We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think Twice Before Staying in the Medina”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #143 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Think Twice Before Staying in the Medina”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We were really excited about our stay at an authentic Morroccan riad. Sadly, though, it proved too difficult to navigate and we left after one night. As far as the Riad Charlott goes, it's beautiful, comfortable and offered great service. We were a bit surprised, though, to find that we were the only guests there. Another surprise was just how difficult it was to get around. We were given a detailed map to access the souks and square but even with it, we got lost. Everywhere around us, fellow tourists were lost! The sheer number of winding roads were overwhelming. Locals who offered to help will ask for a pretty penny upon taking you to your destination. It was stressful so we decided to move into a hotel just outside the walls of the medina. It allowed us easy access to all the sites but at the same time, we were able to take a cab home without having to wind through a million indecipherable streets. (Cabs cannot access the Riad.)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverCDN_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
230
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Riad Charlott for 2 nights in May 2011. We really enjoyed our stay there, from the beautiful rooms to the great service, overall it was fantastic. Jean-Pierre was very helpful(though somewhat tricky to track down when you want him) with finding our way around and helping us to hire a car to drive to Fes. Riad Charlott is a romantic getaway in the heart of Marrakesh, and we would both not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chobreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Having been to Marrakech before where had stayed at a great Riad again was keen to look at other options.

Getting picked up at the airport the drive was a short 20 minutes to the ouskirts of the medina from which someone from the Medina came to meet me up as the cars cannot get all the way in. Upon arrival I was greated very warmly by Pierre who told me a little about the RIAD and explained the way to the Medina as with most these are down many unmarked streets and needs to be mapped out.

Thereafter was pretty much left to my own devices, as I had to work I was able to find a quiet corner and log into the wifi and work away. The breakfast was served whenever we wanted it pretty much felt like we were the only ones there.

Perftect place to get away and have nobody trouble you. Pierre was a great host and happy to chat about anything when around, he made sure we we felt at home. The Rooms were beautiful and very comfortable and look forward to trip to Marrakech again. Only point on the not so good was a couple of times for breakfast and just when needed drinks had to go looking for someone as was very quiet. When we did locate someone as always very very attentive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruscus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We would agree with many of the points made regarding the Riad,it's a lovely place but I would downgrade it only because of the Area...
There's very little Close by in terms of places to eat,the one restaurant close by is over priced for a City which is in parts is a shanty town !!
The Riad is tucked down an Alleyway and would be impossible to find on your own,although Riad Charlot provides a Cab which is overpriced it is worth doing it to save you hassle....
Overall we disliked Marrakech,we found it dirty and the people (male) hassle you constantly,we have been all over the world but never found anywhere as annoying as there,We also wasn't amazed with the City from a Site seeing point of View,the main attractions are OK,but do not compare to other major tourist destinations !!
If you are going to Marrakech this is a lovely choice in a so so Spot in a Crappy City !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsp1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Thanks for your hospitality Jean-Pierre! One tip for future guests - the Riad would have been impossible to find without a guide so be prepared to pay a local boy 20dh to lead you there (or arrange for an airport transfer, if possible). Once we arrived everything was wonderful. Breakfast was plentiful, staff friendly, and decor both modern and Moroccan. Especially enjoyed relaxing on the roof at night after dinner in the market.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This holiday was arranged for my mums 50th birthday and im so glad that I chose this destination and particular Riad as it was perfect and we had an amazing time! I went with my friend also and my nan who both loved it here.
Firstly I would agree with other comments regarding booking transfers as we would never of found this Riad otherwise.
As soon as we arrived we were met by Jean Pierre who took the time to provide us with a map and recomended some great places to go.
We had the Jade suite which was gorgeous and ideal for my nan as it was on the ground floor. We also had the Pierre suite which was lovely.
The Riad is very clean and all of the staff are very friendly.

Yassim couldnt do enough for us and on most occasions when we returned from somewhere he would be waiting for us to walk us back to the Riad, which we thought was very sweet.

I would highly recommend visiting les bains de Marrakech which is a spa and by far the best I have ever visted.
Also Le comptoir darna, which is a gorgeous restaurant and SO if you fancy a trendy club/bar but both very expensive.
Jean Pierre also recommended we go to a pool called manzil la tortue, which was heaven. The pool was luxurious and we had it all to ourselves. We cooked fresh fish and were very well looked after.

Overall this holiday was one of the best. I like that the Riad is right near the centre of everything. Its not that hard to get to the market or main square once you have done the route once.
Thank you to Jean Pierre and Yassim for making our holiday special

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salvy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Riad Charlott is a great place to rest and enjoy Marrakech. Despite its location (difficult to find initially), it is in the Medina and walking distance to the main square. The rooms are great, the breakfast and the one dinner we had there was delicious. Jean Pierre was welcoming and helpful, as well as all the staff. Would go again next time!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#179 of 500 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#210 of 500 in Marrakech
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#134 of 500 in Marrakech
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#115 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#208 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#199 of 500 in Marrakech
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing