We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place”
Review of Riad Assalam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assalam
Ranked #316 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Everyone at the riad were so very welcoming and friendly, they were there to help with anything you needed. You could arrange to eat your evening meals there but we choose to do our own thing but we knew they were there with anything we needed.

Used the shuttle bus, pick up and drop off, at the airport by just emailing them to arrange it. It was great and made life easy and they had mint tea and a welcome talk about what is best to see and to answer any questions on arrival.

Room was lovely and it was the one I picked when booking through late rooms and was cleaned every morning. Roof terrace was lovely and had umbrellas for shade, this is where we spent a lot of times having a rest in the afternoons as very peaceful up there. The rest of the riad was beautiful and just how I pictured it. Definitely worth the money and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Riad Assalam was our first stop in Marakech (Toureg quarter). We had a great deal through travel republic & even though they can only do breakfast they made arrangements for us to have eve meal inc in price, which was in a nice cafe round the corner with lovely views from the terrace over the square. This place quickly became a favourite to look forward to each night!. Excellent service and fab food.
Riad breakfast was simple but generous and a warm welcome is to be had staying there.
Little tip...keep shutters open during day so it stays cool in your room!! Leave air con off and just keep shutters ajar at night.
* Also they arranged an amazing cooking lesson for us!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed in Riad Assalam for four nights in March 2014.We requested a hotel pickup and Herve was waiting for us patiently as Passport Control was very slow.We were welcomed at the riad with mint tea and given helpful tourist information and a map of Marrakech. We booked Atlas Room which was on the top floor where there was a patio area, and a few steps further up there was a sunny roof terrace giving stunning views of the Badii Palace and the Atlas Mountains. On our first night we made a reservation for dinner and Herve cooked us brochettes on the barbeque which was delicious.The riad also serves morroccan beer and wine.
The location of the riad was our main reason for booking, walking distance to all places of interest. Marrakech is crazy but once inside the riad it is an oasis of calm! Herve and his lovely staff made us most welcome and I would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marymoneychanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

THis riad is away from the Mad Tea Party that is Marrakech--on a quiet pedestrian street. Our hosts were most gracious, greeting us with tea and sweets as we arrived, making sure we were comfortable. We stayed in the Tuareg room, very pretty and just perfect for two.
THe roof terrace is a lovely place to relax with a book --the view is wonderful as the light changes near the end of the day.
Excellent value and completely charming. We would definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devika88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice and comfortable rooms, with different decoration for each one, but... air-conditioning and WiFi are both weak. Only acceptable connection in reception: there are no signal on the rooms or on the terraces, so if you need to check your mail you must go downstairs.

1  Thank EC-IBR
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed at Riad Assalam for over a week and I can whole-heatedly recommend this riad to anyone without hesitation. The staff were friendly, helpful and engaging and the rooms were clean, comfortable and stylish. It was a wonderful place to relax after the bustle of the town and I felt entirely at home there. I will definitely return to Riad Assalam if I ever find myself in Marrakech again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a very good Riad and is in a very good position. The owner and his staff are lovely and will help you if you need it. Value for money is excellent and the roof terrace is well kept and a wonderful addition. Wifi and breakfast could both be stronger.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arseachran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
2,109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.9 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
1.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#268 of 499 in Marrakech
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assalam

Address: 13 Touareg Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #316 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £26 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Assalam 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Riad: Located in the Touareg district, in the medina Marrakech easy access with parking, close to the El Badia Palace, Bahia Palace and Royal Palace, 10 minutes from the famous Jemaa El Fna. Riad Assalam (Riad of Peace) opens its doors for you to share an unforgettable dream. There is a very ancient mansion completely renovated in compliance the Marrakchi tradition. There is an atmosphere of tranquility that contrasts strangely with life hectic Medina. A three-person team is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant family. In this charming 1800s, you will find a patio with pool and fountain to cool off on hot days, a Moroccan living room with fireplace, dining room, bhou (open to the pool room), bar reception, satellite television, kitchen .. Again. Ride a horse in the region of Marrakesh, and quad in the desert Agafay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Assalam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing