We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
249
109
31
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
109
31
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace peace quiet private balcony air con oliver excursions souks transfer driver guidance
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Riad was an oasis of peace in a sometimes frantic Marrakesh. The staff were lovely: helpful and considerate, without being intrusive, and the riad itself seemed very well managed. The rooms were clean and the superior twin room we had was spacious, with a well sized bathroom. There was plenty of room to relax; either in the downstairs "courtyard" or on the roof where there was an opportunity to enjoy the sun and where the views to the mountains and over the rooftops were fantastic, especially when the sun was setting.
Marrakesh itself is not for the faint hearted and neither are the narrow streets and alleyways around the riad, busy with traffic and persistent traders. Young women and solo travellers, in particular, might find getting back to the riad late at night scary at times as it is impossible to get a taxi to the door. However, this is something which may have to be taken into account in many riads in the city and Al Ksar is in a good location for exploring the old city.
One thing I would have likes: fruit at breakfast. Otherwise, really enjoyed five days spent at Al Ksar.

Room Tip: Would recommend superior room for plenty of space.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiegow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The best: sleeping quality is super: great mattress and very quiet neighbourhood.

Very near the centre, we walk to and from most locations from the Riad. Of course being two girls, coming back at night we were just a little be wary when walking back to the Riad since the streets around it are quiet and dark after midnight!

Breakfast is good: tea coffee yogurt and pastry.
Dinner (we ordered cous cous in the morning): good and very quiet, for those days you just don't want to mix with the crowds!
Owners: a bit "too French" :-) but quite nice and helpful.
Abdoul: he welcomed us to the Riad, explained what to do and where to go in Marrakech, plus he is great fun to talk to and very kind!

Terrace: great for relax in the evening (during the day can get quite HOT).

Room Tip: We had a double superior with twin beds. Very comfortable and very large bathroom (room no. 3) first floor (first floor is better since on ground floor there is also the breakfast area).
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Olivier and the team made us so welcome and helped us relax and enjoy our stay. When I was poorly they were very kind.
Food was great and the roof terrace was wonderful with great views of the Atlas Mountains.
We loved Riad Alksar and would thoroughly recommend it.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Riad offered a fantastic, authentic, Moroccan experience. The room was very comfortable, and breakfast either in the indoor courtyard or on the roof terrace, was a wonderful start to the day. The orange juice was amazing! The staff were very helpful - giving advice and suggestions when asked about where to go and how much to expect to pay. Staying in the Mellah made sure we really experienced Marrakech. Talking to fellow passengers on the plane back (who had stayed in hotels) we felt we had had a much better holiday. I would recommend the Riad as Ksar to anyone thinking of holidaying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. Rooms were nice, breakfast was good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful ready to offer any advice needed. Marrakech is an amazing city but can be overwhelming on arrival, dodging donkeys, mopeds, taxis and horse and carts! Al Ksar riad offers a great retreat from it all when needed, whether chilling on the rooftop or eating their great dinners if you want to stay in for the evening. They have strict quiet times between 11pm and 10am guaranteeing a good nights sleep. There is always someone there 24/7 so if you come in in the early hours the staff are always on hand. Didn't try any of the spa treatments so can't comment on them. All in all a great place to stay in the heart of the medina (old town) and thank you for all your help!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews