We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Marrakech”
Review of Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Ranked #276 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The Al Ksar Riad & Spa was our first stay in Morocco. The Riad's location, while very central, is a bit difficult to find. Even the Taxi drivers did have some troubles.
Staff was friendly and very helpful. They did help us booking a rental car as all the cars at the airport were already booked.
The rooms were spacious and the suite where we stayed is just awesome with its private balcony and lounge area.
Breakfast was good and plentiful, however the rest of the menu is not too inspiring and we would recommend to go to any of the nearby restaurants for a wider selection of foods.
All the sights are within walking distance and easily reached. An ATM is nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

The Riad was an oasis of peace in a sometimes frantic Marrakesh. The staff were lovely: helpful and considerate, without being intrusive, and the riad itself seemed very well managed. The rooms were clean and the superior twin room we had was spacious, with a well sized bathroom. There was plenty of room to relax; either in the downstairs "courtyard" or on the roof where there was an opportunity to enjoy the sun and where the views to the mountains and over the rooftops were fantastic, especially when the sun was setting.
Marrakesh itself is not for the faint hearted and neither are the narrow streets and alleyways around the riad, busy with traffic and persistent traders. Young women and solo travellers, in particular, might find getting back to the riad late at night scary at times as it is impossible to get a taxi to the door. However, this is something which may have to be taken into account in many riads in the city and Al Ksar is in a good location for exploring the old city.
One thing I would have likes: fruit at breakfast. Otherwise, really enjoyed five days spent at Al Ksar.

Room Tip: Would recommend superior room for plenty of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggiegow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The best: sleeping quality is super: great mattress and very quiet neighbourhood.

Very near the centre, we walk to and from most locations from the Riad. Of course being two girls, coming back at night we were just a little be wary when walking back to the Riad since the streets around it are quiet and dark after midnight!

Breakfast is good: tea coffee yogurt and pastry.
Dinner (we ordered cous cous in the morning): good and very quiet, for those days you just don't want to mix with the crowds!
Owners: a bit "too French" :-) but quite nice and helpful.
Abdoul: he welcomed us to the Riad, explained what to do and where to go in Marrakech, plus he is great fun to talk to and very kind!

Terrace: great for relax in the evening (during the day can get quite HOT).

Room Tip: We had a double superior with twin beds. Very comfortable and very large bathroom (room no. 3) first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Olivier and the team made us so welcome and helped us relax and enjoy our stay. When I was poorly they were very kind.
Food was great and the roof terrace was wonderful with great views of the Atlas Mountains.
We loved Riad Alksar and would thoroughly recommend it.
Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Riad offered a fantastic, authentic, Moroccan experience. The room was very comfortable, and breakfast either in the indoor courtyard or on the roof terrace, was a wonderful start to the day. The orange juice was amazing! The staff were very helpful - giving advice and suggestions when asked about where to go and how much to expect to pay. Staying in the Mellah made sure we really experienced Marrakech. Talking to fellow passengers on the plane back (who had stayed in hotels) we felt we had had a much better holiday. I would recommend the Riad as Ksar to anyone thinking of holidaying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. Rooms were nice, breakfast was good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful ready to offer any advice needed. Marrakech is an amazing city but can be overwhelming on arrival, dodging donkeys, mopeds, taxis and horse and carts! Al Ksar riad offers a great retreat from it all when needed, whether chilling on the rooftop or eating their great dinners if you want to stay in for the evening. They have strict quiet times between 11pm and 10am guaranteeing a good nights sleep. There is always someone there 24/7 so if you come in in the early hours the staff are always on hand. Didn't try any of the spa treatments so can't comment on them. All in all a great place to stay in the heart of the medina (old town) and thank you for all your help!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This Riad is deep within the Medina but just a ten minute walk to Jeema el Fna square and on the doorstep of the Bahia Palace. A great base to explore Marrakech and the surroundings. The staff are helpful and charming and will help you make the most of the city. Food is good sand the view of the mountains from the terrace is special.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJW_68_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.6 mi away
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Les Borjs de la Kasbah
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#280 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#975 of 1,167 in Marrakech
438 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Lena & SPA
Riad Lena & SPA
#173 of 1,167 in Marrakech
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#108 of 1,167 in Marrakech
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Ksar Riad & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Ksar Riad & Spa

Address: 11 derb Al Aati Allah | Hay Salam - Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Ksar Riad & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Al Ksar & Spa is a Riad of Charm with a pool in the heart of the Medina. This large guesthouse boutique hotel of is designed with traditionnal materials in a style offers numerous hotel services 24/7: Spa on site, Swimming Pool, Restaurant & Bar, Free WiFi, panoramic terrace, Excursions & Car rental with or without driver, airport transfer. At less than 10 minutes walk from the main tourist attractions (Jemaa El Fna, souks, museums), the riad is ideally located to easily get outside by foot or taxi. The Spa is accessible every day from 10h to 20h to enjoy scrubings in the hammam steam bath, massages, esthetic bodycares or refreshing bath. Refined or more contemporary decorative elements of the riad mingle with the classic Arabian architecture of the building in an exotic & chic style, offering a peaceful and relax atmosphere. The patio, heated in winter, the lounge with library or the terrace with lounge, bar and solarium and stunning view over the medina of marrakesh, the koutoubia mosque and the snowcapped atlas mountains, are accessible at all time. Junior suites, single, twin double and superior double bedrooms are all equipped with luxury comfortable beds, soundproofing doors, quality bed and bath cotton linens, ensuite bathroom, air conditioned, floor heating. The team of 8 people, friendly and efficient, will make the most of your stay in Marrakech in a holiday home atmosphere and will ensure that your experience at Al Ksar Spa & Riad Marrakech will remain unforgettable. Welcome at Riad Al Ksar & Spa, charming riad in the heart of the Medina of Marrakech ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Ksar Riad & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ksar Riad Hotel Marrakech
Al Ksar Riad And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing