We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful haven in the August heat !”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #150 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I selected this Riad from Trip Advisor comments and was not disappointed. The Riad is owned and run very efficiently by Jean Pierre-he could not have been more helpful, not only in preplanning our visit, but, also during our 4 night stay. He arranged transport to and from the airport-this is essential-there is no way you could navigate the alleys of the medina without prior knowledge. He also arranged a meal for the evening of our arrival in the Riad so we had our first experience of real Moroccan cous cous in Riad Charlott. I never got to know the name of our "waitress" and I must aplogise for that but she was charming as was Ahmed-a kind of general factotum. Make sure you take time for mint tea-enervating in the heat of the day !
We-my daughter and I-stayed in the Pierre Suite-the pictures are all on the web site. It was comfortable , beautifully furnished (exquisite chandelier ) clean and cool ! Flat screen TV but very few English speaking channels-but, who goes to Marrakech to watch TV? My tiny gripe was about the bath-a steep climb in and out-I did mention it to Jean Pierre on leaving and I'm assured he'll provide some steps in time for my next visit ! Breakfasts were lovely-yogurts, pastries, sort of flat crumpets with an array of Rhiad made jams-even a sweet potato jam ! Now, if you want the all American type buffet breakfast, swimming pools and sanitized, anonymous hotel rooms don't stay in a Rhiad. But, if you want to stand on a roof top in the centre of the walled city and hear the Muezzin call the faithful to pray book into a Rhiad.
Rhiad Charlott' is set in a maze of narrow alleyways but armed with Jean Pierre's clear maps you will be fine.The main square is about 10 minutes walk away but the walk is so fascinating-it is a step back in time-the sights, the smells are amazing. Do not be intimidated-Marrakech struck me as friendly and safe -I would prefer to be there to my local city centre which I would not walk through after 9pm ! Spoken French is useful but the stall holders have English too and are everready to give you a "special price" "cheaper than Asda ! " The banter is friendly and funny-tell them it's your first day and suss things out, but, do haggle-it's expected and no one is offended providing you don't go ridiculously low. Remember, we are rich to these people !
We really enjoyed the hop-on and off bus tour which gives you a good insight to the city. You need cash-dirhams-which are obtainable there in the medina or from holes in the wall. The souks and small market/ square cafes and restaurants do not take credit cards-cash is king and much more negotiable.
August is very, very hot so be prepared. You need sun cream, hats and plenty of water-bottled water avilable everywhere. Marrakech is a wonderful place-so much to see and do-it is ideal for a city break and I have no reservations in recommending Riad Charlott.

Room Tip: Tell Jean Pierre your exact requirements and I'm sure he will do his best to accommodate them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretPonthir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

Riad Charlott was a wonderful retreat in Marrakech. We stayed for three nights while on holiday in between trips to Ouzarzate. The riad has a great rooftop, authentic feeling rooms, and amazing service. Jean Pierre and Ahmed are accommodating and truly interested in making sure you have a memorable and comfortable stay. The hotel has free wi-fi and great breakfasts. We loved being deep inside the medina and getting the feel for what it might be like to live inside the maze. If you are interested in terrific service and a wonderful retreat Riad Charlott is the place!

Room Tip: Some rooms are right off the center hall - for more privacy ask for a room further from the center h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxTraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Riad is very pretty. Service from Riad staff was good. Every day the staff would make us complimentary mint tea and fetch us water.

It was confusing finding the place and getting back to it as it is away from the main streets and the taxis cannot come to the Riad so you have to walk from the public roads which is tiresome if you have suitcases. Generally there was harassment from young teenage boys if you are female without a male companion. If people show you the way, they expect to get paid and will ask you for as much as 20 euros, and can be aggressive if you don't pay.

We had paid 20 euros for the hotel to arrange a taxi driver to the airport, which is almost 20 pounds. When we got to the airport, the taxi driver called for a young man in the car parking lot to help us with our luggage. We thought it was included in the service; after the man had helped us with our luggage to check-in, he told us it would be the equivalent of £6. We refused to pay it but gave him £2 anyway.

However, this should be part of the service, as 20 euros is a lot of money for Morocco and the taxi drive only took 15 minutes which should be about 4-5 euros in a taxi. It is about 50p for a litre of petrol in Marrakech.

If you take the guided tour to the Atlas mountains, the driver will stop on the way and show you a Berber's house. You are expected to tip. It is a money making operation. The guided tour was very expensive. We paid 80 euros and was told this would include transport and the guide, and found out from the tour guide that he was expecting a payment from us of 20 euros. We told him we had already paid 80 euros, but we paid him a further 10 euros for his time as we did feel bad that he hadn't been paid.

Being a tourist in a poor country, people will try to rip you off. The service is generally good at the Riad but be careful with the services that you book through the Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stellar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This Riad is beautiful and nothing seemed too much trouble. It's contemporary and stylish and overall good value. However,I agree almost completely with the review below. The Riad is buried deep in the Medina in a city where being lost is not fun, simply because the slightest glance at a map draws so much unwanted attention. The medina is definitely an experience but it's so hard to find restaurants or anywhere licenced that most nights for us were early nights. And for us here was the main issue. On retiring to the Riad it was DEAD! Off season perhaps but I mean deserted....so beautiful surroundings YES but we were bored. Our last night was fab...we had a nice dinner on the roof, they even lit us a fire. We watched the sun set and listened to the call to prayer from every angle. We just felt it was a pity that this place lacked the atmosphere that can only come from having other people about!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kerrychick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I would like to start by saying that the Riad was really nice, the room was tastefully decorated and the roof terrace superb. It was very clean and was a welcome retreat from the hustle and harassment experienced outside.
Whilst I agree that it is not fair to downgrade a hotel due to your personal opinion of a city, I would also agree you have to factor in the local area and surroundings.
Locally, there is nothing in the way of restaurants which means a cab ride to the new town.
I also agree with previous poster even with a detailed map provided it is very difficult to navigate back to the riad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonsthlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Some of the other guests here have given marks to Marrakech instead of the Ryad. Ryad Charlott is pretty much the most elegant place i have ever stayed at. Every detail in our rooms were planned with care and style. There is a very comfortable roof terrace, a little higher than most of the surrounding houses, where you have a good view over this ancient, charming town.

One of our rooms had a huge bathtub in the bathroom. The other had a separate enclosure with tables and sofas for relaxing, taking a drink etc.

While we were there, there were only a couple of other guests, but they still upheld a high degree of service. For instance, when you want breakfast (any time before noon), you just sit down in the atrium, and within a couple of minutes people appear and take orders.

The place is very quiet, very elegant, a real oasis in the busy medina. Must be perfect for a couple who wants to spend time together.

We were picked up by a "cartman" in the nearest street where taxis could park. As other guests, we were confused by the maze, but in practice never had problems finding our way back.

The chaotic and dirty medina might not suit everyone, but we loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brainspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We have just returned from our honeymoon at the riad charlott, I cannot fault the riad. It was an oasis of calm in a very hectic city! We stayed in both the Jade and the Matthieu Suite, both rooms were beautifully decorated. The staff were incredibly helpful and Pierre gave us a hand drawn map showing the way to the main square and a few other areas. We did get lost on our first night but after a couple of trips it is simple to make your way back and forth to the square. Pierre recommended several places to eat and also suggested a few tours, nothing was to much hassle. Bo Zin was a restaurant we saved until our last night as it was something a bit special...Amazing food and ambiance, Good choice from Pierre.

Riad charlott is a great place to stay if you want to be close enough to the square and all the hustle and bustle but far enough away to enjoy a relaxing and peaceful holiday!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KELLYANN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#86 of 501 in Marrakech
164 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#221 of 501 in Marrakech
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#135 of 501 in Marrakech
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#133 of 501 in Marrakech
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#167 of 501 in Marrakech
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#166 of 501 in Marrakech
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £46 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing