We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cooking Classes”
Review of Riad Anabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Anabel
Ranked #16 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2011

My friend and I participated in a 4-hour cooking class with Habiba, who runs the riad. She took us to the market where the locals go, which was quite the experience, then we joined her in the kitchen for an extraordinary culinary experience! We learned to make three different types of moroccan salads, tangine, and a yummy desert. Spending time with the ladies provided an "authentic" moroccan experience in a welcoming and homey atmosphere. It was a breath of fresh air after several days meddling with salesmen in the souks of the medina, and I would recommend it to everyone- the cuisine, by the way, was beyond fabulous.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabedda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2011

From the moment we arrived in Marrakech our needs were taken care of by Habiba and her lovely staff. A taxi from the airport was ready and waiting; help to transport our luggage and guide us through the winding streeets at night co-ordinated perfectly; before we knew it we were in our candle-lit traditional riad where a delicious moroccan meal was waiting. Breakfasts were excellent- warm breads, freshly cooked eggs, cheese, jams, juice, coffee and tea - all served on the sunny roof terrace. The riad is only five minutes from the excitement of the main square yet the distant Atlas mountains are visible from the terrace. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Riad with a beautiful meal prepared specially by Habiba. Rooms are very comfortable with many traditional Moroccan features- both architectural and decorative. A highlight of our stay was the cookery lesson given by Habiba to a group of 6 of us- we learned how to prepare three authentic starters, two tagines and a desert before enjoying the meal under the stars. We were given lots of helpful advice about where to visit so that we could make the most of our time; we can recommend a caleche trip to the Jardins Majorelle, visits to the two Palaces and the Saadian Tombs, nightime on the main square, an afternoon in a spa/hammam (we loved Les Bains de Marrakech), and a grand taxi tour into the mountains.
In short, Riad Anabel is in a great location and offers great service at a fair price. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabella61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2011

im kinda at a loss as to why this place gets 5 star reviews from everyone?
ok so its clean and its mostly friendly but is that enough?
we arrived at night in the dark and were dropped off by the driver they had arranged to pick us up at the airport.. they drop you off on a busy rd close to the riad,
a guy with a cart is waiting for you to take you the 3 min walk to the riad.. those 3 mins are thro alleyways etc the guy says nothing until we are outside the riad in a very dark alleyway .. he looks at me at rubs his fingers so i tell my gf to give him his tip (she had the only dirhims we had got qickly at the airport) that we had read was customery and soon learned expected from everyone.. she gave him the coins we had.. 10 dirhims and he said no its 20! 20 20 20 20 he kept saying over and over we said we gave you ten he keeps saying 20 20 20 in a loud verging on aggresive way so my gf eventually had to get on her knees in the dark and rummage thro her bag to find her purse with him standing over her until she could locate a 20 .. he grabs this and also keeps the 10 in change we had already given him.. not the start you want when you are tired and new to a city ! (just wanted to add here that we didnt have any bags for this guy to carry in his cart only the one bag each we carried on the plane so all he did was show us the way from the rd to the riad not sure that deserves a 2 pound odd tip? )
welcome to riad anabel
inside is nice enough our room was the rose suite and it was very small enclosed claustrophobic feeling
plastic shower head in the room was faulty and leaked sprayed everywhere..????
bed was clean and comfortable enough ,, very quiet place..
roof terrace looks better in the pictures
i think it was habbiba who gave us directions to the djena el fna which is a 5 min walk and recommended a place to eat which was great food and great value at only 30 dirhims for a tangine so thanks for that...
breakfast consists of a few local pancakes and 1 egg each (make sure you ask for the eggs as they dont offer) and some jams etc the food they brought wasnt enough for 1 really never mind 2 people? some people on here raved about the food i just didnt get that at all? a few more pancakes would cost them nothing to offer.. the service was so slow and we just didnt feel at ease to ask for more food and felt that it should have been offered? so found ourselves buying food in the st soon after breakfast.. and no im not a massivly huge eater normally,, just normal and whilst on holiday and in a hotel enviroment in a city like that too,,, you expect to be full up on finishing breakfast so you can leave happy ready for exploring... staff need to be trained better..
as i said it is a nice enough place but for the price and having read the amazing reviews posted on here i felt dissapointed. it didnt stand out and if you can afford it stay somehwere a little more upmarket . if i went back id try somewhere new..

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinghaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Riad Anabel is most of all a paradise in the heart of Medina. Good location (5min walking from Jemma El Fna), Clean, awesome staff and a good breakfast. Definitely a good choice to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lula_diz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

We have just returned from 5 wonderful days in Marrakech. We have not seen any sign of political instability. Everything was quiet and safe and we very much enjoyed the oriental atmosphere in the Medina. We stayed at the Riad Anabel which is a very nicely renovated and decorated place where you feel at home immediately. If you are looking for a place with a great athmosphere, run by very friendly ladies, which is not at the low end of the price range, this is a place to go.

Thank sunshineZ_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I've just come back from Marrakech and I already miss Riad Anabel and Habiba.
I'm going to repeat briefly what it has already been said about this Riad and add maybe something new. It's spotless clean, elegant yet traditional, convenient location (if you turn right on the main road, coming from the riad, after 5 min walk there's Jemma El Fna; if you turn left instead, 2 min walk there's a small square with taxis: for 20 dirham/2 euro you can go anywhere in Marrakech, with 50-80 dirham to the airport (but you have to bargain hard). I suggest you to arrange a pick up service with the hotel when you arrive, if you don't know your way around). All rooms have very confortable beds and a beautiful moroccan style bathroom (some with shower, some with tub). Habiba will fulfill all your needs, and more... (I brought some mint plants at home with me that she found for me). We had a wonderful dinner cooked by her, I regret we didn't have more, but unfortunately there was not enough time, we wanted to try different places. But believe me, Habiba's dinner was the best of all. The Riad is just off a main road, in a very clean alley, perfectly safe area, and speaking of safety, I have to spend some words about it. Lately we have heard the news about riots in north Africa, assuming that in Morocco there is the same situation as in Libia and Tunisia..., more or less... WELL, IT'S NOT!!! Morocco has nothing to do with what is going on in North Africa. DON'T BE PUT OFF BY THE NEWS: it's safe to go to Marrakech, nothing is going on: there has been a regular manifestation in february, like we have hundreds in Europe all the time, and that was it. So, don't worry and just go to Marrakech: you'll enjoy it! Just to be sure, you can check your government web site about going abroad to risky countries (in Italy, you can check http://www.viaggiaresicuri.it/?marocco ), and you'll see that is perfectly safe. Back to the Riad, now. I really think it's the best you can find considering all factors: service, rooms, location, price. I highly reccomend it. I'll definetly go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuscol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Our trip to Marrakech would not have been so memorable without our stay in Riad Anabel with Habiba. She looked after us so well from the first moment, showing us around her riad with great pride and enthusiasm, and telling us all her tips and advice. Our cooking class with her was just brilliant - using all her local knowledge and anecdotes - and then allowing us the privacy to soak up a very romantic and special meal (which was the best food we had in all of Morocco). She went out of her way to find us spices and even gave us a wonderful gift at the end of our stay. Quite simply - it couldn't have been better, and the smiley, friendly staff made it difficult to want to leave. Col & Ansa (NZ)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Andalla Riad & Spa
Andalla Riad & Spa
#2 of 1,172 in Marrakech
171 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#15 of 1,172 in Marrakech
584 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,172 in Marrakech
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anabel

Address: 8 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitounne Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £60 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anabel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Anabel is a beautiful guest house - B&B in the old and traditional Medina of Marrakech. Habiba will welcome you in a real familial and friendly way. Defintely helpful, she will provide services as cookery classes...etc...served with a fluent English, French and Arabic...Welcome to your home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Anabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anabel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing