We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice people”
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
Ranked #369 of 1,159 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

They say 'the people make the place' and this is very true here. Adil, Badr and the friendly lady in the kitchen were extremely helpful throughout. From coming out to find you if you get lost to hooking us up with some really good spa's, guides and directions. All of which served up with warmth, courtesy and excellent food.

Top tips for future guests:

1. Get the Riad to book a cab from the Airport for you, the Riad is behind an anonymous looking door down a small side street so a taxi driver who knows where it is is a good idea unless you are map savvy. Plus they use a nice cab firm who are no more expensive than any other.

2. Dine in at least once, the home cooked food is first rate.

3. Brush up on your French, it's nice to say thankyou properly for all the nice service you will receive.

4. Marrakech can be noisy at night, if you are light sleeper let them know and they can squirrel you away to the inner most corner of the Riad.

5. If you're travelling in the winter/spring wrap up, the rooms are heated but Riad's are designed to stay cool so the courtyard can get chilly until the sun is high in the sky. Much nicer to have breakfast by the fountain and the citrus trees than inside.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
There are newer reviews for Riad Cannelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at Riad Cannelle for a few days recently on our first trip to Marrakech. Badr and Adil were really helpful, walking with us to help us to find the way to the souks the first time, and advising us of places to visit. We didn't eat any meals apart from breakfast there, but breakfast was very good with bread, pancakes, cake, fresh orange juice and coffee. The area felt safe and we regularly walked to and from the souks/ main square and got used to finding the riad as it is a little difficult to find the first time! It's close to a lot of places to eat and shop, so is a great location but as soon as you enter the riad, the business of Marrakech fades away and you're just surrounded by a beautiful calm environment.
We would recommend this riad to anyone, it's definitely better than staying in an anonymous hotel and we really appreciated the personal attention from the managers.

Room Tip: We stayed in the double room which was quite small but there are so many other places to sit (the co...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB_7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

An effortless booking, an organised airport transfer, a wonderful greeting, a beautiful Riad and fantastic staff. We stayed for 3 nights in a beautiful room just off the courtyard and were spoiled to bits by Adil and Bada. The Courtyard is beautiful, the roof terrace is a great private sun-trap and it is spotless and impeccably well maintained. I cant recommend this Riad enough, we will certainly be going back! Thank you guys for making our stay in Marrakech a safe and wonderful one!

Room Tip: The Riad is set back from the main road so all rooms are very peaceful
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Have just returned from a few days in Marrakech - our first visit there. Riad Cannelle was a great choice! Adil and Badr arranged a taxi from the airport which was perfect as we may not have found this riad very easily! The welcome from Adil and Badr was warm, friendly and unobtrusive - perfect hosts! They are happy to give as much, or as little, information and guidance as needed. The Riad itself is clean and calm and has a great roof terrace as well as a comfortable courtyard (with blankets) for those chillier evenings. Great location for Souks. Go with confidence!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHANTISEEKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Can confirm all the positive comments others have made. A really nice Riad with great staff. An oasis of calm. We arranged them to pick us up from the airport, no cheaper than taxis but much more stress free. We also had a meal ready for us on our first night - best food we had in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnaby308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

An excellent place to stay, very helpful staff who couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely food, some of the best we experienced in Morocco. Go on the trip to the Berber villages in the mountains and visit the waterfalls- a peaceful break from the madness of Marrakesh!

Room Tip: The standard double room is OK for one person, or for a couple for just one night, but a bit samll f...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Don't be put off by first impressions of the front door from the side street - once inside it is a beatiful Riad opening up to a large and decorative courtyard - staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Highly recommend to have a meal at the Riad - lovely dining area with open fire and excellent personal service. The inclusive breakfasts were also very nice.
The room was very nice with authentic Morrocan decor which really made us feel we'd arrived!
The staff were on hand 24hrs a day and always willing to help with arranging any excursions, and recommending any attractions worth seeing.
The Riad is in a very good central location only 10 minutes from the market square, and the walk in through the local back alleys was always full of interest and local culture!
Recommend to take the transfer from the airport to the Riad on arrival which can be pre-arranged - it's cheap and will save alot of hassle!
All in all highly recommended and would definitely return if re-visiting.

Room Tip: Choose a suite which are excellent value.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#276 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Le Rubis
Riad Le Rubis
#346 of 1,159 in Marrakech
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Meryem
Dar Meryem
#648 of 1,159 in Marrakech
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Aubrac
Riad Aubrac
#206 of 1,159 in Marrakech
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mille et une Nuits
Riad Mille et une Nuits
#599 of 1,159 in Marrakech
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#297 of 1,159 in Marrakech
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Address: 10 Derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 1,159 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £43 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing