We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in a wonderful hotel. Would definately recommend it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa
Ranked #241 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I have never written on here before but after reading some untrue reviews I thought I would write my own. Apologies for the length of the review but I want to cover all important areas:

I was part of a group of 8 work colleagues going away on a well earned incentive break for 4 nights.

I booked the flights via Easyjet, flying from Gatwich direct to Marrakach. The flight took just over 3 hours. I booked the hotel via alpharooms, booking 3 twin rooms, and 2 double rooms (for single occupancy) on all inclusive basis. We got superior rooms.

Inside the airport you can change your UK £ or Euro's into the local currency. UK £'s get a better rate. At the time I travelled it was just under 13DM to the £ or just under 11DM to the Euro. PLEASE NOTE: When you return to the airport get rid of all your local currency at the currency exchange BEFORE you go through security. There is limited use for them in the departure lounge, the Duty Free shops only take £ sterling, Euro's or plastic! All prices are in Euro's. Limited food shops will take your odd few dirhams.

Taxis were easy to find outside the airport and pay no more than 250DM per taxi for a one way journey from the airport. Be prepared to get white knuckles as the taxi ride is fairly hairy at times!!

On arrival at the hotel is out of the way of the main town which is actually nice for a relaxing break. Arrival was very speedy and we were soon checked in. All of the staff without exception spoke English, some in more depth than others, but all attempted English.

The hotel is a French Thomas Cook Village resort so do expect the majority of guests to be French, expect the staff to speak mainly French, and expect most of the evening entertainment to be in French. HOWEVER the animation team of Ahmed, MoMo, Navine, and the others will get you involved and will talk to you in English.

The room was spacious with lovely balconies, a TV (only English channel was BBC World News, but that did not bother us), a mini bar (turned on but empty.get water after dinner and store it in your room), 2 large single beds, and a very clean bathroom with bath and shower over it, 2 sinks, toilet and bidet. All towels are provided. There are no tea and coffee facilities but you can always find somewhere for tea or coffee around the hotel. The rooms are in blocks (ryads) or approx 18 rooms per block with a courtyard on the inside of each block.

The pool area is great, with 3 pools, a main pool, childrens pool, and leisure pool (chest height , ideal for water polo and water aerobics). It is a little chilly at first but get your shoulders under and its quite nice. There are plenty of loungers so need to wake up at 6am and get your towel out!! To use the pool towels you will need to buy a towel card from reception for 100DM (approx £9.50) although you get this refunded on your last day when you hand your towel card back in. There is a snack bar by the pool. Even if on all inclusive the snacks are charged, approx £5 for burger and chips. All drinks are free on the all inclusive inc freshly ground coffee. They do not hold back on the alcohol so be careful, you may wish to ask for half measures, which is still a double!). There are about 4 different activities a day in and around the pool inc water aerobics, water polo, boules, beach volleyball, step aerobics etc. There is an area at the back of the resort where there is a basketball court, beach volleyball court, and 4 french boules courts. There are also tennis courts and a spa (inc gym) at the front of the hotel.

The food at the hotel is great, although sometimes the food is a little cool. There is plenty of choice. Breakfast is fairly french with lots of pastries, french stick, croissants, jam, cereals etc. Although you may find eggs, spicy sausages and tomatoes. Lunch and dinner offer mainly moroccan dishes with meat balls, lamb, and chicken.

The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the centre of Morocco. The times are on reception. Note: you need to walk to the end of the drive and wait outside the gate for the bus. Do not wait outside the hotel or you will miss it. You can go by yourself at approx 150DM for a taxi each way. The courtesy coach does not drop you off right outside the market area, you need to walk approx 15 mins to get there. WHat an eye opener!! Be prepared to haggle lots, and don't expect to get any super deals. It is quite expensive and they do not come running after you if you walk off whilst haggling. It is difficult buying alcohol in any bar in the centre for religious reasons. Eat on a local food store, a great experience.

Overall a fab trip. Lovely weather, approx 32oC and no rain. The hotel was spacious and clean. The staff do speak English. Good food, and drink a plenty. A very relaxing stay. I would go again. Get yourself booked.......................

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PassportUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

762 - 768 of 1,985 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2009

This hotel is fantastic. It's clean and tidy and everyone is as helpful as possible. The selection of food available was excellent, always well prepared and plentiful.

Even though we had not booked as part of a package, we were always invited to the entertainment provided by the animations team.

There is a free shuttle bus from the hotel into town and back, although the times are very limited and staggered. We actually used Taxis most of the time, and I didn't pay more than 150 dirham each way. The taxi rides were an experience, but i'll leave that to you to find out. Oh, watch the roads, they don't stop if you're crossing!!

All the information in the hotel is in French and everyone in the hotel (and Marrakech) speak French and Arabic, very little English. The reception staff try their best and with their little English and my limited French, we managed to get by. The people in the towns have picked up some Enlighs phrases, like "asda price" and "very cheap"

This hotel offers wifi at a responable price although making calls is 4 euro per minute to the UK! (cost me 2000 dirham for a call to vodafone to sort out my mobile). The Spa has some lovely facilities at resonable prices.

The weather was around 28 - 30 celcius.

If you like horse riding, visit Kasbah Agafay, it's about 30-40 minutes outside Marrakech. Our taxi cost 600 dirham, there and back and included him waiting for us for about 2.5 hours whilst we rode. The ride itself was fantastic, excellent views and lovely well kept horses. They have an array of hats and chaps. The guy who runs the stables is lovely, although again very little English, but he will take care of you. Don't be scared on your journey to the stable! You'll see what I mean if you go. (On our return journey our taxi driver stopped to pick up and tortoise that was in the middle of the road, he was taking him home.)

Many of the cash machines do not take maestro cards, even if they say they do, so you may have to hunt around for one that will take your card.

I have some photos that I will put on soon.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inteego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Arrived to a Sunny morning in Marrakesh. Flight was excellent with Easy Jet. 3 Hours flight time from Gatwick. Went outside terminal to get taxi - no problem. We did manage to get some currency at airport before we got taxi. Taxi ride cost 250 MAD (around £20 english money). Approximately 20 minutes from airport to hotel. Arrived at hotel and had to fill out a few forms and then was shown to our rooms. The rooms were excellent. We had a double deluxe room, which consisted of a large super king size bed, sofa bed in lounge with tv and fridge. The bathroom was fully fitted, including hair dryer. Air conditioning was in room for use hot and cold. Overall you could not fault the rooms. The maid came everyday to tidy room, make bed and leave fresh towels. The breakfast was very good, consisting of cereal, toast, cold buffet, fried eggs, scambled eggs, sausages, tomatoes etc. Tea,coffee,hot chocolate etc. The fresh orange was beautiful. The lunch was very great with good choice from hot to salads. Wine, beer and soft drinks were served to you both at lunch and dinner. A bottle of water was left on your table and you could take this with you back to your rooms. The evening food was variable, always something to choose from. Me being a little on the fussy side found it sometimes difficult to eat, but always plenty of rolls and I mainly stuck to soup (which was to die for). Did have roast lamb and roast turkey one night though. Made up for it with the desserts, which were beautifully laid out. The pool outside was clean and looked lovely, but being the time of year was very cold, so never went in. The hotel caters mainly for the French and Belgium, but they mostly speak some English. Abdul, one of the Thomas Cook Village reps spoke very good English and made you feel welcome and got you to join in. They were all very polite, even the bar staff. The all inclusive package included your meals in the restaurant and drinks up to 11 am. The only feel we slipped up on was eating at the snack bar at lunch time around where the pool was. We did not know that the cheeseburgers were not all inclusive and was not told until about the 4 day (when we had already eaten 5 between us). The pizzas and toasted sandwiches and chips are included in your package. So please be aware. We however did not have to pay this on checking out as we spoke to the Manager and he told us not to worry, which was very nice. The entertainment in the evening is in French, so found it very hard to understand. Some of the entertainment is in the theatre, so we stayed in the lounge bar where they played English music. There is also another lounge where you can relax and watch TV on big screen and play pool. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere. No shops to walk to. You need to take a taxi into the main town (about 15 minutes away) costing around 150 MAD (around £10.00).

OVERALL WE ALL LOVED THE HOTEL AND WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK. WELL WORTH THE MONEY FOR WHAT YOU GOT. FULLY RECOMMEND IT.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tyson0_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

This hotel has enormous potential, but some major obstacles to overcome if it is to be worthy of its star status.

The infrastructure is in place, with excellent family rooms, pool area and sports and spa facilities. The animation, domestic and portering staff are unfailingly curteous and extremely efficient in their work. The room cleaning was exceptional. A stay at this hotel however fails to deliver any kind of service - the extra mile that is so evident in other Moroccan establishments. This rests with the management team who appear to instruct rather than lead. As the hotel had been in operation for 8 months at the point of our visit, it might be reasonable to assume that this is not due to initial teething issues.

If you choose to travel here, then it might help to know that:
* the hotel does not take sterling travellers cheques - there are good change facilities at the arrivals area in the airport
* the dirham is a closed currency, but you can take up to 1000 out of the country at the end of your stay
* all food in the hotel is cold, including that which is intended to be hot
* the dining area has hazardous trailing cables to the hot plates tucked under loose carpets in the restaurant - watch your toddlers on them
* the Moroccan restaurant was shut for the full duration of our week's stay
* there are no price lists anywere in the hotel as the majority of guests visit on an all inclusive basis. Do not upgrade lightly from half board as the cost is high and the extras limited.
* the pool/snack bar does not take cash, so an adult is required to sign a slip charging food and drinks to a room - we had to insist to be given any idea of the pricing structure. The bar food is reasonably priced at around £15.00 for a lunch for four excluding drinks.
* the prices in the bar by reception are very high, and not listed
* the fridges in the room are empty - take bottled water from breakfast and dinner rather than buying from the bar.
* the times listed on the reception desk for the shuttle bus to Marrakech centre are incomplete - look at the list on the front of the bus for the full set. The bus will gladly stop off and pick up at any point along the route, so calling in at Marjone Supermarket to stock up on drinks and snacks is a good idea
* the indoor pool at the spa is very warm and children can use it
* the locals work to an informal tiered pricing structure on everything, particularly taxi fares, so expect to pay the most if you are english

Our major issue with this hotel though is the lack of customer service. We, along with several other half board guests, were asked to pay a supplement of £130 per person for a gala dinner on new year's eve, despite having already booked and paid for dinner, bed and breakfast for the week. This was raised for the first time with those guests on the afternoon of 31 December. On refusing to pay this extra we were excluded extrance from the new year's eve celebrations - a procedural step too far.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Familyoffour4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed her for 3 nights in late September after getting a good deal from Travelzoo and reasonable flights on Ryanair from Luton.
But to save me writing a report, our trip was mirrored by -
''laurengucsb - Nyon, Switzerland''
Just read that report as our stay was exactly the same.
This hotel could be amazing if they just put some thought for their guests into it.

Paul - Hertfordshire

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank airbusa340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

I stayed for 3 nights at the Bluebay Marrakech in October 08.

The room was perfect, couldn't fault it. The reception staff were extremely helpful and all spoke English and French. We arrived at 9.30am so they let us eat breakfast whilst our room was finished.

The hotel was fairly empty, and is geared for the Thomas Cook French package holiday tourist when full by the looks of it.

There are signs on the reception desk detailing the dining hours and the bus timetable into Marrakech so we had no problems catching the free bus.

We were able to arrange day trips to the Altas Mountains and Essaouira by private taxi from reception. We had booked a bus ticket for Supratours but were sold the wrong day, so the reception staff went out of their way to help us resovle it.

We were on half board and were satisfied with the breakfast and evening meal choices...they were varied and plentiful.

The pool area was lovely too.

The hotel is situated outside of Marrakech so we were always glad to get back to it's tranquility after the madness of the centre. The hotel can be hard to find for taxi drivers as it's new so take along the phone number so your taxi driver can speak to reception.

Overall I thoroughly recommend this hotel, it was very comfortable and the staff were lovely. I would defintiely return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2008

The BlueBay marrakesh opened in May so everything is really new and generally looks very nice. We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in October. The lobby is pretty and all the rooms are in separate buildings. The pool area is also nice.

In general, the hotel looks really good and overall things were okay, but I really feel like there's so much potential here. If a few little things can be worked on, I think the experience at the hotel could be much better.

We had read that the hotel can be rather hard to find and that not all taxi drivers knew where it was, even with the address, so I called the hotel to set up a transfer on the way there so we wouldn't get lost. they said it would be 25€, which turned out to be a pretty fair price. We paid 15€ on the way back, but with a driver we had used for several day trips. We arrived at the hotel late, approximately 11:30pm and the lobby was quiet. Just a note, they don't speak much English. Luckily we speak some French so we were able to get by fine, but don't expect much help in English. We were checked in promptly and taken to our room in a golf cart. This is the first area that could be improved -- we weren't given any information about the resort, no info on what time and where breakfast and dinner were served, what time the bus in to town went, we weren't told anything.

On our drive to our room, my husband asked if the bar was still serving food and they said no. When we got to the room, there was a mini-fridge, but it was empty and there were no snacks either. We needed a water so we called and they brought one over. They also brought over 2 plates of meats and cheeses, which was great and unexpected.

Throughout our stay, however, there were numerous things that could have been explained at check in. For example, we always like to use the room safe for passports, cash, etc and the rooms had safes, but you had to get keys at reception. Not a big deal, but why not ask when we check in if we'd like the key to the safe?

When we arrived to breakfast the next morning, we were on the tail-end so we weren't surprised that we werent' very impressed with the offerings. Although there was an impressive variety of fruits, breads and pastries, eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc, everything was cold, the pancakes couldn't even be cut. We thought we'd give it another try by coming a bit earlier the next day. Unfortunately the breakfast was poor each day. I even took the first egg from a platter that had just been brought out from the kitchen and it was cold. We were eating bread and cold cereal by the end of the trip. it was odd too, because sometimes during breakfast or dinner there would be 4 or 5 chefs just standing around the serving tables...

When we went to catch the shuttle bus for the first time, we saw that we had just missed the 10:30 and the next one didn't leave until 2pm. We would've liked to have gone earlier, but it was okay. Still, I'm not sure why they couldn't point out the times to us, and also point out from where the bus departed. At 2pm we were waiting in the lobby as it was so hot out and didn't see any bus. My husband finally went to ask at the desk and they said it leaves from the main street out front -- good we asked or else we wouldn't missed that one too..

The pool experience was rather interesting too. There was a large French tour group with mostly other people and they were by the pool. The entertainment staff who worked in the hotel bar and by the pool had a great energy and there were contests, yoga class, dance lessons, etc basically offered throughout the day by the pool. I thought it was a nice option for those who wanted to participate, but unfortunately my husband and I were more interested in relaxing, reading and listening to our ipods. Unfortunately the music by the pool was so loud that it was really hard to ignore -- not exactly a relaxing experience. It would be different if we showed up to a hotel where the average age was 20 and the bar was crowed, then we would adapt, but this wasn't the scene at all. it felt very forced and out of place. The staff also constantly asked if we wanted to join the games and the photographer walking around the pool area was nothing less than harassing the family next to us. I understand a few photos is nice, but I could feel how uncomfortable the family felt. There were 2 pool and the larger of the 2 was so freezing people couldnt' even get in -- and the temperature was over 30 degrees outside! it would be nice for them to have a waiter at the pool as I'm sure my husband and I would have spent a lot more money if drinks were constantly coming to us.

Another disappointment at the pool is that we went to sit down and get towels and they tell my husband he needs the room key. So he comes back to me to get the room key, then walks back to get the towels. Then they say he needs to go all the way to reception (a decent distance away) and pay a deposit to get towel cards). This wasn't that big of a deal, but it would really help to be told this at check in. We knew we'd be using the pool so we would've taken care of it then.

Additionally, our last day at the hotel, we got to the pool about 10am and tried to get towels, but the guy said they didn't have them yet and would in 10 min. This was no problem, we were quite early at the pool. Finally after waiting an hour, we moved to lawn chairs (which were wet as it rained the night before). After another 30 minutes pasted, I finally asked the guy in french, when we'd have the towels. He told me in french, "As I told your husband, we expect them in 10 minutes". I thought this was very rude as we had been waiting almost 2 hours for towels by the pool. We finally left around 1:30, still no towels in sight.

The shuttle bus into town was fine and worked out well for us. The ride is about 20 minutes and if you time your visits accordingly, it's very convenient. We actually found it nice to be staying outside of the city centre as Marrakesh is very dirty and chaotic and it was nice to get out of that at night.

Dinner at the hotel was better than breakfast. Throughout our stay, we ate right when they opened and right before they closed so I think we got a good sense of the food. On most nights the choices were good and my husband and I found plenty to eat. Usually buffet style isn't great, so we never expect much from Half Board, but overall the dinner was pretty good.

Unfortunately the bar scene was a little daunting as well. The resort was really quiet so my husband and I would have been up to get drinks before and after dinner, but the music was either so loud we wouldn't even walk near there, or they were playing some game where the leading was speaking loudly into the microphone. Overall i would recommend a more laid-back atomosphere with music in the background.

The rooms themselves were pretty good. The bathroom was really big and had nice appliance, the shower was really strong. The bedroom was average and did have a balcony but we never used it.

We asked the front desk to help us call a grand-taxi for a day trip to the waterfalls and they did call, but quoted us a price that even we knew was way too high (1200 dirhams). I ended up calling several numbers I had and in my broken french set up an excursion for about 500 dirhams less. I know the hotel is there to make money, but it's disappointing to see this.

We did take 2 excursions to with the same driver which worked out very well. We went to Ourika Village (instead of the original waterfall we wanted to go to, for 500 dirhams) and to the coast Essouiria (1000 dirahm). We went with Mufahsa and he was really good. I still have his phone number if you need it.

Overall, the hotel itself is pretty nice, the service isn't bad and the food (dinner was better) wasn't too bad either. We got such an amazing deal (£69 per night, half board), that we still felt happy about the money spent, but there were just so many little things that could easily be improved that would make such a big difference to the overall experience. I would recommend the front desk staff fully inform guests about restaurant hours, the towel fee, key to the safe, shuttle schedule, etc. I would also recommend toning down the music in the bar and pool area for families and those who are looking to relax. Some music is fine, but as another review said, often it was deafening.

This hotel has tons of potential and really could be good, so hopefully it will take note of these suggestions and make some improvements.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurengucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.7 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
6.4 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#249 of 501 in Marrakech
2,470 reviews
12.3 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
1.4 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#129 of 501 in Marrakech
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa

Address: Douer Ouled Benrrahmoun | El Bour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Marrakech
#134 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £30 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa is home to 260 light and spacious rooms, distributed across 13 riads in keeping with traditional Moroccan architecture. Each air-conditioned room includes satellite TV and a mini bar, plus a private balcony or terrace from which views of either the swimming pool, lush gardens or dramatic Atlas Mountains can be enjoyed. With its huge outdoor swimming pool, children's pool and terraces, guests at Hotel Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa can soak up the year-round sunshine before cooling down with a refreshing dip. For a respite from the Morocco sun, head to the hotel's additional indoor swimming pool or unwind with a cocktail at the poolside bar. For the ultimate in relaxation, the hotel's renowned EDEN Spa is on hand to provide a wide range of treatments. This sensation wellness centre offers multi-sensory spas and a spectacular range of treatments and facilities that focus on the five elements of the Earth. For energetic guests, the Ryad Parc and Spa Marrakech boasts several sports courts including tennis, basketball and football, plus an on-site gym. With a varied entertainment programme on offer during the day, followed by organised shows every evening and an on-site nightclub, guests can rest assured that both relaxation and activities are catered for at the Marrakech Ryads Parc and Spa. The two restaurants offer a delicious range of modern and traditional dishes, served buffet style or a la carte once a week. Or perhaps jump on the hotel's free organised bus service into the centre of Marrakech to indulge in the wide range of Moroccan delicacies and sample the local cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marrakech Ryads Parc & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marrakech Ryads Parc Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing