We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Tizgui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tizgui
München, Deutschland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Beautiful Riad, affordable prices, very friendly staff. Rooms are decorated individually and authentically - looks like 1001 nights.
Nice terrace on the roof.
Breakfast included.
The Riad is located in 7 minutes walking distance to Djemaa el Fna.

Room Tip: Suite in the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Rice785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
43
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A great find close to all you need, a stunning and peaceful place to stay. Breakfast (served with a smile) and lazy afternoons on the roof terrace. Mohammed was a great help and friend throughout our stay, arranging tours, recommending visits and restaurants. We stayed for a week, and sincerely enjoyed our holiday in Marrakech and hope to go back one day. Do use the option of an airport pick up to be met by Mohammed at Bab Berima who guided us to the riad, and once found it is so easy to find again. Many thanks for a wonderful stay

Kim and Jane

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

When we first got to the Riad, we were greeted by Mohammed, who was very hospitable and gave us an initial overview of the hotel and surrounding area.

The Riad is set in a side alley, with 5 guestrooms and communal area on the ground floor. There is also a roof terrace.

The positives of our stay in the Riad were:

- Mohammed's hospitality for the first 3 days and the offer of Mint tea!
- Our room was quite spaceous - the biggest room in the guesthouse.

However, some not so positive points to note are: -

- Mohammed's hospitality seemed to wane after 3 days. He was still approachable, but didn't seem as friendly as he was when we first arrived

- The maid took our bubble wrap, carrier bags and even a plastic zipped bag that we had for some pillow protectors. All of these we had placed on the bed / shelf - maybe she thought this was rubbish (??) but to us, they were being used to wrap up delicate items we had bought in Marrakech, to be placed in our luggage.

- When we arrived, there was no soap, no sign of a hairdryer, bin or toilet roll in our room so we had to ask for these to be provided upon arrival. We also had to keep asking for toilet roll to be supplied during our stay

- The fountain was on the first night, then switched off for the rest of our stay.

- Breakfast on the roof terrace never seemed to happen

- The noise of voices coming up from the ground floor in the mornings carried across the whole guesthouse

- The maid used the spare guestroom toilet whilst we were having breakfast (we could hear everything)

We had read some previous reviews on this place and thought it sounded amazing. Mohammed said the previous managers (Francelyne and Bruno) had moved on in August 2012, and they used to provide wine and cheese in the afternoons, and had a lot more staff on hand to deal with the running of the hotel. Now it is only Mohammed, and it seems that he is struggling to do all of this on his own.

The most negative point of this Riad was 24 hours before we left. Mohammed informed us that the credit card machine wasn't working in the Riad and we would have to pay by cash only. As myself and my partner have a limit as to what cash we can take out each day on our cards, this was a huge problem 24 hours before we left. Why were we not informed of this before? It was a huge stress the next day, not helped by the smarmy "owner", Roule, who was not offering any help or information for the situation in hand. Roule does not have the appearance or behaviour as an 'owner' of a guesthouse either.
We had to queue up in the bureau de change to obtain extra money just before our flight. It was the most stressful situation we have ever been in, as we nearly missed our flight. But we obtained the money and got on our flight in time.

It seems to me that this Riad is not what it once was, and it appears that it is being 'run-down' by the "owner". If we were to come back to Marrakech again, we would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Twistedillustrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed here with my partner for 5 nights on my first (his third) trip to Marrakech. The riad is absolutely stunning. We stayed in the suite which was spacious and the bed was plenty big and comfy enough. Upon arrival we were greeted at the airport by our organised transfer who whisked us and our bags to the riad where Francelyse and Mohammed were waiting our arrival, with delicious mint tea and baklava.

I cannot talk highly enough of Francelyse and Mohammed, they were on hand to help us with any queries at any time and we really enjoyed sitting in some evenings with both of them having a good chat and sampling the local wine (really great quality and delicious)! Although they will also happily leave you to your own devices. I miss them both and can't wait to go back to see them (and Marrakech too!) Their recommendations of things to do and places to eat were also excellent.

Breakfast was delicious, homemade breads, pastries and cakes. We had ours up on the roof every day - watch out for the tortoises though as they will nibble your toes!

The riad is also in an excellent location, just a couple of minutes walk from the heart of the medina.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaGoodyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinslaken
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We loved to stay in this Riad. From the beginning with a very warm welcome by my special friend Francelyse. The rooms and the whole Riad are very tasteful furnished. Mohammed helped us all the time with his very, very friendly character, Lisa prepared the room so lovely every day. Wonderful. The way to the big place is just 10 miutes walk, so all the attractions can be visited by foot.
Francelyse helps you organizing visiting a Hammam and massage, trips to Ourika valley (a MUST), and has good recommendations for good and verx good restaurants.
Coming back to Marrakesch we will definetly stay there.
One thing yoiu should know if you want to saty there: It is a Riad, all doors and windows are situated to the patio. Sometimes you hear the voices if there are guests with bad behavior.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KalleDinslaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you are looking for amenities like pool, workout room, and valet parking, this place is definitely not for you. If you are looking to experience Marrakech like a local, you can't do better. Owner and hostess Francelyse, and her trusted sidekick Mohammed will make you feel as if you are a king or queen during your stay. We spent three nights and I would look forward to booking this Riad if we were planning on coming back. The Riad was beautiful, the room was okay, but the hospitality was first class.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orba
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Just returned from three fabulous days in Marrakesh. The highlight being Riad Tizgui. Notthing was too much trouble, we felt very comfortable in this cosy Riad, which was a short walk to the Square. The bedroom was a good size and perfectly clean. Our towels and sheets were changed daily, breakfast was very good, with home made jam and pancakes, fruit, cake, lovely bread, fresh orange juice and a choice of english tea, mint tea, or coffee. Breakfast was served until 12.00, so no rushing around in the morning. Francelyse, the owner was a brilliant host along with Mohammed. Nothing was too much trouble. Francelyse arranged a taxi to and from the airport, payment being added to our bill. Our luggage was carried for us. No need to take a hairdryer as we had a very powerfull one in our room. We had wine in the evenings, which was accompanied with olives and savoury biscuits. There was a lap top in the salon which was free to use. We had breakfast in the salon, but the roof terrace was also used. I can highly recommend a stay here. Would go back tomorrow.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor. Ideal for anyone not wanting to climb the stairs. We found it pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rozzi55Orba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,965 reviews
11.1 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tizgui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tizgui

Property: Riad Tizgui
Address: 19 Derb Jdid Riad Zitoune El Kadim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 285 Speciality Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Tizgui 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Riad Tizgui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing