We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis in buzzing Marrakesh” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Cannelle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Cannelle
Ranked #298 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An oasis in buzzing Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Riad Cannelle is a true oasis. Its peace and quiet contrasts the buzzing Marrakech. We stayed two nights. Enjoyed every moment in these lovely surroundings. The staff was extremely helpful and professional.
A piece of advice: the Riad very well situated However, it is a pain to find. Maps of the medina are in general poor. Google Maps is notorious unreliable. Booking a transfer from the airport is highly recommended. This said. Once you are there, the Riad is easy to find again. We appreciated its safe and authentic neighbourhood.
The overall quality of the facilities and food is excellent. The breakfast was freshly prepared and delicious. Our last evening we had dinner at the Riad. It was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    32
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
84
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Great riad
Real value for money
Good location
We stayd here for 7 nights
This riad is in the heart of the local community. We got to experience the real morrocan culture. The locals were great. The atmosphere was electric. Its about a 10 min walk to the square. We were really overcome with the hospitality we recieved from badr and adil. These guys really lookd after us. Very polite and well mannered. Dont be put of by the alley way that leads to the riad coz once u open the door to the riad,its a different world in there. Overall very very happy with the service breakfast rooftop terrace and much much more. Will defo recommend this riad to all. Thanks you adil and badr.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Junaid P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay in an amazing riad with amazing hosts, very close to shops and jemaa el fna, very helpful staff, easy to find ur way once your there, very good wifi. Overall a very nice, clean, luxorious riad, recommend to anyone.. Very peaceful and a nice terrace

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JV H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Very nice Riad in buzzing Marrakech. Please book the airport transfer from the airport to the hotel (15 euro) as you will NEVER find the Riad on your own. The streets are a maze and even google maps hasn't got all streets mapped.
We had the ground floor room, which had no windows and was a bit damp from time to time. Nevertheless, a great room for the price and nice and clean. The staff was extremely helpfull, they gave us advise and were willing to help us all the time. They made you feel very welcome and relaxed. A+! We appreciated this very much, because Marrakech is very busy and as a tourist everybody wants a piece of you (your wallet actually) Breakfast was simple but homecooked and lovely to start the day with.
We had a great time at the Riad and would definaltely recommed it to everyone! Marrakech itself wasn't exactly for us but the Riad was lovely!

Room Tip: The room on the ground floor has no windows and can be a bit damp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Freekos79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for four nights when we visited Marrakech in December. The staff were really helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and just off the courtyard where we were given a really generous breakfast every morning. The staff play relaxing music all day, and there is a beautiful rooftop terrace which is a great spot for reading and sun bathing.
The only thing I would say is that the room was a bit cold and on one of the nights there was a lot of noise which went on all night.
Also, one of the staff kindly gave us a restaurant recommendation (which included a free guide to bring us to the restaurant). While the restaurant was really lovely- belly dancers, candlelight, delicious Moroccan food- be warned that it was quite pricey, which we only discovered when we were seated!

All in all, this Riad was a really great deal and I would definitely recommend it to anyone traveling through Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabulonga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We chose Riad Cannelle partly because of its location (actually shown incorrectly by the normally excellent booking.com) but mainly because of the consistently excellent reviews. The location is just north of the Souks but still a very good location. Our room (Saadienne Suite) was simple but comfortable and convenient. The bed was firm. There was an in-room safe and a hair dryer. There was also a fridge - but they asked you not to put your own things in it. The bathrooms were very clean and we were pleasantly surprised that there was not the 'normal' hot country smell of drains.

Breakfast was a little monotonous. Wonderful fresh orange juice, tea and coffee, jams and bread, two fried pancakes or Moroccan "waffles", and a piece of cake.

We decided to pay for the airport transfer. At 20 euros we knew it was more than a normal taxi would cost - but given the uncertainty in the exact location and the fact that we were arriving after sunset we decided to take it. That was a good decision as I suspect most raids are a little hard to find the first time. The transport was supposed to be a private transport. The driver actually took two other couples at 15 euros each. That didn't worry us though.

We also decided to take the meal in the Riad the first evening as we were arriving after 8pm. Others have commented that the meal was delicious. Ours was very disappointing. The tagine lacked flavour. It was probably the worst (and most expensive) meal we had all week. We were also asked to choose ahead of time and were asked to both choose exactly the same menu.

The Riad staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. There don't seem to be any spiders in Marrakech! We didn't see many insects either.

The Riad is a lovely calm oasis in the medina. We used the roof terrace a little. (There was no "Tent" up there as in the photos when we were there.)

Marrakech is a great city and we spent three days on day cycle tours with Argan Extreme Sports (AXS) who we'd thoroughly recommend.

I suspect that many of the Riads and their staff are very good. Apart from the food we would rate this one as very good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We arranged an airport transfer, which was a good idea as we would never have found the Riad otherwise, as it is very well hidden. As soon as we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and immediately fell in love with the morrocan tea. I agree with all the other reviewers, this Riad is relaxing, calm and quiet. It is located just outside the Souks, a great location for us. We only ate at the Riad once, but that was the best food we ate all holiday. The room was clean, traditional and comfortable. We could not have been better looked after.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBunny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#265 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Habib
Riad Habib
#47 of 276 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Papillon
Riad Papillon
#21 of 276 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#290 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad du Petit Prince
Riad du Petit Prince
#284 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Manissa
Riad Manissa
#510 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Cannelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Cannelle

Property: Riad Cannelle
Address: 10 Derd Sidi Ben Said N10, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Cannelle 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Cannelle has been developpped out an old property in the Medina of Marrakech.After 4 years of refurbishing, completed in 2007, we've been able to offer a compromize between ancient traditional and classical style, and modern amenities.The development of the riad was designed to offer large private space to our customers, combined with delicate and fine decoration.The intimate and dedicated quality of services offered to our customers, will make their stay an unforgettable event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Cannelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Cannelle Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing