We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay, good value but some minor niggles”
Review of Adama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adama Resort
Ranked #215 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stay, good value but some minor niggles”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We travelled to Marrakesh with our 4 children 11,10 7 and 7 befire Christmas 2011. The accommodation was great, very spacious, 2 large bedrooms with en-suite, a roomy sitting and dining room and a lovely enclosed garden with a table and seating + 1 kitchen and extra toilet. We booked through expedia and got a very good price. The standard of accommodation was great, cleaned daily by helpful staff and some problems with the TV were quickly fixed. There were too many buls not working which we found odd. The airconditionong units (3) and bathroom heaters were working fine.
The complex is very pleasentr and is located near the airport but we could hear no airplanes.
Breakfast was plentiful but a bit chaotic (having to ask the staff for spoons was a bit wierd).

The swimming pool was great and towels were readily available. Swimming outside before Christmas felt funny, but the temperature was ok.

The only big stressor was the availability of shuttles to the town. The timetable was folllowed but there were too many people to fit in the shuttle. At best we ended having children on laps (tricky with 4 young children), at worst it meant waiting for the next one (although they seemed to put some more on if there was a need. Staff were courteous but I think that the service could be better organised.

The food at the restaurant was good but pricey (almost double what we could get in town). The shop/boutique was not stocked very well which meant taht we did not use the kitchen, microwave, diswasher and fridge at the appartment, just got some water/drinks.

Overall, for the price we paid we felt we got a very good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiltGRUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    180
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
176
136
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Hi all just got back from this place, hmmm rooms were great, just like the pictures. The breakfast was also very good. HOWEVER, and this is a big 'but' I agree with most of the reviewers here, the service was awful and very evasive, not recommended for younger children/winter months. The kids club was not on, the pool was not heated, and the manager did nothing to compensate, you were actually made to feel bad if you complained about anything. My room was also very cold, lighting was poor, spa was closed and the shop was extremely expensive. There was a little mini van that went to the square at cetain times, which was useful but he was soooo rude, and complained becuase one of my kids needed to go to the toilet 2 minutes before the bus was too leave (the toilets by the way were not even 10 feet away!)

The hotel is nice, but the service was not, and i agree with the previous reviewer, "it dosnt do what it says on the tin". Seriously there are better places to stay in Marrakesh for this price.

Room Tip: Cold rooms in Winter. Downstairs is warmer, not much for the kids to do, brush up on your french, st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aaak7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Read the reviews and agree with what alot of others said ie absolutely beautiful accomodation really amazing high ceilings and lighting and the staff are excellent, transport into town is a godsend and extremely reliable and there is nothing nearby but we knew that before going so not a problem at all and it felt like two holidays in one. If you want to be amongst the carnage of downtown Marrakech full-time then don't book here. Disagree with comments ref the restaurant as we ate there 3 nights and the service and food was superb and reasonable with great service. The spa is excellent too and just wished I'd not left it until the last day to try it. Some advice would be to go to supermarket (5 min walk to a Carrafour S/M walking towards tourist info) and if you want alcohol there is a small but well stocked shop quite near the tourist info centre where we got a couple of bottles of Morrocan wine to go with our meal in the evening we cooked for about £4 a bottle) also if you get fed up with the haggling there are 2 fixed price places that are great 'ARTISAN ENSEMBLE' near the drop off point in town and a fixed price massive store that I'm sure the driver will drop you at if you ask. Only negative was they weren't at the airport to pick us up but I rang and they came straight there it was just a mix up with arrival time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We (my two teenage daughters and me) stayed here for one week. We liked:

The rooms and grounds (very pretty)
The handy on-site shop for soft drinks and snacks
Internet in the bedroom (wired, not WiFi)
The clean bathrooms
The large rooms (our 'apartment' had a bedroom, lounge (with 2 single beds), kitchen, WC and bathroom)
The free hotel bus to town (15 minutes drive, every 1 hour or so)
The speed with which housekeeping responded to requests
The helpful people on reception
The in-room kitchen facilities for self-catered lunches (ingredients bought from supermarket in Marrakech)
The quiet location away from the noise of Marrakech
The relative closeness to Marrakech
The provision of a safe in the room for valuables

We did not like:
The very limited restaurant menu (pizza disappeared from the menu after day 1)
The loss of the alcohol licence in the restaurant (no alcohol after day 1 - despite promises it would be back)
The cold pool (not heated)
The number of interconnecting doors in our apartment (built around a small patio area) which meant you kept on having to lock and unlock doors, which were not easy to close or lock
The limited TV channels (bring a DVD player!)
The room lighting which was just a little bit too dim to read by

Overall we enjoyed our stay here and thought we had made the right choice, mainly because we could relax away from the madness that is the centre of Marrakech. Would we choose this place again - probably yes in the same circumstances (family group, first time in Morocco) but realistically if we came again it would probably be for less time so we might stay in a Riad in Marrakech for a different experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 580430Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I was somewhat skeptical about booking this hotel because I could not find enough information about the accommodations. Also, I had seen some bad reports about it. We booked our flight from Spain at the last minute when so many of the other hotels in town were already full so we took a chance. But this was one of the best “chance hotels” I have ever booked. I only wish they explained things better in their ads. The hotel is a series of spacious, comfortable, separate, apartments with each apartment grouped around a central courtyard. One part of the apartment is a living room, dining room, and large kitchen, while the other room is a bedroom (great bed) and a fairly large bathroom. Outside in the courtyard is a second large table and chairs for outdoor eating and relaxation. There is a fairly large pool and a restaurant. We had heard bad things about the restaurant but again, we took a chance on having dinner there the first night. It was excellent and fairly reasonably priced with a nice bottle of wine. We ate in town every other night except the last when we again used the restaurant with nice white tablecloths and perfect service. Marcia had fish and I had the lamb chops which were cooked and served perfectly. The only real complaint I had was with the breakfast. It was quite good but I found the layout left much to be desired. In an apparent effort to save the trouble of setting up enough tables they had arranged the food in several rows, one behind the other so that one had to reach across some foods to get at others. Anyone with a cough, cold or runny nose would stand a very good chance of spreading germs on the food we had to eat. Also the loaves of French bread were piled up with no attempt at sanitation and there was no serviette (cloth) for people to hold the bread with when cutting the loaf. I complained (constructively) to the food and beverage manager and he thanked me for my advice. Next morning, our last, I found that he had provided a serviette to hold the bread but nothing had been done to add an additional table so that people would not contaminate the food. I would like to hear from later guests if this has been done. I would, and will, definitely return to this hotel and hope to visit Marrakech again soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good as far as I know. The A/C worked well and was quiet. room service was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drushton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The hotel has people of a lower standard checking in to this hotel who attack others and the hotel management do nothing about it !!! My friend was assulted by 4 netherland girls and the hotel staff did nothing. The police had to be informed and they were great they took the attack very seriously whilst the hotel stood back did not want to get involved as it was to ruin their reputation. They were happy to delivery food and drink to our room keep us locked away, they stated that the girls would leave the hotel the next morning this did not happen as they were booked in for 2 weeks and we were to leave 2 days later.Never experienced anything like it just want to advise other holiday makers its not safe here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CAROLANN40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

this hotel is wonderful, it has everything you need and more. The staff with exception to the general manager were so friendly and helpful. I was worried as other reviews say how expensive it is for food and especially drinks, not so. The standard is far better here than you would get in town for the same price, the shop is reasonable too. Breakfast on a morning was good and the rooms cleaned every day. The Spa is much cheaper than here in the UK and so lovely and clean. I would visit this hotel again and again.
The bus service is great and a must as the hotel is far out of the city 15-20 mins depending on the traffic and the taxi service from the airport is also good especially for a group of people.

Room Tip: ask for the villa with the private garden and patio. Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
9.0 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#171 of 499 in Marrakech
469 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#197 of 499 in Marrakech
734 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
Kech Boutique Hotel & Spa
#185 of 499 in Marrakech
448 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adama Resort

Property: Adama Resort
Address: Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Adama is located 10 minutes by shuttle from Jemaa-El-Fna and has a panoramic view of the Atlas mountains. It offers a heated lagoon swimming pool, spa facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access.The traditional Moroccan houses are set in a quiet garden and are fully equipped with flat-screen satellite TV, washing machine, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Adama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adama By Residhotel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing