We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend :)”
Review of Adama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adama Resort
Ranked #221 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend :)”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

As has been reminded by many of the previous reviews, don't be disappointed by the sorry state of the road which leads to the hotel. Once you are in the actual hotel, it is amazing!

The grounds within the hotel is a gem and very well groomed. The architecture of the place is brilliant and the rooms itself are very well decorated. Given that we went in February, the rooms were on the cold side during the night. No doubt the air con works better at cooling the room down for the summer than heating the room up in the winter months.

As mentioned before, the temperature was a bit low to go into the pool as we went in Feb but am sure it's very nice in the summer. It is not the biggest pool in the world so I imagine it gets quite busy then.

In terms of getting into Marrakech, the hotel does provide regular transportation. It is pretty much an hourly service bar lunch and dinner time. At the time of our visit, the transport took the shape of a 7 seater which meant you had to be there early to ensure you get a seat. Not exactly sure what happens if there aren't enough seats and whether they will arrange alternative transport for you but I say, better safe than sorry and get there slightly ahead of the crowd!

Finally, the service and the food of the place was good and nothing negative to talk about really.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amk_sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    178
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
175
136
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Great property with huge potential...
the few negatives are pretty minor.

Negatives:
It is pretty far out of town... about 15-20 min from Medina and Jemma el Fna. It is in the countryside (pro and con) so you are limited to about one or two trips to "town" each day.
Shuttle is a nice feature but we found ourselves hiring a driver the last few days to have our own schedule.
Restaurant is mediocre and a bit pricey.

Positives:
Great new property. (Some construction nextdoor but minimal noise).
Huge riads... we had 2-3 bedrooms and a large living room and courtyard.
Quiet and away from the bustle of Medina/town.
Daily cleaning is good.
Riad was clean and new.

The price was awesome and we want to return soon. Very good place to stay.
I would not call it 5-star by any means but a solid 4-star.

Room Tip: Hire a driver/guide & eat in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel towards the end of April. What a wonderful and tranqual place. Rooms are large and spacious. Could not find anything to complain about. Staff very helpful even though they spoke very little english but we were fine because my sister speaks french, which is widely spoken in morroco. Each apartment has its own private terrace which is an added bonus. If you want a peaceful holiday then would highly recommend this place. The shuttle service to and from the centre of marrakech is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We found this hotel to be a great location for a family break in Marrakech. The rooms are very spacious and the design of the grounds means that each has almost total privacy. The gardens are very pleasant and well maintained. The breakfast is fine. The 'navette' transfer to Jamma el Fna is first-class: very punctual and reliable.
The only 'negatives' I could find were:
No shower pool-side. Its absence meant that hot, sweating bodies covered in sun-cream were in and out of the pool all day leaving a unpleasant film on the water surface. Our kids both got face rashes from the water. No shower is unusual in such circumstances and something which could be easily remedied.
The food at the hotel is limited and expensive: 50 Dhs (£4.25) for an ice cream and the same for a 33cl bottle of beer. Similarly, the shop has very little stock and is expensive. Best to do a big shop somewhere in town.

However, none of this spoilt our stay in an excellent hotel with friendly, v. helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2011

The positives of the wonderful new hotel far outweigh any small problems that need ironing out. The accommodation is superb, we booked what i believe to be the smallest accommodation, the apartment, expecting the standard couple of tiny rooms that you tend to get on the med. We were totally blown away by the accommodation and wish we didn't have to leave, a huge high ceilinged house with wonderful decor, beautiful brickwork on the ceilings, the ground floor is split between a very good sized lounge, room for two huge couches/beds, a large coffee table and comfy chair, along with a tv cabinet, on the same floor, and really part of the same room is the dining room, room for about 6 around the table, another couch, and cabinet with spare sheets and stuff. The kitchen is off to the side and is bigger than what we have at home, and comes with dishwasher, microwave, toaster, cooking range, and coffee maker. On the same for floor is also a smaller shower room/toilet. Up the stairs is the master bedroom and again the decor and cleanliness were spotless, beds were on the firm side, which suits me down to the ground, but may not be to everyones taste. This room was en suite and tiled with what looks like the local stone (as is the rest of the house).

We were greeted by friendly staff at reception and given some delicious Moroccan mint tea. The pool is nice, if simple, and the childrens pool is just off to the side next to the kids club. The kids club is mostly in french, but they do repeat the instructions to games etc in english for those who dont understand. In fact a little high school french would not go amiss throughout. While most staff speak english/barring the cleaning ladies, who seem to spend at least 2 hours a day cleaning our house, it is always nice to be able say the odd word in french if you can. There is also a spa which we didnt go to, which offers massages etc.

The food in the restaurant was somewhat mixed, the western type dishes are fair, but the native dishes are really well done. Having said that the restaurant was a little pricey if you are eating their every day. One of the main things that would improve the hotel would be to improve the selection at the local shop, the shelves look like a scene from communist russia, with just a few items spread throughout the room. This would not be a problem if their was another alternative nearby, but we were unable to find a local supermarket, so tended to have to hunt out odds and ends at the souk.

Which brings me to my only real annoyance of the stay. The hotel has a published timetable for a shuttle bus into and out of the Medina. They rarely seem to stick to this time table and you may find yourself waiting around for over an hour for it to arrive. With very little mobile reception in the Medina, we were unable to get in contact with the hotel to chase the bus. Saying that if you are the relaxed about when you get back to the hotel and just soak up the madness of the djemma al fnaa and the souks, then this shouldn't really be a problem.

The hotel also lacks any real night time entertainment, though they will show the odd football game in the kids club and the occasional live music night. However i think its not really fair to fault the hotel for this, their is so much entertainment on offer in Marrakesh proper, dancers, story tellers, snake charmers etc, that it is great to come back to this peaceful oasis of an evening. I think this would be spoiled by endless repeats of agadoo and the music man.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trickyrickyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed here for 5 days towards the end of March 2011 with 2 friends. I really don't know how anyone can give this hotel any negative reviews, it was 5 star. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was really like a large house, with garden, kitchen with microwave and big seating area. Loads of rom and very quiet. The maids cleaned every day, changing towels (but not toiletries). The breakfast was fresh organge juice, lovely coffeee, toast, eggs and yoghurt - enough to start the day. The shuttle bus was very frequent - about one an hour - and only took about 15 minutes to get to the centre, Lassan the driver, was very good and took us to the Saadi Tombs and gave good options for shopping. Would highly recommend.

Diane

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane_B1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

We Stayed at the Adama hotel on our last night in Morocco. We arrived back in Marrakesh after a 2 day 1 night stay in the dessert. We called the hotel at about 3pm to confirm out arrival and find out how to get there as we had problems locating it on maps. We were told that there was a shuttle bus from Medina to the hotel at 6pm and 7.30pm. Once back in the main square we firstly had trouble finding where the shuttle should be and had to call the hotel twice to get information. The last call we made to them was at 7pm, we were told to wait by the bus stops and horses and the driver would come and find us but that we should look out for a 50 year old man - which obviously made things so much easier!! After waiting in the designated place for 35 minutes we decided to call again to make sure the driver was on the way, it was dark and we were 2 female travellers so were not particularly happy at waiting indefinitely for a 50 year old man. On calling at 7.35 (5 minutes after pick-up) we were told that the driver had been and gone, the receptionist said that he had looked for us but couldn't find us so left . We were told that we could wait another hour for the next bus or take a taxi. There was no way the driver could have missed us if he had turned up we were two very obvious tourists with all our luggage. Annoyed we decided to get a taxi which cost us D400. When we got to the hotel the receptionist who we had spoken to 4 or 5 times on the phone greeted us by name and welcomed to the hotel. There was no mention or apology for the bus not turning up, when we mentioned it and said that we weren't happy he laughed under his breath and continued to say with a smirk on his face that it wasn't his fault that we were not there. We argued the point for a while explaining that we had been in the same place for over 30 minutes and it was the bus that had missed us even though they knew we were there but we received the same dismissive snide re-marks.

When we got to our room we were initially impressed, the rooms were big and well decorated however it soon became apparent that for all the luxury spas and grounds they had it would have been better if there had been hot water in the rooms! We found a lack of the more basic facilities that we had previously found in a much cheaper Riad such as a hair dryer. There is a charge for not washing your own kitchen dishes however no soap or sponge is provided to do so.

We ate in the restaurant that night and unlike the receptionist the waiting staff were friendly and efficient. We ate from the specials as it was one of the only Moroccan dishes on offer the rest was pizza etc and very limited.

After the issues the night before and because the hotel were in the wrong we decided to ask to be given a free shuttle to the airport for our flight by way of compensation, this would no way have covered what we paid for the taxi there or the stress of waiting on the street for ages but would have been helpful as we had both used up most of our remaining cash on the taxi. The same male receptionist was there as the night before and a woman who appeared to be his manager. on check-out there was an extra tax that we were not told about before and when we asked about a free bus to the airport we were asked why. We explained what had happened and said that we were upset by the situation and the lack of apology from the receptionist the night before. The managers response was why did we want an apology when all they were trying to do was be nice and offer us a service, it's not our fault that you missed the bus. We again spent time trying to explain why it was not acceptable but it was met with the same dismissive response from the manager and the other receptionist still grinning in the back ground.

In the end we left as soon as possible, the atmosphere was very unfriendly and although we could not fault the kindness of all other staff the behaviour of the reception staff was the worst I have experienced. I am only glad we had the rest of the day in Marrakesh to enjoy before our flight as if we had gone straight to the airport from the hotel it would have soured the whole trip.

Given the volume of great accommodation on offer in Marrakesh I would not recommend that anyone go to this hotel. You will be able to find the great facilities on offer in other places with staff that are actually nice to it's guests. We never did get any apology.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VGriff01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#190 of 496 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#371 of 496 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
#32 of 278 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adama Resort

Property: Adama Resort
Address: Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Adama is located 10 minutes by shuttle from Jemaa-El-Fna and has a panoramic view of the Atlas mountains. It offers a heated lagoon swimming pool, spa facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access.The traditional Moroccan houses are set in a quiet garden and are fully equipped with flat-screen satellite TV, washing machine, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adama By Residhotel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing