We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alsmost perfect for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Assounfou Apart-Hotel
Ranked #439 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alsmost perfect for us”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Stayed for a week in April 2013 with the whole family in a number of rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful, although sometimes struggled to understand our English but that's to be expected! The hotel was in a good location, close to shops and supermarkets and just a 15 minute walk from the Jemaa el-Fnaa square. The rooms were fantastic with plenty of seating so we could all sit in one room and chat etc on an evening. The cooking facilities were just two hobs a sink and a fridge but were great for making a quick snack or cup of tea. The shower wasn't fantastic but didn't cause any issues. The only issue we had was the pool which was in the shade for the majority of the day and therefore didn't heat up!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back could hear the pool being constantly filled up, not a major annoyance but mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    51
    45
    24
    22
See reviews for
41
39
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Assounfou Hotel. Having seen the pics on the internet I'm beginning to think I stayed somewhere else.
Bathroom tiny, shower with poor drainage, sink no plug and mirror that was not cleaned all the time we were there.
Curtain was halfway off the track and never dealt with, balcony which looked onto a building site and had very old and dirty furniture, air conditioning which didn't work, room over the cafe so you had about an hour per night listening as the staff dragged chairs across the floor.
Breakfast was basic to say the least. The same thing every day with no choice given and food hygiene a thing not yet reach there!
The fact that there appears to be a pool is something that I have only just realised as this was never mentioned by the reception staff and no signs pointed you to it.
The only saving grace was the location.
If you think this is made up I have pics!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a whole week in jan 2013. Hotel is 2 streets away from centre of town (near Zara store)... It has a restaurant plus across the road a laundromat and few other shops.. Marrakesh plaza is also few meters away so all food options are at reach. Rooms are perfect size and beds and decor are good. One issue is the restaurant downstairs where sometimes furniture been moved at night causes a bit of noise but it didn't bother me and I was on the first floor. Staff are accommodating but keep in mind that check in is at 12pm so make arrangements if you come early or after 8pm.. Parking is almost impossible so be warned you might not get any. Will definitely be back end of this year again and stay in this hotel

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlatkomk2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in November 2011. We opted for Bed and Breakfast. Breakfast consisted of a bread roll/ stick, some juice and jam, very basic. I would recommend going elsewhere for breakfast.

The apartment was lovely in our opinion, with a sink, fridge TV area and sofa. We had two balconies, but there was not really a great view. The bathroom was a decent size and kept clean. The shower was OK, nothing to call home about, and did the job.

The location was about a 30 minute walk from the 'Square'. Closer to the hotel were many shops we find here in the UK, like Zara and Adidas, there was also a fast food restaurant chain within walking distance. We also bought fruit from the merchants across the road.

The reception staff were helpful but generally quite moody!

Wifi could only be picked up in the reception area and this was confirmed by the number of people sitting in the reception on their smartphones!

We went on quite a few excursions (arranged independently by a man we have recommended to others) and the drivers had no problems picking us up or dropping us off.

I would recommend this hotel to people who are more into self catering.

It was priced well and we would definitely go back and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LimitedDunya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This hotel was disgraceful. The staff were not at all helpful - in fact they were plain rude. They tutted at us when we asked they call a local number to confirm a tour we had booked and declined to call a mobile (on a different day) stating they could not get an outside line.
It is reported to be close to the square - the truth is it is a fast 25-30 minute walk!
On the final night we discovered that the balcony door (first floor) did not lock. On reporting this to the front reception, we were told that it is illegal to lock balcony doors in Morocco. We requested to be moved to a different room and were told that all the external doors in the hotel did not lock due to this regulation. We had to find our own way of securing this door, but needless to say we didn't sleep a wink as there was also 2 x altercations observed outside our window.
Plain disgusting. Terrible (non existent) customer service.

Room Tip: unless your happy to have your balcony door unable to lock, simply don't stay here. If you do, d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel offers apartment accommodation and this was ideal. Bed was comfortable, clean sheets, pillows and towels provided daily by an excellent housekeeping service. Staff were always friendly and willing to help at the desk with any problems. Popular hotel excellent location! Cutlery and kitchen items avaliable in the cupboards for the kitchen salon that comes with the room! Very quiet for a good nights sleep! Thanks for lovely stay.

Room Tip: this is the second time I came and I had a balcony this time. you do hear the mosque at times but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank runwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Stayed at this Aparthotel for the New Year 2012. Though described as a 4*, it is actually only 2*. Basic room with adjacent sitting room with a kitchenette with few utensils only. You get woken up at 6 am by call from nearby mosque but this lasts only 1 minute and is a problem with most hotels as there are a number of mosques in this city. Clean towels but taken from room in the morning to be washed and returned early evening. Reasonably clean rooms but flooring is tiles so not squeaky clean.; also the small carpet by the side of bed does not get cleaned well.. Only some of the light fittings have bulbs so a bit dark, especially the bathroom. Also corridor lamps and those lamps in the 1st floor public toilets are on timers so get switched off very soon, leaving you in darkness. Airconditioning gets switched off early mornings and sometimes not switched on in the evening unless you ask for it! Breakfast consists of a baguette, a pain au chocolat, orange juice, coffee/tea, butter and apricot jam every single day.30 minutes walk to Jemma but close to a number of hotels: 3 minute walk straight out of front of hotel to McDonalds, KFC and Hotel Elite- good food at reasonable rates; also if you walk to the right of hotel for 4 minutes past a pizzeria on the left, is an italian hotel with good food at reasonable costs, frequented by locals. Restaurant at the hotel is vile so avoid at all costs. Lady at desk very helpful and speaks reasonable english but the men folk generally unhelpful and speak gutteral english only. 20 minutes to railway station and Supratours for trip to beach at Essouira- 70 pounds normal bus and 100 pounds each way by superluxury coach starts at 0900 am; did not take Chez Ali Experience- costly and not value for money at 450 pounds per head. Ourika valley tour 350 pounds a head via hotel but we took a grand taxi for the day for 400 pounds- worked out cheaper for the 3 of us. People generally very friendly and is a safe city but note some people ask for money for giving you directions. Food a bit bland as we were vegetarians but enjoyed Salade Morrocaine and Vegetarian Cous cous- hotels Abdelkadir and Chez Chegrouni at the Jemma square being especially good value for money. We had to pay 200 dhs for transfer from airport to hotel but on return paid only 60 dhs for a grand taxi! Generally paid 20 dhms to/from hotel to Jemma by petit taxi/ grand taxi. Souks very crowded so please take care of your wallet and your camera. In short hotel is basic and value for money (just), the place very interesting if not overwhelming and people very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trinity4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#343 of 499 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#460 of 499 in Marrakech
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#280 of 499 in Marrakech
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
Hotel Le Grand Imilchil
#448 of 499 in Marrakech
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
998 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#19 of 499 in Marrakech
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Assounfou Apart-Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Assounfou Apart-Hotel

Property: Assounfou Apart-Hotel
Address: Angle Rue Imam Malek et Rue Ibn, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Assounfou Apart-Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Assounfou Apart-Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Assounfou Apart Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing