We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel to relax and discover Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Adama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adama Resort
Ranked #230 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel to relax and discover Marrakech”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We spent one week at Adama with our 7-year-old daughter. The hotel is peaceful with a bit of animation around the pool and our daughter had good fun with the animation team, who took great care of her. Rooms are great and actually are more like houses (we had the 57 villa, a 3-floor-house with 2 bathrooms and 2 toilettes). The location is perfect to visit Marrakech and its surroundings, all the more as the Adama offers very nice outdoors activities at a very good price (we tried the quad and the camel excursions and loved both of them). The free shuttle to Marrakech is quite handy but watch out... They tend to leave 10/15 minutes ahead of schedule!
The spa is also nice and very affordable.
As for the service, it is very good. The staff is always there to take care of you.
There is one little point which could be improved... The rooms are not spotless... But well, you're in Morocco and once you've been to the Medina... You realize the hotel can be considered as very clean, almost sparkling :o)

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Voyager5792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    176
    46
    19
    14
See reviews for
173
135
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Mum and i have just arrived back from a three night vists at the Adama Resort. How could i have ever missed such a jem of a place.
The first reaction is the most beautiful gardens, flowers, trees, birds, green lawns ,swiming pool. all with lovey sitting areas to suit every mood.
The accomadation is beautiful, plumbing is somewhat hit and miss but then you are on holiday and it works in the end. Vila was lovely with balcony and outside seating area. Clean, very moroccan, very "not like home" .....Just lovely. Nosie is in line with any resort that has security and other guests arriving and going . Mum and I are vegatarain, and we found the restaurants food to be very good, french orinatated. The menu didnt change throughout our 4 day stay, but that didnt pose any issues as the selecion was good.. Prices were average, and wine and cocktails available,,again at an average price that you would pay in any european country.
All the staff were absoultely lovely. They speak french, but we didnt find it a real isue, the staff know a few little words,enough to "get by". We certainly didnt miss out as a result of any language barriers.
Mum and i would certainly return to this most beautiful retreat from the busy world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam4377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just back from a week at Adama at the end of March. The resort itself is beautiful - the gardens are well-tended and full of pretty flowers, the architecture is sensitively designed and the accommodation is spacious and feels luxurious. It was also very reasonably priced. We had a two bedroom villa with its own little garden and patio space, which was equipped with most of the basics you would need for a week's self-catering holiday, apart from an iron and hairdryer, which I think really should come as standard.

The villas are cleaned, bedding changed and towels replaced, every day but there is an extra charge of 15 euros per day if you want your dishes washing/kitchen cleaned too. I'd rather do my own dishes so didn't mind this, but others might.

Now for the positives and negatives -

POSITIVES
- Mostly friendly and welcoming staff. As others have mentioned, English is spoken by reception staff, most other staff have a very little English but it will really help you to attempt some school French at least and to make the effort with a few words of Arabic. It's only polite.
- Everyone was lovely to our two little daughters, which made the stay for us.
-The overall look and feel of the place, as mentioned. Our villa was so peaceful. Lovely to hear the sound of birdsong in the morning and to eat outside in the evening (it was *just* warm enough! I think we were a bit unlucky with the weather)
-The shuttle bus into Marrakech was regular and reliable, and the drivers were kind and helpful.
- lovely Mojitos by the pool
- huge bath and powerful shower in the villa
- very sweet family of resort cats, one of whom cannily befriended our children on the first day, earning her regular dinners of tinned mackerel from the hotel shop
- similarly, I loved the finches who lived in the rafters of the restaurant building, swooping down to nick crumbs of cake and pastry from the breakfast bar

NEGATIVES
-We couldn't find the driver for the transfer we had booked from the airport when we arrived. We were all exhausted by then, as it was late in the evening and we had been travelling since 5am. Our daughters were both tearful and overwhelmed and we just wanted to get them to bed. We ended up getting royally fleeced by a taxi driver just outside the airport, who didn't know where the resort was but insisted he did, before driving us to a completely different place further up Route d'Amizmiz. (He did slightly redeem himself by being very amiable and playing lots of James Brown). Eventually we arrived at Adama, only to be told off by the only grumpy staff member we met there - a permanently harassed man whose name I didn't get, but you'll know him when you see him - for not meeting the transfer driver. He was a bit smug about how much we'd ended up having to pay, as if we'd been naughty but had learned our lesson. I'm still not sure what happened with our transfer driver - reception man said he'd been waiting, but we really did search exhaustively for him. It's possible he may have given up and left while we waited ages for one of our bags. Anyway, it was an unfortunate first impression of Adama and its staff.

- once we'd got to the villa we wanted to run a quick bath for the girls before bed, but the plug, one of those ones you turn a knob to operate, didn't work and had to be fixed the next day. Throughout our stay, our fuses kept tripping (mostly when it rained), and one of our door handles fell off.

- If you're staying in the colder months, be warned that the airflow heating in the bedrooms really does make an almighty racket. I had read about this here but thought, how bad can it be? Very bad, is the answer. Imagine trying to sleep next to an outboard motor. Despite the fans we were too cold on the first night, as the bedding comprised one sheet, and one blanket. We asked for more blankets, despite the stated 23 euro charge for extra bedding in the hotel info. We were ready to contest that at check-out: thankfully it never materialised.

-The food at breakfast was just average. Again, it's been said. The variety was fine for me but the pastries were stale more often than not. The moroccan crepes were delicious when freshly made, but hard and chewy otherwise, so try to get them fresh if you can. The coffee and hot chocolate was out of a vending-type machine, and not a very good one. Our room rate included breakfast but if it hadn't, I wouldn't have bothered.

-The other meals we tried - room service pizza on the first night, kebabs by the pool, were just OK.

- Facilities for children could be improved with little effort or expense. I have no problem with the kids' club being shut in low season but a few more garden games of the swingball/jenga variety would have been much appreciated. There is a small paddling pool, ping pong, and table football with no ball.

I think that covers most things. For the money I think I was mostly happy enough with our stay but on balance I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Have just come back from a short break in Morocco staying in the Adama Resort. We arrived in the evening in the pouring rain and were picked up at the airport by the resort mini bus, the driver was very helpful though only spoke a little English.

We were shown to our villa which was charming. We had a reasonable dinner in the restaurant and went to bed. As other contributors have said the bed\mattress was very hard and the whole of our stay my husband slept badly.

Breakfast was poor with rather stale cold cuts of meat and cheese, with a fruit salad that looked like it had been made the day before and bread and pastries(which were actually not too bad.) On our second day we discovered pancakes they were good. On the whole I found breakfast extremely disappointing.

There was a nice fruit bowl in our villa on arrival which was never refreshed while we were staying resulting in some brown apples and bananas, it would have been rather nice to find it looking good every day. The same for the bath essence and shampoo, in most hotels they are always replaced when having been used!

The restaurant and food were not of a high standard and would definitely recommend eating in Marrakech which we resorted to. There is no where to relax whilst having a drink, which maybe in the summer or when its not raining is available to guests.

The staff were all extremely helpful and made our stay enjoyable. To sum up this is a pleasant but not luxurious resort which I would not recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caroline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
244 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This "resort' of about 50 bungalows and villas is located about 7 km away from Marrakech center, on the road to Amizmiz. The transfer from the airport is quick (15 mns) but will cost about 15 euro per person unless you take a taxi.
You will be welcomed by overall very kind people (as very often in Morocco) and at first sight the resort looks great : modern interpretation of classical Moroccan architecture, quiet atmosphere, welcoming pool, spa. The villas are spacious and well equipped... but as hours and days pass some things become annoying : lights in the living room aren't strong enough to read at night, the reading light over my bed had no bulb, in the bathroom there was no towel hanger, nothing to put shampoo and shower gel, the shower itself did not hold to the wall... no hairdryer, you got to ask it from reception. The heating is by airflow only, making it useless at night unless you are used to sleep in the subway... Blankets are made from synthetic fabric...
The restaurant is nice, it is not cheap but acceptable in price and quality. However most customers would take their meals outside. Breakfast is not cheap (13€ per person !), and if you order it in the room (like if you need to have it before 7.30am which is the opening time) you will be served some cheese, juice, yoghurt and bread for the same price !!
There are several free shuttles per day. Another option is the bus (line 45) which will cost you 6 dirham and is available all the time.
In short, yes it is nice and cheaper than other resorts, but you must be aware of some weaknesses. I would certainly not recommend it if you plan to stay there in winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flyingFrenchman29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We were here (2 mums escaping for a rare bit of peace and quiet!) for 5 nights from 13th November 2013 and it was perfect for us. Calm, quiet, lovely treatments and attentive staff. The villas are spacious and beautifully decorated and the gardens and pool a delight. However, it's the staff who make it - Miriam and her team are very friendly and polite, helpful about where to go shopping, eating and drinking and full of good advice. Marrakech is of course bustling, overwhelming at times and it was always heaven to be on our courtesy bus heading back for a cocktail by the pool! Our trip set us up to endure the English winter and we will definitely go back. Cannot rate highly enough!

Room Tip: They all looked good to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buntingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights, actually I am still here on my last day. What a lovely quiet and friendly resort booked via voyage prive

The waiters and staff were all so nice and informative of the area and things to do, and not even having to get up off my chair for a glass of orange juice

Highly recommend

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.5 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#180 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.4 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
Golden Tulip Farah Marrakech
#387 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
Le Vizir Center Park & Resort
#29 of 272 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adama Resort

Property: Adama Resort
Address: Route d'Amizmiz, KM 7,5, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Adama Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Adama is located 10 minutes by shuttle from Jemaa-El-Fna and has a panoramic view of the Atlas mountains. It offers a heated lagoon swimming pool, spa facilities and free Wi-Fi internet access.The traditional Moroccan houses are set in a quiet garden and are fully equipped with flat-screen satellite TV, washing machine, coffee maker and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adama By Residhotel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing