We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manzil la Tortue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manzil la Tortue
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Revisited”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Since our last visit to Marrakech we have travelled extensively in Morocco but we decided it was time to treat ourselves and return to Manzil la Tortue. Treat ourselves we did! We stayed in a hotel room on full board, food was superb-breakfast set you up for the day! We slept in surroundings that reminded us of many of the places we had visited. Fossils on the walls, fossils in the marble work surfaces, reed ceilings, polished plastered walls and amazing brick domes. Our room had all of the modern conveniences including a very comfortable bed! It could have been a real mish mash of Moroccan and European but it was a wonderful blending of the two. This is a place to totally relax and know all your needs would be catered for with a smile.For the novices to Morocco this is a must as you receive guidance on all aspects and are able to really relax and enjoy this wonderful country. Andre organised a 6 day trip to the desert in a 4x4 staying at a variety of Auberges and visiting many places of interest.
I had to leave at short notice as my aged mother was taken into hospital and I was advised to return as soon as possible. Pascale organised flights and Andre made sure I got to the airport on time. I had to leave my wife behind, she was well looked after by Adre,Pascale and their 3 children and was welcomed as an extended family member. Good service- human kindness or both?

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wally_ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManzilTortue, Propriétaire at Manzil la Tortue, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
In the name of Pascale, my wife, and myself, we would like to warmly thank you for your comment. We would like also to thank you for your kindness and friendship. We have been very pleased to spend those days with you and to offer you another way of discovering Morocco. Doing such a project is in our spirit a way of sharing moment of true friendship with our guest.
We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    47
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
96
106
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bir Jdid, El Jadida, Morocco
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Having driven down the very bumpy track for 2km we came to the gates of the "campsite". We were welcomed by both Andre and Pascal, with mint tea of course, and then spent the most enjoyable month there. I'm not sure that campsite best describes this little piece of heaven!!! There is also a hotel and nomadic tents available, so there is a constant change of company. The service is excellent, as is the restaurant ,a swimming pool to die for, a hammam a couple of times a week, and a taxi service into Marrakesh on demand.This is no ordinary place, there are many developments already started and I just cant wait to go back to see how they are progressing

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craggscrazycaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We were there in september. This place was absolutely stunning and the service was the best we have had anywhere. There were no glitches - everything was perfect all the time. The staff are all so genuinely charming and relaxed yet completely professional and attentive. You are made to feel very welcome indeed.
We will be back!!!!
Manu D

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed 8 weeks because the service was excellent--breakfast delivered to your motorhome door, washing collected and returned, taxi service on request and car hire available. Superb restaurant serving local and international cuisine with wide variety of wines;chef willing to share skills and expertise of local dishes. 40 metre swimming pool, massages on request and hamman, jacuzzi available soon,all set in a beautiful and restful environment--one should not be put off by the immediate surroundings as the nearby local village does not give a good first impression to the novice new to Morocco. However you will soon warm to its' friendly people.
Rooms and tents are tasteful using local materials in traditional style. Furnishings and decoration again reflect Moroccan culture.
A warm welcome awaits you from the owners who are multi lingual and will go out of their way to make your stay special with organised trips to places of interest, activities arranged and accompanied trips to the desert can be pre-arranged.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wally_ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
6.8 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
10.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.9 mi away
Equity Point Marrakech Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manzil la Tortue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manzil la Tortue

Property: Manzil la Tortue
Address: Km 12, Douar Gzoula, Ouarzazate Road | Commune Al Ouidane, Marrakech 40002, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 272 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manzil la Tortue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 12 km away from Marrakech in 2 hectares of lush greenery, the Manzil La Tortue Guesthouse combines authenticity with modern comfort, relaxed countryside lifestyle with friendly service and true intimacy with a stunning view on the High Atlas mountains. Fouad and his team will greet you with typical Moroccan warmth and do their utmost to make your stay an unforgettable moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manzil la Tortue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing