We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything great! Charming Riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Massai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Massai
Ranked #146 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything great! Charming Riad!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Everything was great! Charming Riad! Youssef was really helpful and pleasing. We will repeat again when we go to Marrakech next time.

Riad location was really near the main Square and you can go by feet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Migue Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    34
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
47
113
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I cannot thank Youssef and the rest of the Dar Massaï team enough for the amazingly wonderful stay my friends and I had there. Everyone was so friendly, communicative, helpful and accomodating. The riad itself is absolutely beautiful and quietly nestled in the middle of the kasbah (where there is also much to see and do) and within walking distance of the bustling Jemaa El Fna and the souks. We enjoyed the gorgeous interior design, lovely breakfasts, refreshing dips in the plunge pool, the hammam treatment Youssef booked for us and an incredible dinner on the rooftop terrace to the fullest. I wish we could have stayed in Marrakech longer to properly take advantage of all the riad had to offer and cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alemanique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

A very peaceful, non intrusive, haven. We stayed for 3 nights in the Blue room, which was kept spotless during our stay. We could have done with Tea making facilities and a mini fridge, that would be my only improvement. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely with different pastries, pancakes, jams etc. If this is not to your liking, you can pay a bit extra for an omelette. The pool is lovely and cool, brilliant for dipping your tired feet into. All the staff are wonderful and very helpful. It's in a great location, about 10 - 15 minutes walk into the main square, or taxi's just around the corner if you want to venture out further. Yes you do hear the call to prayer in the morning but for me that was all part of the cultural experience. Book it and enjoy x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love4rome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Excellent all round.

We don't usually eat our evening meals in hotels but arriving late we pre-booked a meal for the first evening. It was extremely good, as good as the expensive restaurants in Marrakech so we ate there a few times during our stay.
Yousef and all the other staff were very friendly and helpful but not intrusive.
This is a small Riad with only a few rooms and is a peaceful oasis in a the bustling kasbah

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful stay at this riad in February. The food, service, and room were wonderful.
Like most riads, our room faced inward but we had plenty of light. The room was cozy and had an en suite. There was ambient noise from other guests, but it was not a concern as everyone was considerate. Further there is a small pool in the common area which was refreshing after long days getting lost in the medine.
Daily breakfast was filling and tasty. We enjoyed dinner at the riad on the night of arrival and it was surberb. After other dining missteps, I wish we had eaten at the riad on other nights.
Service was attentive. We arrived to Marakech by train and were able to arrange a driver pick-up through Youssef. Upon arrival in the Medina, we escorted us through the market to the riad. The riad itself is in a quiet dead-end alley, though you have to walk through a covered, open-air meat/veggie market. The call to prayer was loud in the mornings, but we were able to return to sleep.
We were very happy with our time at Dar Massai and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDoc_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Such a beautiful Riad, relaxing plunge pool, nice terrace and fantastic staff. Youssef organised a day trip to the Atlas Mountains such a treat, the guide was wonderful. The food in the Riad was great the lemon tagine was a highlight! It was a great base for exploring Marrakech, excellent air conditioning in the rooms. After long days walking and in the souks it was like walking into a slice of heaven! I cannot recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma3111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

A.Jheeta

Walking through the main door away from the hustle & bustle of the outside, it was quiet, peaceful haven. Staff are welcoming and will go out of their way to help you. It is very clean and decorated tastefully. My daughter has severe allergies and I am vegetarian, everyone tried to accommodate our needs. Yousef (the manager) had given good advice at all times we had pestered him. I will go back to the Riad again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#204 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#95 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#124 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Shama
Riad Shama
#185 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Massai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Massai

Property: Riad Dar Massai
Address: 31 Derb Sbaia Kasbah Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar Massai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Tombs Saadian and animation market typical in the Kasbah is Dar Massai, a haven of peace in the heart of the medina.From your entry, on the patio, you will be under the spell of ethnic decor of three rooms open to the swimming pool (5m x 2m) in which you can cool off. The patio also has a lounge / dining room equipped with air conditioning, a fireplace and an LCD display.Dar Massai offers 5 rooms tastefully decorated and equipped with private bathrooms and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Massai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Massai Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing