We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel - Shame about the restaurant!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adama Resort
Ranked #221 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel - Shame about the restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We booked the Adama via booking.com. The room delivered far beyond our expectations, reserved a room + mesanine actually what you get is a two double bed detached villa with two private gardens and double height ceilings. Two bathrooms, one with walk in shower. Even a fully equipped kitchen with Bosch dishwasher!! Full size brand new air con units in every main room. WOW! For the cost by far the best accomodation we have stayed in (25 year travelling).
Flat screen Tv, Beautiful furnishings, Queen size beds. The rooms are massive! Daily sevice to the rooms was also fantastic - all the staff in this Hotel are great without exception.
So 11/10 for the accomodation - truly amazing. The grounds are fabuously maintained - the pools are great although strange being tiled in black (makes you think the water is dirty but once you get your head round it, its fine). There are a couple of things which let this Hotel down which is a shame...the main issue is that you are very isolated at the Adama - you are 10km from the Medina in the middle of nowhere. There is nothing nearby you can walk to. So you are reliant on the hotel restaurant and the hotel shuttle into the city. The shuttle is reliable and a godsend - if there are too many people they provide extra buses which is great.
Our only negative comment is about the restaurant. Twice we went for dinner only to give up and return to the villa after a 1.5 to 2 hour wait for food. All others we spoke too had the same issue. The staff are acutally great but there is a complete lack of 'management' - no one in charge - no-one accountable for the service level. Breakfast is ok but again a bit chaotic not befitting of a 4star hotel ie some days orange juice somedays not, somedays pancakes if the pancake lady is in somedays not. If you want a yogurt get there before 8.30 as once the 15 put out are gone thats it.. plenty of great coffee though and bread and cheese and stuff.
They also charge stupid prices for drinks - 3 pounds for a can of coke, 5 for a small bottle of beer - dearer than a top restaurant in the city. AND you can buy a 1.5lt ice cold bottle of soft drnik in the shop for one pound and its 10 yards from the restaurant - so guess what - no-one buys drinks! Bit silly realy. And why no ice cream of any description? ITS 42 DEGREES!!
If the owners are reading this - you have a fabulous hotel - get someone who knows what they are doing to sort your restaurant out then you will have one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. We took some emergency dried food with us as you cant eat out every night in the city - we used it all!! We would go back and hope the restaurant is 'under new management'!!

Room Tip: Book the room with mezzanine - you will not be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supergaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    171
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
168
133
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

As has been reminded by many of the previous reviews, don't be disappointed by the sorry state of the road which leads to the hotel. Once you are in the actual hotel, it is amazing!

The grounds within the hotel is a gem and very well groomed. The architecture of the place is brilliant and the rooms itself are very well decorated. Given that we went in February, the rooms were on the cold side during the night. No doubt the air con works better at cooling the room down for the summer than heating the room up in the winter months.

As mentioned before, the temperature was a bit low to go into the pool as we went in Feb but am sure it's very nice in the summer. It is not the biggest pool in the world so I imagine it gets quite busy then.

In terms of getting into Marrakech, the hotel does provide regular transportation. It is pretty much an hourly service bar lunch and dinner time. At the time of our visit, the transport took the shape of a 7 seater which meant you had to be there early to ensure you get a seat. Not exactly sure what happens if there aren't enough seats and whether they will arrange alternative transport for you but I say, better safe than sorry and get there slightly ahead of the crowd!

Finally, the service and the food of the place was good and nothing negative to talk about really.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amk_sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Great property with huge potential...
the few negatives are pretty minor.

Negatives:
It is pretty far out of town... about 15-20 min from Medina and Jemma el Fna. It is in the countryside (pro and con) so you are limited to about one or two trips to "town" each day.
Shuttle is a nice feature but we found ourselves hiring a driver the last few days to have our own schedule.
Restaurant is mediocre and a bit pricey.

Positives:
Great new property. (Some construction nextdoor but minimal noise).
Huge riads... we had 2-3 bedrooms and a large living room and courtyard.
Quiet and away from the bustle of Medina/town.
Daily cleaning is good.
Riad was clean and new.

The price was awesome and we want to return soon. Very good place to stay.
I would not call it 5-star by any means but a solid 4-star.

Room Tip: Hire a driver/guide & eat in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel towards the end of April. What a wonderful and tranqual place. Rooms are large and spacious. Could not find anything to complain about. Staff very helpful even though they spoke very little english but we were fine because my sister speaks french, which is widely spoken in morroco. Each apartment has its own private terrace which is an added bonus. If you want a peaceful holiday then would highly recommend this place. The shuttle service to and from the centre of marrakech is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Faraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

We found this hotel to be a great location for a family break in Marrakech. The rooms are very spacious and the design of the grounds means that each has almost total privacy. The gardens are very pleasant and well maintained. The breakfast is fine. The 'navette' transfer to Jamma el Fna is first-class: very punctual and reliable.
The only 'negatives' I could find were:
No shower pool-side. Its absence meant that hot, sweating bodies covered in sun-cream were in and out of the pool all day leaving a unpleasant film on the water surface. Our kids both got face rashes from the water. No shower is unusual in such circumstances and something which could be easily remedied.
The food at the hotel is limited and expensive: 50 Dhs (£4.25) for an ice cream and the same for a 33cl bottle of beer. Similarly, the shop has very little stock and is expensive. Best to do a big shop somewhere in town.

However, none of this spoilt our stay in an excellent hotel with friendly, v. helpful staff

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

The positives of the wonderful new hotel far outweigh any small problems that need ironing out. The accommodation is superb, we booked what i believe to be the smallest accommodation, the apartment, expecting the standard couple of tiny rooms that you tend to get on the med. We were totally blown away by the accommodation and wish we didn't have to leave, a huge high ceilinged house with wonderful decor, beautiful brickwork on the ceilings, the ground floor is split between a very good sized lounge, room for two huge couches/beds, a large coffee table and comfy chair, along with a tv cabinet, on the same floor, and really part of the same room is the dining room, room for about 6 around the table, another couch, and cabinet with spare sheets and stuff. The kitchen is off to the side and is bigger than what we have at home, and comes with dishwasher, microwave, toaster, cooking range, and coffee maker. On the same for floor is also a smaller shower room/toilet. Up the stairs is the master bedroom and again the decor and cleanliness were spotless, beds were on the firm side, which suits me down to the ground, but may not be to everyones taste. This room was en suite and tiled with what looks like the local stone (as is the rest of the house).

We were greeted by friendly staff at reception and given some delicious Moroccan mint tea. The pool is nice, if simple, and the childrens pool is just off to the side next to the kids club. The kids club is mostly in french, but they do repeat the instructions to games etc in english for those who dont understand. In fact a little high school french would not go amiss throughout. While most staff speak english/barring the cleaning ladies, who seem to spend at least 2 hours a day cleaning our house, it is always nice to be able say the odd word in french if you can. There is also a spa which we didnt go to, which offers massages etc.

The food in the restaurant was somewhat mixed, the western type dishes are fair, but the native dishes are really well done. Having said that the restaurant was a little pricey if you are eating their every day. One of the main things that would improve the hotel would be to improve the selection at the local shop, the shelves look like a scene from communist russia, with just a few items spread throughout the room. This would not be a problem if their was another alternative nearby, but we were unable to find a local supermarket, so tended to have to hunt out odds and ends at the souk.

Which brings me to my only real annoyance of the stay. The hotel has a published timetable for a shuttle bus into and out of the Medina. They rarely seem to stick to this time table and you may find yourself waiting around for over an hour for it to arrive. With very little mobile reception in the Medina, we were unable to get in contact with the hotel to chase the bus. Saying that if you are the relaxed about when you get back to the hotel and just soak up the madness of the djemma al fnaa and the souks, then this shouldn't really be a problem.

The hotel also lacks any real night time entertainment, though they will show the odd football game in the kids club and the occasional live music night. However i think its not really fair to fault the hotel for this, their is so much entertainment on offer in Marrakesh proper, dancers, story tellers, snake charmers etc, that it is great to come back to this peaceful oasis of an evening. I think this would be spoiled by endless repeats of agadoo and the music man.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trickyrickyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

I stayed here for 5 days towards the end of March 2011 with 2 friends. I really don't know how anyone can give this hotel any negative reviews, it was 5 star. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was really like a large house, with garden, kitchen with microwave and big seating area. Loads of rom and very quiet. The maids cleaned every day, changing towels (but not toiletries). The breakfast was fresh organge juice, lovely coffeee, toast, eggs and yoghurt - enough to start the day. The shuttle bus was very frequent - about one an hour - and only took about 15 minutes to get to the centre, Lassan the driver, was very good and took us to the Saadi Tombs and gave good options for shopping. Would highly recommend.

Diane

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane_B1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#173 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
Le Domaine de L'Ourika
#244 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#388 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
10.6 mi away
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
#29 of 276 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adama Resort

Property: Adama Resort
Address: Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Adama is located 10 minutes by shuttle from Jemaa-El-Fna and has a panoramic view of the Atlas mountains. It offers a heated lagoon swimming pool, spa facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access.The traditional Moroccan houses are set in a quiet garden and are fully equipped with flat-screen satellite TV, washing machine, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Adama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adama By Residhotel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing