We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stumbled across a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Tizgui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tizgui
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stumbled across a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Not knowing anything about Marrakech, we had booked into a hotel in the New Town. This was miles from the Medina and a bad choice, so we set about looking for a Riad.

Tizgui was the first one we stumbled across and we benchmarked it to others, but it stood out for the personal warmth of welcome from Bruno and its tranquillity. And it was at the bottom end of prices too.

Bruno and Mohammed helped us navigate the crazy world of the Marrakech Medina and provided us with welcome mint tea on our returns. We highly recommend it.

The only things to point out are that the showers are temperamental and noise does carry in the riad, but don't let that put you off. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
43
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thalwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We staid at the Riad tizgui for 2 nights and had a very friendly welcome and good advice on the city by Francelyse the owner!
The lounge/central area are very cosy and our room was very clean.
The Riad is centrally located, 5mins walk from the central square and a very good base to visit the city.
Breakfast on the rooftop terrace is great and we had a very nice dinner prepared by the Riad's cook Miriam, accompanied by a local musician!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benja_Switz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

We would like to recommend this Riad without hesitation. It is very clean and well presented.
It is in the heart of the Medina with minutes walk to all the major sites. The owners are always available to share their knowledge of the city and give you precious advices. Bruno, Francelyse and Mohammed are the soul of this place and will make your holiday unforgivable. It is a great value - not to be missed. Thank you for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Beatifully appointed and well finished Riad. A warm and friendly welcome from Bruno & Francelyse (the French Owners) who answered every one of our questions as if it had never been asked before! Mohammed and Miriam (the fantastic team) could not help us more and were always polite, friendly and very happy to pass on their broad knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco in general. Rooms are traditionally decorated but with modern clean lines and all the amenities you would need. Beds are comfy and as good as many top class hotels. Always clean and well presented, the rooms display beautifully finished wooden doors and shutters with traditional bathrooms that pander to our modern requirements.
Please try the Moroccan meal cooked by Miriam - delicious and plentiful and all freshly made to order, especially delightful if you take it up on the the terrace after the sun has gone down! Breakfasts are about just right for the climate and set you up nicely with good coffee, freshly squeezed OJ, selection of breads, home made conserves (delicious) and local cake bread with eggs and fruit availbale on request.
Close enough to the square with just a five aminute walk along a lively market lane but still quiet and restful at night. Courtyard is lovely and has a comfortable residents lounge with TV, music, wi-fi and a good collection of books on Marrakech and Morroco.
Been all over the world and stayed in many a plce, but this is one of the few that we would be delighted to come back to again and again. Truly fantastic value and that comes from some Scottish Berbers!
A real jewel and not to be missed!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed at two riads during our time in Marrakech, and appreciated the small details that made Tizgui stand out. After a day of melting and getting lost hunting monuments, Bruno and Francelyse (the French couple who own the riad, along with quiet chief employee Mohamed) would insist on having us drink tea, or lemonade. They even had the fountain filled deeper for us to soak our tired feet! The riad and room were very clean, although in the August heat (ground floor rooms have no AC) the bathroom smell was noticeable, which is apparently common for Marrakech. We had dinner one night on the terrace which was lovely - so much food! And delicious. Breakfasts were simple but varied a bit each day. Yogourt, baguette, fruit (on request), pancake or the chewy Moroccan flatcake, cakes, OJ and very strong coffee. Home-made jams for those seeking even more sugar, but in a delicious fruity form. Everything is made in-house. We would have liked the milk to be warm as we needed to dilute our coffee - but small quibble, and no doubt on request would have been done! In the evenings jazzy music is played, and F+B are almost always on hand to answer what must be tiresome, repetitive questions about anything. Key points that are not the same at all riads: the bathroom has a door, not simply open to the room or with just a curtain; the rooms can be locked with you having the key; you have a key to the front door so you can come and go as you please. We found the riad very quiet and were not disturbed by the frequent call to prayer. Photos don't quite convey the posh simplicity of the place. Tizgui is in an excellent location and easily found. You can take the airport bus and walk, or use an arranged taxi. It is closer to Badi Palace than the El Fna square, and most easily found walking north to the square. Just look for the small signs to your upper right about 1/3 of the way up heading north towards the square from the start of the road.

Room Tip: Bring a compass and your orienteering skills - all the maps are inaccurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptravelviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We were made to feel really welcome at Riad Tizgui and Francelyse and Mohammed were always on hand to help with anything we needed. The riad is clean and beautifully decorated and it’s so relaxing to chill out on the roof terrace after the hustle and bustle of the Medina and the Djemma el Fna. The food was lovely too – especially the lemon and orange cake and the mousse au chocolat – mmmmm!! Mohammed even got up the day we were leaving for the desert trip to make our breakfast at 6.30am! Thank you to everyone there for helping make our holiday great.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarjaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

A riad 5 minutes walk from the square in Marrakech. They had taken over 2 days before when my daughter and myself arrived on the door step. The room was big and beautiful with a large bathroom. Dining room and Lounge down stairs and the most beautiful rooftop area with dining facilities and daybeds and lounges for lying in the sun and resting. On our last night we organised for a dinner and were presented with the most magnificient traditional Moroccan 3 course meal you could ever wish for. Frances is going to organise cooking classes, I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billystore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#52 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#278 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizgui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizgui

Property: Riad Tizgui
Address: 19 Derb Jdid Riad Zitoune El Kadim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 272 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizgui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tizgui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing