We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nightmare in Royal mansour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Ranked #41 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“a nightmare in Royal mansour”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I am writing to share with you the unbelievably, unthinkably out of the ordinary experience my family and I had at Royal Mansour “Palace” Marrakech.
We were staying at Palais Namaskar, and we wanted to explore the best Marrakech has to offer. We were told Royal Mansour Palace with its restaurants will be the spot to hit. We were eight, and were happy to celebrate my little daughter’s birthday in a place we wish we didn’t go to…
Once in Royal Mansour, the entrance was like a dream; our breath was taken away by the beauty of the scene. We all agreed on having Royal Mansour as our hotel of choice for the next visit to Marrakech.
We were greeted with smiles and led to the restaurant where we were supposed to dine. We asked the head waiter if we can be sited outside, we were informed that the terrace was booked, although it seems that the hotel was completely empty, hence the reason! But we were happy with a table inside. The sommelier helped us selected the wine.
Just when we thought we will be spending a night to remember (and it for sure will be) the head waiter came and asked us that we cannot dine there because of my shorts (that were not shorts, they were pants way below my knees). I thought first that was a joke of some sort. But the man seemed to be embarrassed and proposed me a transfer to our hotel so I can change my pants.
My whole family and I were in a complete shock of what we went through. We travelled all the way to Marrakech and came here to be embarrassed in such an unimaginable way.
I never, in my entire life wrote a letter of complaint about a bad service I received, but this I had to vent my anger and I hope the proprietor of this magnificent palace is aware of what’s going on in his propriety.
Do not set foot there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
28 Thank dunn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    25
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
62
170
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The Royal Mansour is without question the most elegant, gracious, beautiful hotel in Marrakesh. We stayed in our own Riad - 3 stories high with a pool on the roof. The service was impeccable. Every need was anticipated and filled with gracious kindness. The concierge took care of our dinner reservations, transportation, shopping needs. The hotel keeps tight security and so we felt safe, and insulated from the heat and madness of the streets. The food at the hotel was outstanding - even breakfast was served with gloved waiters. Most of the staff spoke English. I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. The manager even called our hotel ahead of us on our way to Paris to request special treatment.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluehorizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Visited for drinks and dinner.

Firstly - it's very expensive. Just worth it however (although some of the menu items are just a little unreasonable - a dish of couscous is £35 for example).

If you submit to the open wallet sugery that takes place it is just incredible. This place "feels" so special & the staff are so calm and organised.

The main draw is the hotel itself - it's genuinely exquisite. Sensationally glamourous and cool - it's unlike most very expensive hotels I've been too - there is an X-Factor to the place that is hard to describe.

Great food, lovely wine, charming service, smiles all round.

Wow.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coops9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

You will feel special staying here, as we did. Right from leaving the aircraft you will be met by 'Royal Mansour' reps, taken into the VIP lounge...passports checked and no queing.
Bags were taken to the Range rover waiting for us, 15 minutes drive to Palace, then met by Management and showen to our Amazing Riad.
Room keys were given in leather wallets, we were showen our Riad and how touch screen lighting/air con system works, 3 floors of opulant furniture and little touches were making me feel like a Celebrity.
Fresh fruit and Morroccan sweets were in lounge on arrival, bottled water supplied, and Coffee machine with pods and tea. (microwave & fridge was available in mini kitchen area)
The bedroom was Beautiful with Gorgeous En-suite, luxury products included..shampoo - hair mask - make up cleanser - exfoilating soap - body lotion, plus more..luxury robes and slippers for use.
Menus were available in Riad for breakfast/lunch/tea/drinks and dinner... prices were more than expected but its a once in a lifetime treat.
There were 2 plasmas in Riad, one downstairs in lounge and one in bedroom,,, my husband loved the fact that you could pause the film your watching on one Tv and then continue watching on the other. ...various films free of charge in languages to suit.
On the top floor was the plunge pool, 2 sunbeds and seating area... bliss in the sun.
The breakfast was included in our package ( it was 450 dirahams pp on menu )... served by white gloved butlers and a good selection.
Currency exchange was by Reception and had a good rate than the UK,
We didnt see the spa, but apparently it was amazing
The palace was walking distance to the Jemma square we went here in the day and night and both times were different, its quite an experience.
We went on a tour of Marrakesh, but the best they showed had no comparison to our Hotel, I felt the tour should of showed our Hotel and it would be the Highlight.
We returned to the airport via a Luxury heated/massage seats Mercedes S Class, and were taken care of with the Reps, we did not que and our passports were checked VIP style...then taken to the VIP lounge for coffee/drinks,
Amazing stay, Thank you very much Royal Mansour.

Room Tip: You will be happy in any room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taurus_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

i have never written any reviews on hotels i haven't stayed at least one night at but i need to make an exception as the royal mansour is indeed exceptional. in fact it is spectacular. i dare say i am a hotel snob but the royal mansour had my breath taking away every way i look. i had tea, a massage treatment and dinner at the moroccan restaurant on my last day in marrakech and i wished i had found this place earlier. in fact, this palace is worth a visit to marrakech on its own. the service is world standard. every where you look you would be at awe. i cannot find one single fault in this property. i had a lymphatic drainage massage and after the treatment i felt like melted butter. i am also a massage snob and i dare say most of the therapist at many of the spas around the world and i have to many, don't have a clue but iman at the royal mansour sure does. she is awesome and hands down better than the best therapist in the united states and switzerland. and for any of you who wonders about asia, forget it, most asian therapist dont have a clue, they do their massage like robots. but iman and her magical touch! the only complaint is i did not have my day well planed as i was leaving marrakech the next morning and once i am inside the royal mansour i dont even want to leave so i had dinner right after my massage which kind of prevent me from enjoying both at the fullest. the food at the moroccan restaurant is top notch as are their wine choice. do try the moroccan wine as they go so well with moroccan food. the manager did show me one of their rooms, or rather one of the riads, simply perfect!!! oh sorry back to the spa, not only was the treatment spectacular but the spa itself was stunningly gorgeous. i will for sure go back to marrakech just to stay at the royal mansour. thank you for making me feel like a princess if for only one day!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This place is one of the best hotel not only in Marrakech, but in the world.
It's a Palace with every tiny details you need .
Service is perfect, roo; in the riads very nice and location is just perfect
Any way, don't really see hotels by ranking in trip Advisor because it's just not a criteria and can not really gives you the real value of the place .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Normally we never write comments. The first time we take the time. Everything is perfect. It is a palace. A perfect recommendation. In comparison to the cost, it is not expensive. We stayed in a Riad, a Villa to highest European standards.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plaza01190356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
1,986 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#59 of 500 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 500 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
La Villa des Orangers - Hotel
#29 of 500 in Marrakech
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Marrakech

Property: Royal Mansour Marrakech
Address: Rue Abou Abbas el Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#22 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Prestigia and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Mansour Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansour Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing