We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best little palace in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Zayane Atlas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Zayane Atlas
Ranked #302 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
walnut creek
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best little palace in Marrakech”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is a charming little Riad, conveniently located not far from the square.
I was taken care of the minute I arrived. I loved my little room, modern bathroom with nice hot water! Brand new drapes, hung that day! It was spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast is taken in a delightful roof top garden with beautiful roses, where travel tales are told and shared with other travellers from many countries.
The owners are extremely helpfull and knowledgeable, they are always on hand.
There is always someone to greet you at the door with a smile no matter what time, the staff are very sweet.
The local artisans outside are very friendly and after four days greeted me like a Marrakechy.
I will return to this Riad on my next visit. I love Marrakech and now feel I have friends I can visit here.

Room Tip: Ask to be given a tour, the rooms are similar and all very well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    45
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
35
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at this Riad for four nights in September 2011 and loved our time here. We were picked up at the airport as arranged and taken to the Riad by the very helpful Mohammed. Our room was beautifully presented, clean and a real Moroccan flavour to the decor. The location is fabulous. Right in the middle of the Medina but like a quiet oasis. Close to the square and the lovely Bahia Palace. Staff could not have been more helpful. Mohammed even offered his laptop to my 6yo daughter so she could watch DVD's. We enjoyed the continental breakfast each morning on the roof terrace. It was always fresh and presented beautifully and we all liked sitting amongst the plants. We highly recommend this Riad and would happily revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Surftots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We booked a triple room at the Riad Zayane Atlas for our three night stay in Marrakech.
It was a bit unclear on travel websites what the difference was between the different triple rooms, but eventually we found out that the rooms were basically the same but different colours.

The location is excellent, it is less than a five minute walk from the central square, but is quiet and relaxing. Although I had no problem walking around the area at night, my sister said she felt a little uneasy, but I think it was just blind fear. The area does seem to be very safe and I don't think there would be a problem. Everyone at the hotel and around the hotel was very friendly.

I recommend you get a hotel transfer from the airport (or where ever you are arriving in Marrakech). Mohammed picked us up from the airport for only 100 Dirhams for the three of us. This is a great deal as even taking public transit would have cost almost the same. Also, it would be near impossible to find the Riad on your own.

The breakfast was good. Basic bread dishes served with honey and other condiments. Somewhat basic but the fresh orange juice was a real treat, they must grow a lot of oranges as there were dozens of stalls in the square selling fresh orange juice. The first morning after we arrived we slept until after 12 noon due to being tired from traveling. We didn't even expect breakfast but when we got up to the roof top terrace they were still waiting to serve us.

Our room was very nice, with clean sheets and nice towels. One morning we were going to leave town early but didn't have an alarm clock. We asked if there was any way we could get woken at 5 AM and one of the staff lent us his cell phone with an alarm set.

The Riad was well kept with an area downstairs to watch TV and relax, and a gorgeous roof top terrace that is half covered if you want to be in the shade, and half open if you want to sun bathe.

Overall the service was excellent, Mohammed went out of his way constantly to make sure every guest was taken care of. The hotel itself is great and in an excellent location. While in the area we did see a few other Riads which we learned were sometimes up to double the price. This Riad is in a great location, you couldn't ask for anything better. And at the price we paid (55 Euro a night for a triple) we couldn't have imagined a better deal.

Just a tip: Don't eat at any of those stalls in the center of the square that all the touts are trying to get you to sit at. They look like a good deal but by the end of the meal you will be paying three times what you thought you were ordering.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolstuff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Just a few minutes from the main square and from the Palais Bahia. Rooms clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. We had a very warm welcome from Larbi & Babette. The rooftop is a pleasure to sit in with plants all round, loungers and a large tent for shade and shelter. There is a real sense of calm despite being so near the hub of things - we slept very well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryandDaveHackney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Lovely riad, fantastic location five minutes walk from the square. Recommend booking a transfer through the riad. Recommend excursion to Ourika valley, we booked this through the riad and I recommend taking a walk to Les Jardins Majorelle in Gueliz.
Rooms where spacious and comfortable.
Continental breakfast was nice, croissants and bread served with fresh orange juice. With this being served on the roof terrace made a good start to the day.
Staff were very friendly and helpful particularly Mohammed who was always happy to help, a very likable man with a very professional manner.

A great experience of Marrakech all round, glad we chose to stay here and intend on returning soon

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitzi_K123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My family and me spent a short period in this Riad. The position is great, 5 min walking to the djemaa el-fna square. The rooms are large and clean. The breakfast is simple but of good quality. The rooms rates are execellent! Strongly suggested if You are looking for a clean location in a great position for a great price

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DibaPaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#218 of 500 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#254 of 500 in Marrakech
227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#137 of 500 in Marrakech
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Zayane
Riad Zayane
#206 of 1,139 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mazaya
Riad Mazaya
#308 of 1,139 in Marrakech
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Imilchil
Riad Imilchil
#64 of 1,139 in Marrakech
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zayane Atlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zayane Atlas

Property: Riad Zayane Atlas
Address: 31 Derb Nakous | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 4000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Zayane Atlas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast in a riad in the heart of the medina of Marrakech opened in June 2009. 8 air conditioned rooms in summer and heated in winter with bathroom and private toilet. Beautiful terrace, patio, Moroccan lounge, small pool opened spring 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Zayane Atlas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Zayane Atlas Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing