We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Ranked #35 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We stayed at this Riad for two nights and unfortunately hadn't time to spend any more otherwise we would have loved to. When we arrived we were welcomed with mint tea and pastries by very friendly staff. The owner is French and charming and very helpful with recommendations for restaurants, etc. Our room was very attractive and comfortable and the bathroom boasted a great shower. The courtyard where we were served breakfast was lovely and the breakfast was simple but delicious. Nothing seems to be too much trouble and we would highly recommend staying here. Hopefully, we will return some day.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo_Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2011

Joelle, Laurent and the team at Riad d'Orangers could not have done more to make our stay any better. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the setting so tranquil and peaceful, but still all within easy access of the madness of the medina. We stayed as part of a group of friends for a birthday celebration. Joelle arranged airport collection for us, a celebratory meal - which was fantastic - the best meal we had in Marrakech, and nothing was too much trouble. Oh - and I mustn't forget the breakfasts - which were excellent too. All we had to do was turn up and enjoy ourselves. Highly recommended and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MedinaPals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

From the first welcome to the last goodbye, our stay was truly excellent. This 'boutique hotel' is a tranquil oasis, tucked away from the main hustle & bustle yet within easy walking distance of the main square.

Elegantly decorated, spotlessly clean & fantastic food as well. Their varied & plentiful breakfast - always beautifully presented - certainly sets you up for a day's exploring. Highly recommend booking your first night's meal - a delicious Morrocan feast that you would be hard pushed to match anywhere in the city.

Joelle, Laurent & their team offer the ultimate in great customer service: where nothing is too much trouble & you are always greeted with a smile.

Thank you for the most wonderfully relaxing and memorable stay. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

A lovely Oasis hidden away at the South of the Medina.
We were glad that we had the owner arrange a taxi to meet us at the Airport and take us to the Riad. That saved some time we would have spent trying to find the Riad.
The Riad was very tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
Lovely sun terrace which we used once the unseasonable rain stopped.
The food was excellent, we wished we had booked to eat in the first night.
The staff could not do too much for us. Given notice they would try and arrange just about anything.
We look forward to returning back when we can.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this elegantly decorated Riad. The owner as well as her staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly, helpful or accomodating. We would stay her again and highly recommend it to others. Highly personalized service and attention that is not found in most places.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlwfcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

First ever review, hope it is informative. The Riad is charming in appearance, with a lovely courtyard in the middle of the building and a decent roof garden. We stayed in the India room, which is on the first floor and appears slightly smaller than the other rooms, but has a balcony/lounge area to compensate. Though technically this is a shared area, looking over the courtyard, it its pretty much private. The room was lovely in décor, has an average size wardrobe and decent size double bed. There is not much space for two suitcases but you can make do. Like most riads it does not have a bathroom door (only a curtain) nor a TV. The shower is decent in size, and works well. There is no Wifi in the Riad, but we did see an internet shop close by. Rooms on the ground floor would be disrupted by noise from the courtyard (where breakfast is served)

The staff are extremely friendly. Breakfast is decent, different every day, and can be served at any time. It includes pastries, yoghurt, juice, fruit (slightly different every day) and the same, but tasty, Moroccan bread products. One is similar to an English pikelets and another is simpler to an Indian paratha. Dinner is available at 30 euros per person, which is very expensive for Marrakesh. Though we did not have dinner at the riad, we did see it being prepared, it did look tasty and like all places in Marrakesh the portions were massive.

The location is in the Kasbah part of the Medina, which is safe and friendly. It is a good 20 minute walk to the Square. This is partly due to the road and pavement being one. It is only 10 minutes away from the tombs and other attractions. The riad is very easy to find, due to its proximity to the main road.

We organised a day trip to the Atlas mountains via the Riad. It was 600 dirams for two people in a private taxi. Though slightly more expensive than other operators that can be found in Marrakesh, it is in a private taxi and you leave at a later time without missing out on anything.

My only gripe with this place is that it does not take any form of cards as payment. This would have been ok if I was informed prior to my booking, but I was not. I only found out by chance on the second day of my four day stay. This meant trips to the ATM which can only be found about 15 minutes away. Also you lose out in currency exchange as the payment has to be in euros which are converted in the local currency, using the Riad's exchange rate, not the actual exchange rate.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Looks-Good-on-Paper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in this beautiful Riad. We were given a warm welcome and guidance on good places to visit both in and around Marrakech. The atmosphere is very calm, everywhere is spotless. The room we stayed in had a very large, firm and comfortable bed, lovely cotton sheets and warm duvet. Plenty clean and luxurious towels. Joelle the proprietor has ensured great attention to detail, using soft and quiet colours, candels, beautiful pots in the courtyard. Separated lounge with music available. Breakfasts are varied, unusual and very substantial. Lots of special sweets, fruits and breads

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishuwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 499 in Marrakech
761 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.7 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 499 in Marrakech
913 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
1,326 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#38 of 499 in Marrakech
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech

Address: 216 Rue Tadla, Derb Chtouka Marrakech-Medina, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £55 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moroccan hospitality is legendary and at Riad les orangers d'alilia you have the opportunity to experience this fine tradition. Riad les orangers d'alilia is a home with lots of atmosphere and a dedicated staff at your disposal.Riad les orangers d'alilia has been entirely restored in accordance with traditional Moroccan materials and architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Orangers d`Alilia Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing