We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad la Croix Berbere
Ranked #204 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Best thing about this riad is the location, in the better part of Medina. Rooms are small. It has a lovely rooftop terrace. They serve continental breakfast, but they cook eggs if you ask. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0uple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    76
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
29
105
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

If you expect 5 star then this is not for you. But if you, like the Martin family, want a riad full of character and charm, supported by friendly hospitality of its staff, located in the inner ancient city with it's fascinating history and mystique, as well as within vey close walking distance to the Main Square and its Souks, at a very reasonable rate then do not hesitate but book now. The rooms are small but very clean surrounding a charming inner court yard with a small pool and there is a delightful roof top terrace. All the staff went out of their way to make us very welcome and helped plan our visits including a day trip to the mountains. They organised a delicious feast at our request for our party of 9 on our last night during which Abdul introduced us to Berber music and dancing with great passion. It was a perfect way to finish our 4 day stay. Overall it was excellent value and Well done to the Riad La Croix team for making our first visit to Morocco such fun and so memorable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Great location. The rooms are not huge but certainly comfortable. High points are location and the amazing rooftop terrace. This is one of the best ways to start a day: great breakfast under the sun (or shade if you prefer).

Not far from the place, the personnel is very helpful and gave us very good suggestions in terms of restaurants and even sights outside Morocco.

Would go back if we return to Morocco.

(PS we went in April 2012 but the dropbox for "When did you travel" doesn't go that far)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The riad is close to Jamma el Fna square but impossible to find if you have not been in Marrakesh before. There are no signs pointing to the hotel and it's in a very narrow street in on of the souks. The breakfast was very basic and the mattress was hard. Staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed for 3 nights then left for a 3-day excursion and when we came back we stayed in a different riad which was much better (great breakfast, better location, very clean, and even cheaper).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronzeKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opossum Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Short walk to everything in the Medina including the Fnaa square.
Bit difficult to locate at first but the ever helpful staff came and got me from a very poor Riad that I had spent the previous night in.

There is a difference between run down and charming and this Riad is charming.

Staff are led by the ever smiling and encouraging Abdul are brilliant helpful and supportive. When I couldn't find a certain shop they went with me to find it.

When they recommended a restaurant they made sure I knew where to go, in one case paying a porter to take me there..

Sure there are probably more plush places but I doubt you would get better service in Marakesh at this price.

Meals in house are good with alcohol ( and after a day bargaining you need a drink).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We came to Marrakesh for a belated honeymoon and were initially planning to book an all inclusive hotel out in the Palmerie. We decided that to stay somewhere like that would be like staying 'anywhere' and felt a riad would be more authentic and more of an experience. Also we didn't want to be reliant on a taxi everytime that we wanted to go out.

I had read that the riad was down an alleyway, it certainly was, more like 4-5 alleyways and at first it was daunting. It's actually very easy to navigate and the location is ideal for getting out an about. Whats even better though is the peace inside the riad when you close the door behind you!

All staff were very friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble. As the riad only has 7 rooms you can be guaranteed of a more personal service. We booked on a half board basis thinking that we would still eat out for a few nights but the food was so good that we never did! Lovely tagines and cous cous. We paid for our drinks every evening so that we wouldn't have a final bill at the end (except for the tourist tax) although it wasn't initially made clear that we needed to pay for the mint tea. Even so, the mint tea was so nice that we still ordered it every night!

I think others have commented on the bed - a concrete bed base does make it quite hard but I understand this isn't unusual. You do hear the calls to prayer at 4am ish but I got used to it and sometimes slept through it (I am a very light sleeper). We were very happy with the breakfast, fresh juice, coffee, breads/jams, yoghurts and either crepes/moroccan pancakes/madeira cake which certainly beats cereal at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilytehpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

On arrival at the Riad we were met by Abdou who proved to be very helpfull and informative and has a passion for the history of his culture, Morocco and its people. We arrived late and hungry you have to give notice to eat at the riad however Abdou kindly escorted myself and my freind to the main square to eat, just a five minute walk away. At the time of writing there were 3 security guards and a dog at the entrance to the alleyways adjoining one of the main streets. We were introduced to the guards who were friendly and welcomed us. It was kind and thoughtfull of Abdou to escort us to the main square to eat had he not done this it may have been a bit scary for 2 females alone at night in unfamiliar teritory, after the first evening we found our bearings and went out at night unescorted with no problems. The riad has a list of excursions which they can arrange for you. We made use of a berber guide through the market and islamic school on the first day which was good to get your bearings. We got a taxi from the main square out to other places which was reasonably priced we booked the driver for the afternoon. It was a joint birthday trip for us and a special occasion we stayed up late on our birthday and had red wine in the riad on the rooftop terrace which was a good price about £1.50 we were also given a gift each of a scarf as a present. On leaving we had a problem with our transport being stuck in traffic the lady on reception was very helpfull in calling the taxi firm and providing reassurance.

Room Tip: This is not the sort of place you would spend a long time in your room it is really just for sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
Riad La Croix Berbere De Luxe
#308 of 499 in Marrakech
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#119 of 499 in Marrakech
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#121 of 499 in Marrakech
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#259 of 499 in Marrakech
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#74 of 499 in Marrakech
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#165 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad la Croix Berbere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad la Croix Berbere

Property: Riad la Croix Berbere
Address: 8 Derb Fhal Zefriti Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#117 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#135 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad la Croix Berbere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 minutes de la célèbre place Jemâa-el-Fna et du Minaret de la Koutoubia... N'hésitez à pousser la porte de ce ryad... C'est dans le quartier El ksour (ksour pluriel de ksar qui veut dire palais) que se trouve ce charmant ryad. Son emplacement, vous permettra de profiter de l'ambiance des souks et de l'agitation de la place, mais également de l'attrait du quartier européen de Guéliz (10 mn à pieds) On vous proposera de prendre un verre de thé au bord du bassin, sur la terrasse, ou dans le salon marocain au coin de la cheminée.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad la Croix Berbere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Croix Berbere Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing