We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic riad, highly recommended”
Review of Riad Anabel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Anabel
Ranked #19 of 1,165 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2010

We spent our honeymoon in this beautiful riad.
The setting is perfect to explore Marrakech, so quiet and yet just minutes from the busy medina streets
Our room(s) were beautiful, with lovely firm, huge beds, and lots of personal touches
Not only the actual place is fantastic, Habiba is also a great host, she helped us in all possible ways and her cooking is just exquisite. We watched her made a tagine and we wrote the recipe down, sooo good
Everything is to high standards and you feel so welcome and at ease
We want to go back and we highly recommend this riad

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

I stayed in both the Riad Anabel & Riad Diana which are located very close to each other and I have to say I much prefered the Anabel. The manager of the Anabel couldnt do enough for you, breakfast was served when ever we wanted, and she was helpful when we had questions. The beds & bedding were very comfortable and substantial, important in January. The roof terrace where we had breakfast was wonderfully sunny and had lots of plants growing up trellises, a tranquil escape from the streets of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StewartTarifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

This Riad is beautifully restored. With only 5 (?) rooms, you are welcomed and made to feel right at home. The rooms are traditional, yet fully equipped and elegant interiors. There's a lovely reception room for meals or relaxing and also a sun drenched rooftop with lounge beds for some downtime. Habiba and her staff ensure that you are well fed with delicious breakfasts and also offer traditional Moroccan home cooking for supper. Try out Habiba's Moroccan Cooking classes to learn all her secrets.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2010

Habiba and her team give a warm, generous, good-humoured reception. The riad is beautiful, serene, comfortable, with homely log fires, a sunlit roof terrace, wonderful Moroccan decor, fresh flowers, and delicious food.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2009

This Riad, newly converted from a private home, is fairly simple to describe- it is authentically moroccon, relaxing and quite simply a beautiful abode.

Habiba runs the Riad, she is a very warm and welcoming face; she knows the answer to pretty much any question you can throw at her. She advised us on where was good to eat, what to watch out for, both in terms of sights, but also any dangers or annoyances, but above all she was always around if you needed anything. I was very impressed with her dedication and friendliness.

In terms of the Riad itself, it is a 5 minute walk from the main square (the real hub of Marrakech). This makes it incredibly central and a great base to explore from. However it still maintains the tranquility of a retreat, the courtyard of the riad is decorated in stone mosaic, intricately painted wood panel doors and moroccan arches. The furniture, lighting, bedroom design (everything!) is complementary to the peaceful surroundings. We visited a few other Riad's and they were overly ostentatious and 'busy', Riad Anabel is authentic without be fussy or tacky.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace every morning, giving you a view of the city's rooftops. Breakfast is good, the fig jam and boiled eggs with a variety of breads being a particular highlight.

The room we stayed in was basically a mini apartment, it had a huge king size bed, a seating area with table, and a bathroom worthy of a sultans praise- we even had a golden sink!

In summary, the Riad made our trip, having a nice place to come back to after a day of frenetic shopping and sightseeing cannot be underestimated. I have stayed in some very nice and expensive places, but this Riad had a unique and personable quality to it that i have not come across before. It was sublime, and was only made better by the smile and helpfulness of Habiba.

Thoroughly recommended, for the price you shan't find much better.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloud-and-river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We had a fantastic experience in the Riad Anabel. We decided to join a cooking class held by Errajai, the Moroccan woman who manages the Riad. We spent with her half a day going together at the market and cooking special moroccan dishes. At the end we eat all we had cooked in the marvellous atmosphere of the Riad. The Riad is a very lovely place and an oasis of calm in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech (5 min walk to el Fna place). Errajai and her staff gave a lot of attentions to all the particulars that we found in the Riad and we are sure that a time off here is an authentic experience of 1001 nights.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girasoleverona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed at Riad Anabel for just under two weeks and I really enjoyed it, thanks mainly to the wonderful staff (especially the manager, Habeeba) The riad is a bit hard to find at first but it is actually very centrally located in the old medina. Just go along Riad Zitoun al Kdim and then turn into derb jdid. It is about 5-10 minutes walk to the main square (djemaa el fna). It is very beautiful inside. I stayed in 3 of the 4 different rooms during my stay. You may prefer the upstairs rooms for better privacy. Staying in a riad is different from staying in a hotel as the whole building is designed for a family and so it is more intimate and not as quiet as a hotel. It feels quite secure as no one can get into the riad unless they are let in by the staff. It is very beautifully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. I enjoyed relaxing on the roof.

There is free wifi. The breakfasts provided were generous and tasty. Habeeba is an expert cook and is also able to provide lunch and dinner if you arrange this. She also offers cooking classes in the riad. There is a small swimming pool with jacuzzi in the courtyard (but I never used this) as well as satellite tv in the sitting room.

Habeeba was very helpful in providing advice and assistance according to my needs. I would pick this riad again, especially because of Habeeba.

Although I liked this riad, I would have preferred to stay at a place where alcohol is NOT served. I would upgrade my rating if this change were made.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roqureshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 501 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,266 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#11 of 1,165 in Marrakech
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,165 in Marrakech
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#17 of 1,165 in Marrakech
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#3 of 1,165 in Marrakech
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Anabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Anabel

Address: 8 Derb Jdid | Riad Zitounne Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,165 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Anabel 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Anabel is a beautiful guest house - B&B in the old and traditional Medina of Marrakech. Habiba will welcome you in a real familial and friendly way. Defintely helpful, she will provide services as cookery classes...etc...served with a fluent English, French and Arabic...Welcome to your home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Anabel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Anabel Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing