We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hosts, beautiful riad and a short walk from the heart of Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
Ranked #140 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed at the Dar Massai Riad for 5 nights in early October.
From the welcome mint tea on the first day to Yousseff waving us goodbye as we got into the airport transfer taxi our stay was perfect, easy and very welcoming.
The riad itself is peaceful, clean and restocked frequently with fresh flowers. The breakfasts are a daily surprise of fresh fruits and Moroccan pancakes and pastries.
The rooms are comfortable, private and individually decorated.
There is also the option of having dinner at the riad, cooked with fresh produce and v generous on servings!

The location (although in rather close earshot to the 6am call to prayer) is perfect for wandering into the heart of the old city as well as being in the less busy pedestrian allies, and a pebble's throw from a lovely hammam spa.

We could not fault our stay and recommend the Dar Massai Riad highly.

Many thanks to Youseff and Annaick

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

Youssef, Annick and all the staff at Riad Dar Massai were brilliant from start to finish. Nothing was too much to ask, they were so welcoming and we felt completely at home. The Riad itself is tucked away just off one of the bustling areas of the Medina, and once inside it was so peaceful that it was hard to believe we were so close to the hustle and bustle.
The food at the Riad was delicious and we'd highly reccommend staying in for a home cooked meal at least one of the evenings. For us this was the perfect 5 day getaway and we came back feeling wonderfully relaxed. We would highly reccommend this Riad for Friends, adult families or couples.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at the Riad dar massai for four nights at the beginning of October. There where five of us all girls on a he. Weekend! We arranged transport via the hotel to collect us from the airport and from the moment we arrived the service was 5*!! I cannot recommend this hotel enough! Youssef aka dad was absolutely amazing! He arranged all our transport during our stay via our trusted driver Bob Marley!! To say Youssef looked after us is an understatement. He even collected us with bob at the early hours from pascha and 555 nightclub to ensure we where safe. He was an absolute star as where all the staff! Nothing was too much! Words cannot express our gratitude and how highly we recommend this hotel! 1000 out of a 100 terrific!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarpenrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Riad Dar Massai is a haven of tranquility. The riad is exactly as in the photographs. First impression on stepping in was wow! The breakfasts were huge and nothing was too much trouble for Youssef, Kadisha & Nesbit. We arrived at almost 2am and we were greeted by mint tea & pastries.

The riad was less than 10,minutes walk to the Djemaa El-Fina square. We are definitely looking forward to our next stay here.

Thank you Youssef, Kadisha & Nesbit.

Loraine & Hakeem

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Very relaxing and paceful. It's like an oasis in the middle of the crowded Medina. Quality service is really good. The staff is kindly and makes you feel at home. It's located about 10 minutes walk from the Djemaa El-Fna square. I really reccomend it. I'll be back without doubts. Thanks a lot Youssef and all the staff for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPGlobetrotter85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recently spent a short break here with friends and found it very relaxing. The owner and staff were welcoming and took time to explain walking routes, attractions and local restaurants to us. Breakfast was fantastic, huge, and varied daily.
This riad has a great location within walking distance of the main square and other attractions in the medina. It is a couple of minutes walk from the Saadian tombs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elle366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our family stayed in two rooms in the Dar Massai, and were impressed by every element. We were greeted warmly with mint tea and biscuits, and offered every hospitality during our stay. The riad is located within walking distance to all the main sights of Marrakech; close to the action but without the noise. The accommodations were very comfortable and spotlessly clean, and each morning's breakfast was thoughtfully prepared, delicious and generous. Youssef provided helpful advice, and assisted us with planning excursions and other transport as needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dar Massai and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad Haraka
Riad Haraka
#131 of 499 in Marrakech
117 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#161 of 499 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#35 of 499 in Marrakech
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#83 of 499 in Marrakech
681 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
347 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#60 of 499 in Marrakech
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £42 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing