We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, excellent service”
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
Ranked #129 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful riad, excellent service”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Riad Dar Massai was the best place we could have chosen for our first visit to Marrakesh. It is beautiful decorated, right in the middle of the medina and walking distance to the main attractions. The owner and all the employees were very friendly and gave us the best recommendations. Our room was very unique. Having breakfast on the roof top terrace was amazing. We will be certainly staying in the same riad if we go back to Marrakesh, and we have recommend it to all our friends and family. It was simply perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    35
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
113
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our family, of 4 adults, stayed at Dar Massai in May and everything exceeded our expectations. Our rooms were spacious, attractive and comfortable. The staff was always friendly, warm and helpful. The pool area and other shared spaces ensured that we did not have to stay in our rooms but could meet other guests and enjoy the outdoors. The breakfasts and dinner that we had in the hotel were delicious. Dar Massai is in a very good location as it is very quiet yet within easy walking distance to the major sites. I have to add that Youssef, the manager, helped us all along the way. He was very prompt at responding to all our email inquiries, arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the airport in Casablanca and met us at the taxi personally to help us carry our luggage to the riad. He also helped us plan our stay in Marrakech and made extra phone calls to confirm other reservations. When it happened that my mom accidently left her watch in the safe, he did everything necessary to ship it to her back in the US. I would highly recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We Loved staying in RIAD MASSAI !!
The apartment is so beautiful and comfortable, with every luxury you could ever want!
The place is very clean, the bed is very comfortable, and swimming pool is amazing ! The terrace is beautiful. And the location is fantastic !
It was an absolute treat to stay in this space.
RIAD MASSAI is also situated in a very convenient location: in 10 minutes walk you can reach The Jafna Square. Also the taxi can go very near to Riad Massai.
I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone and everyone goes to Marrakesh
Did I mention how great the people from Riad Mssai are? They were very easy to communicate with and helpful and friendly !

Room Tip: ask to dar massai to pick up you at the airport, it's easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Toscana, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Hi everibody,
i stayed in Ryad Dar Massai in December and i had amazing days there. The ambience is very very nice, i loved the maroccan style, and alway is really clean. The staff is very nice too, so kind and so passionate to advice and help their customers. My experience was so good. I really advice you to try it!

Room Tip: I slept in the asiatic room, really nice, but also the others where stayd my friends were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olching, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It was a great stay at the Riad Dar Massai, we were warmly welcomed at the beginning. The breakfast in the morning was always very rich and tasty, the meals they prepared for us in the evening were excellent and low priiced. The rooms, the interior and especially the roof terrace were great. The personell was always very helpful, very friendly and very obliging. All in all we had an perfect stay in this Riad! Thank you very much!

Room Tip: The rooms are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernhardR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Me and my wife stayed in this lovely Riad for only two nights (now I wish they were two months).
This place is wonderful, quiet in the middle of the Marrakech crazy life Medina, clean in the middle of the market dirt and a perfect place for visiting every Marrakech attraction within walking distance.
The place is a litlle difficult to find by yourself because there are no routes indicated in Tom Tom or Navigon, but you can always call Yousef and he'll pick you up from the mosque nearby.
The staff was wonderful and friendly and the owner, Annaïck, was attentive, careful and welcoming.
The food, oh my god what a breakfast!
I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK TO DAR MASSAI (and this is not just a promise to myself).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eseitaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Absolutely loved Riad Dar Massai. Having had a long coach journey from Essaouira and a rather mad entry into the Kasbah with everyone wanting to help us find our way, Riad Dar Massai was a welcome oasis from the madness of Marrakech.

From the moment I booked, the manager of the Riad sent welcoming emails to offer us dinner and a ride back to the airport. Dinner was a delicious 3 courses with chicken tagine one night and cous cous the next. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room (may depend on where you purchase) and is a very welcome mix of fruit salad, cake and pancakes with the traditional mint tea should you wish.

Our room (Bleue) was beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan wooden features and felt extremely peaceful and relaxing. Riad Dar Massai is a very secure place to stay and it certainly feels that way when you can be tucked up in front of the open fire or relaxing on the roof terrace :)

The Kasbah is a very exciting place to be full of stalls selling everything from fruit and veg, meat to tagines and paintings. It's an ideal location to reach some of the nearer sights by foot and with a windy walk through the souks, Riad Dar Massai is walking distance from the main square with all the orange juice stalls, snake charmers, street performers and food.

A lovely stay for two friends and would happily return for some peace!

Room Tip: The Bleue room has twin beds for those of you who need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxZFHxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#204 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#101 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#131 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#135 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#94 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#183 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Property: Riad Dar Massai
Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing