( i think it was kenza) at the shop gave us good information about the products.
One time i needed a pack of sigarettes, all i had to do is ask and a few minutes later it was deliverd on a plate with matches.
I definitly would come again ( this was my second time)

Room Tip: I recommend booking a junior suite. They are spacious and very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NabilBousstta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur ,

Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Marrakech Palais Impérial.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe qui vous a séduit par la qualité de leur accueil, Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.

Continuez à suivre toutes les actualités du Sofitel Marrakech en cliquant sur « j’aime » de nos pages Facebook :

Hôtel Palais Impérial:
SofitelMarrakechPalaisImperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

If you come to Marrakech try to stay at this spectacular hotel . The place is beautiful , the food exquisite and the service is the best we have ever had specially with Mss Hind she was the only person who takes care of us and smiling too and she is friendly person . Thank you one more time for your hospitality we really enjoyed .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaima11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed B, Directeur général at Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear MRS,,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Sofitel Marrakech Imperial Hotel . It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback especially about the quality of all srvices in the hotel.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Continue to follow all news of Sofitel Marrakech by clicking "Like" our Facebook pages :

Hôtel Palais Impérial:
SofitelMarrakechPalaisImperial
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Palace
0.9 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Es Saadi Marrakech Resort - Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
4.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial

Property: Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial
Address: Rue Harroun Errachid | Hivernage, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#62 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#189 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial stands out as a landmark in the heart of Marrakech with a striking architecture inspired by Arabian-Mauresque palace. It is close to historical monuments including the famous Jema El Fna square and less than 15 minutes far from Marrakech Menara airport. Let yourself be carried away by the palace atmosphere which makes Sofitel an ideal place for a romantic or family getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Marrakech Palais Imperial Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing