We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experiences at Riad Bab Agnaou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Bab Agnaou & SPA
Ranked #576 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Rooms are smaller than pictured. First night cockroach in room. Bathroom shower arm didn't work. Shower flooded. Second night light in bathroom flickered. Third night slept with the smell of sewerage all night. Checked out next morning. Promised wifi - non existant. Staff excellent but spoke no English. To get to Riad, had to walk past the smelly fish markets. Would not recommend.

Room Tip: Try Riad Awa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

Nine of us had a short break at Riad Baba Agnou (our second visit) The accomodation is spotlessly clean and the decoration delightful. there is heating in all the bedrooms but we didn't need it. We loved the colour themed bed rooms. Breakfasts were yummy with fresh orange juice, crepes, pain au chocolate and fresh bread, local honey etc. Unlimited good coffee. the roof terrace is wonderful for sun bathing or watching the sunset with a drink in hand!
We ordered a meal in advance the first night and it was one of the best we ate...as good as Al Fassia but much cheaper! wonderful vegetable salads and starters and then a huge tagine and fruit. The proprietor kindly procured wine at a reasonable price and was unfailingly helpful. He also ordered cars to return us to the airport for 15 euros...worth it to have transport that arrived bang on time. We would throughly recommend for the location, the value for money and the pleasant and helpful staff

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizo2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

clean and friendly service. close to jemaa el fna about 10 minute walk! breakfast is good and available when you wake up. i cannot fault the service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoyoyoyo1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2010

there is no where better in marrakesh than being in the heart of the magical city. the riad is situated in the heart of the medina which makes you think of the traditional lifestyle of northafrican people and push you through the exotic narrow alleys. people are friendly and the atmosphere is full of life. when we get to the airport they picked us up and envited as for a delicious moroccan cup of tea which we needed to help us taste the moroccan hospitality and generosity. the rooms are well made to give you the impression that you are well in the heart of the old centuries. my girlfriend and i did not stop talking about the details of the decoration each time we get into our room. i was worried to read in some reviews that some guests posted on this page that they had a bad experience in the same place i am intending to take my girlfriend to for the first time. i have never been to morocco before and i was realy concerned when i first read the review. fortunately, i tried to be positive and took the risk. to my surprise, everything was just perfect. we had what we were looking for and more. however, i undestood that moroccan people are so generous and friendly when they get the same back. as an example, we tipped the taxi driver after coming back from a trip to the valley of ourika. the following morning, the driver took us for our next trip to the place of jamaa al fna and paid for the breakfast without our permission. he said that the money doesn't count when you are in good company. i am so surprised to see some people posting things that may put others off their holidays to such an exotic spaces and friendly environments. i had a an excellent time in marrakesh and i have been very happy to choose the same place that some people found difficult to be in. i will for sure go back to the same riad and i must recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamThemeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

How to sumarize such a wonderful experience?

They picked us (a group of 6 Barcelonians) up at the airport, brought us to the Riad where they offered us tea. They showed us their beautifully decorated rooms and we immediately felt comfortable. The wonderful views from the terrace gave us the first hint about the beauty of Marrakech; Nice, efficient and ever-willing-to-help Hasid helped us hire a 4 x 4 which took us to the Sahara. The rooms were always clean and ready when we got back from our daily trips. Also nice was the reading corner; with a well-equiped library. The dining room where we had breakfast every morning was spacious and cozy. If they offer you a traditional dinner; do not hesitate to accept. We seriously considered taking the cook with us back to Barcelona! Hasid will always do his best to find what you need ( in our case he got us excellent Moroccan red wine ). He also helped us find a place to rent scooter which we used to experience the heavy traffic of Marrakech and get to know the sorroundings of the city:

In sum, a cozy; welcoming and beautiful place: Certainly a riad to recommend!

Roger

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgecluny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lindsay g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Angel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
2,087 reviews
4.5 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.4 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 502 in Marrakech
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bab Agnaou & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bab Agnaou & SPA

Address: 89, Derb Ettabal Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £45 - £56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Bab Agnaou & SPA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the medina of Marrakesh, Riad Bab Agnaou proposes a spa bath, a terrace and a traditional Moroccan lounge(show). The place( Jamaâ El Fna is in 10 minutes walk. Decorated in a traditional Moroccan style, all the roomshave the air conditioning, the heating and the privative bathroom with shower. A traditional breakfast is served every morning. On request, you can also savour local specialities in the corner meal. The establishment also proposes the organization of excursions, transfers and visits and has a patio with fountain and a free Wi-Fi connection. The mosque of Koutoubia is in 10 minutes on foot, whereas the airport Menara of Marrakesh is ideally situated in 5 km of the riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Bab Agnaou & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing