We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent with one or two issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Ranked #47 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent with one or two issues”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

A really outstanding hotel. Willing and capable staff throughout maybe a few more grey hairs might improve matters further. A couple of negatives , rooms are very poorly lit and the food is at times very overpriced. Bar these 2 issues the hotel is really quite outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    24
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
58
167
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atherton, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

There is no question that the Royal Mansour is among the most beautiful hotels, perhaps the most beautiful hotel, that we have ever stayed in. Every surface is hand decorated by Moroccan craftsmen, and no detail is overlooked. It is a remarkable place to stay. However, it is an extremely formal environment, and every little thing you might want, while available, is charged at a ridiculous rate. A cola from the minibar is $10; a sandwich from room service is $50. The negative reviews, one regarding the restaurant asking someone to leave for failing to dress sufficiently formally, and one regarding the staff ignoring problems in the rooms, do not surprise me. The hotel is not focused on making guests comfortable. It is focused on creating the most luxurious and royal experience possible for people for whom expense is irrelevant. If you want to wear your designer silk suit and be served by waiters in white gloves, then the Royal Mansour is the right place to stay. If you are looking for a place where you will feel a warm welcome and where luxury means truly personal service, then Royal Mansour is not perfect for you. Just to give you a sense of the place, every time we returned to the hotel on foot, we were stopped at the gates by staff who politely inquired who we were (apparently, you are not allowed on the property unless you are a guest). They didn't seem to get that we were guests at the hotel, and I guess the fact that we were walking and not in a private car made them question whether we belonged there. They always seemed mildly surprised when we showed them our room key. In the end, we enjoyed our stay, but have some reservations.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank happytraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leusden, Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Looks like a palace. But heard many people complain of problems. One had no hot water, another not enough cold water. I slept in a basic room. First my door lock didn't work. Then I almost fell over door matt that curls up because it doesn't fit under door.
Crazy detail: no good shower. Just a small hand shower. Afraid to use it as an electric lamp hangs just above you if you stand in bath.
Got back to room at night to discover no light near door. Once inside a strong sewer smell coming from bathroom. Had to sleep with door shut and ventilation high. Bad night.
Wonder if designer ever tried his own hotel room. Hotel is all show. another example: had to walk over narrow path between water in semi dark to go to room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GinnegapLeusden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I brought my girlfriend to Morocco for her birthday; we stayed at La Mamounia for the first two nights, Kasbah Tamadot for the second two nights, and Maison MK for the final night.

While staying at Royal Mansour is a bit pricy, the restaurant, La Grande Table Marocaine is a must to celebrate a birthday or any special occasion. I had made the reservation directly by email and received an immediate response; when I inquired if a birthday desert could be created with included dates and figs, I was informed that they would "do our best to make this moment truly memorable and the first step in the Royal Mansour discovery."

The hotel is amazing; the King brought all artists and artisans of Morocco and had them do what they do best.... magical. Definitely make time to tour the grounds.

The dining experience is amazing. White gloves on the staff. Music from a gentleman in the entrance hall; so the sounds are just far enough from the table so as to be enjoyable... you want to hear it. Subtle.

The service is an important part of the adventure... so be adventurous with the food. Pigeon pastille was amazing! We sampled The breads addictive.

The desert that was created included pastry and ice cream. My girlfriend loved it. Then, there were cookies... which we asked to take with us. No problem; a cute little box was presented- but not for the cookies that were on the table... they brought new cookies!

Expensive. Yes. Worth the expense. Yes. When you depart, you are smiling and asking each other how soon can a return visit be planned....

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnKavulich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Simply the best hotel i stay in my life.
After i travel all around the world, i visit the 5 continents, hotels and palaces, here you have the best of all them. We stay in a business trip in a 2 bedrooms Riad with 500 meters squared with a 24 h. butler service who made our stay simply perfect.
So elegant, so calm, charm...
The restaurants there where stunning in every angle, menu, wine, service, atmosphere, alive music by a professor of the conservatory...
I seriously recommend this hotel owned by the king of Morocco (guarantee of excellence and security) and its managed by a veteran general manager who use to work for the best hotels in the world.

But.... please this is a hotel (Palace) for elegant people, so if you are this is your hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ernesto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

You can’t help but be impressed - it’s a very slick operation.
Well hidden in sumptuous gardens it’s very discreet.
It’s approached through what almost looks like a back road that wouldn’t appear ( at first glance ) to particularly lead anywhere. It’s classic Moroccan style everywhere with an excellent staff to guest ratio. Obviously it’s at the top end of the price scale but the hotel always exceeded expectations. The Bloody Mary Cocktail came up exactly as ordered ( extra hot and spicy ) whilst the Lychee Martini was the perfectly cool foil.
Ideal to do business in - especially for “sotto voce” discreet meetings. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Our last day in Marrakech we decided to visit and have lunch at this iconic hotel. We did not feel in the slightest patronised that we didn't have a reservation. the staff could not have been more helpful. The lunch was delicious as was the wine recommendation. Can't wait to have the opportunity to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#27 of 499 in Marrakech
1,114 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.3 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
Mandarin Oriental, Marrakech
#58 of 499 in Marrakech
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 499 in Marrakech
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mansour Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mansour Marrakech

Property: Royal Mansour Marrakech
Address: Rue Abou Abbas el Sebti, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#25 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#54 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#68 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Mansour Marrakech 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Mansour Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mansour Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing