We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful oasis of calm”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #141 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Valentin suite at Riad Charlott' during late August, and found it to be a wonderful oasis of calm in amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

Jean Pierre and his staff couldn't be more attentive to your every need and whim, from providing a refreshing mint tea and light snack following an early arrival to booking trips and making restaurant reservations... and of course providing their infamous hand drawn map to aid your adventures to/from the riad!

The riad took 4 years to complete and every ounce of hard work is visible in a beautiful, well thought out end product. The most specatular part of it was the fabulous roof terrace, where we spent each night watching the sunset over the Medina.

Also, it's located less than a 10 minute walk to the main square through the spice market and Souks, and a there's a lovely restaurant - Le Foundouk - a couple of minutes walk away which is pricey but does a mouthwatering seafood pastilla.

If you fancy a day of relaxation away from the mayhem of the Medina, then ask Jean Pierre to arrange a visit to Manzil la Torture - for approx £25 per person you can laze in their manicured gardens on a canopied double sun lounger by a 40m infinity swimming pool from 10am to 8pm, and a 3-course lunch is included in the price.

I would recommend Riad Charlott' to anyone looking to experience the real Marrakech, rather than stay in a large resort style hotel. Word of advice though - make sure you have cash to pay for the balance of your stay, as their card connection can be temparmental and unreliable due to the riad being buried with the walls of the Medina!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuwenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Riad Charlott'
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at Riad Charlott very much. We booked it on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Pierre Suite and our two friends stayed in the Matthieu Suite. Both rooms are individually furnished to a very high standard and are very clean and spacious.
Jean Pierre (the owner) arranged our airport transfers prior to our arrival and he was waiting for us at the drop off point outside the Medina and from there he walked us to the Riad. Without this, we would never have found it and would have suffered endless harassment from local boys & men trying to guide us - for a price.
Once settled, John Pierre, sat us down with a mint tea, and took us through a detailed hand drawn map of the local area which proved invaluable. (We only got “slightly” lost once but soon found our way). He recommended various tours and sights to visit and gave us his mobile number in case we had any problems or got lost.
As we had arrived in the early evening we chose to eat at the Riad rather than venture out for the first time in the dark. We ate on the beautiful roof terrace and had a pleasant three course meal of courgette and mint soup (cold), a chicken tagine and freshly sliced oranges, washed down with a bottle of red wine. (Even though it was Ramadan wine and beer were not a problem in the Riad).
We like a warm drink whilst getting ready in a morning and as there was no tea/coffee maker in the rooms we took our own travel kettle.
Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, coffee, tea and various bread/pastry/cake items with homemade jams. It was basic but pleasant.
The air conditioning wasn’t working properly in our room and as the temperature was 37 degrees my husband and I spent a couple of uncomfortable nights before it was fixed. Had there been any spare rooms in the Riad, I am confident that we would have been able to swap rooms.
My husband and I found Marrakech very intense. From the heat, to the crowds, the donkey/moped dodging to the constant harassment just walking through the souks. But each day we arrived back at the Riad and soon relaxed by sitting on the tranquil roof terrace and watching the beautiful sunset behind the palm trees with the Koutoubia mosque in one direction and the Atlas mountains in the other.
Our flight home was at 9.45pm and as there were no guests arriving that day we were allowed to keep our rooms at no extra charge.
All the Riad Charlott staff are very helpful and did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Jean Pierre is a wonderful thoughtful and animated character with a desire to make your stay everything it should (and you want it) to be.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Charlott and would be happy to answer any further questions anyone has.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julesep28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

On arrival in Marrakesh I have to admit I did think 'where have I come to?!'
Walking through the medina is certainly an experience but once we walked through the door to riad Charlott it was like we were in another world, a lovely, tranquil and relaxing world.
The riad is beautiful and calm with a terrace on the roof top.
We ate at the riad on our first night, a traditional Moroccan meal which was delicious.
Jean Pierre (not sure on spelling) the riad manager is awesome, he is so friendly and helpful, an expert on Marrakesh. Firstly he organised our pick up then he supplied us with maps and directions, which trust me you need when you first arrive in the medina. He recommended some great places that we ate at and also booked us a day at a villa when we needed some respite from the chaos of the centre of Marrakesh.
I highly recommend a stay here if you want to sample real, traditional Morrocco.
If that's not for you then you may be better off in a hotel in the French area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiddle419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I selected this Riad from Trip Advisor comments and was not disappointed. The Riad is owned and run very efficiently by Jean Pierre-he could not have been more helpful, not only in preplanning our visit, but, also during our 4 night stay. He arranged transport to and from the airport-this is essential-there is no way you could navigate the alleys of the medina without prior knowledge. He also arranged a meal for the evening of our arrival in the Riad so we had our first experience of real Moroccan cous cous in Riad Charlott. I never got to know the name of our "waitress" and I must aplogise for that but she was charming as was Ahmed-a kind of general factotum. Make sure you take time for mint tea-enervating in the heat of the day !
We-my daughter and I-stayed in the Pierre Suite-the pictures are all on the web site. It was comfortable , beautifully furnished (exquisite chandelier ) clean and cool ! Flat screen TV but very few English speaking channels-but, who goes to Marrakech to watch TV? My tiny gripe was about the bath-a steep climb in and out-I did mention it to Jean Pierre on leaving and I'm assured he'll provide some steps in time for my next visit ! Breakfasts were lovely-yogurts, pastries, sort of flat crumpets with an array of Rhiad made jams-even a sweet potato jam ! Now, if you want the all American type buffet breakfast, swimming pools and sanitized, anonymous hotel rooms don't stay in a Rhiad. But, if you want to stand on a roof top in the centre of the walled city and hear the Muezzin call the faithful to pray book into a Rhiad.
Rhiad Charlott' is set in a maze of narrow alleyways but armed with Jean Pierre's clear maps you will be fine.The main square is about 10 minutes walk away but the walk is so fascinating-it is a step back in time-the sights, the smells are amazing. Do not be intimidated-Marrakech struck me as friendly and safe -I would prefer to be there to my local city centre which I would not walk through after 9pm ! Spoken French is useful but the stall holders have English too and are everready to give you a "special price" "cheaper than Asda ! " The banter is friendly and funny-tell them it's your first day and suss things out, but, do haggle-it's expected and no one is offended providing you don't go ridiculously low. Remember, we are rich to these people !
We really enjoyed the hop-on and off bus tour which gives you a good insight to the city. You need cash-dirhams-which are obtainable there in the medina or from holes in the wall. The souks and small market/ square cafes and restaurants do not take credit cards-cash is king and much more negotiable.
August is very, very hot so be prepared. You need sun cream, hats and plenty of water-bottled water avilable everywhere. Marrakech is a wonderful place-so much to see and do-it is ideal for a city break and I have no reservations in recommending Riad Charlott.

Room Tip: Tell Jean Pierre your exact requirements and I'm sure he will do his best to accommodate them
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargaretPonthir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Riad Charlott was a wonderful retreat in Marrakech. We stayed for three nights while on holiday in between trips to Ouzarzate. The riad has a great rooftop, authentic feeling rooms, and amazing service. Jean Pierre and Ahmed are accommodating and truly interested in making sure you have a memorable and comfortable stay. The hotel has free wi-fi and great breakfasts. We loved being deep inside the medina and getting the feel for what it might be like to live inside the maze. If you are interested in terrific service and a wonderful retreat Riad Charlott is the place!

Room Tip: Some rooms are right off the center hall - for more privacy ask for a room further from the center h...
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxTraveler1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Riad is very pretty. Service from Riad staff was good. Every day the staff would make us complimentary mint tea and fetch us water.

It was confusing finding the place and getting back to it as it is away from the main streets and the taxis cannot come to the Riad so you have to walk from the public roads which is tiresome if you have suitcases. Generally there was harassment from young teenage boys if you are female without a male companion. If people show you the way, they expect to get paid and will ask you for as much as 20 euros, and can be aggressive if you don't pay.

We had paid 20 euros for the hotel to arrange a taxi driver to the airport, which is almost 20 pounds. When we got to the airport, the taxi driver called for a young man in the car parking lot to help us with our luggage. We thought it was included in the service; after the man had helped us with our luggage to check-in, he told us it would be the equivalent of £6. We refused to pay it but gave him £2 anyway.

However, this should be part of the service, as 20 euros is a lot of money for Morocco and the taxi drive only took 15 minutes which should be about 4-5 euros in a taxi. It is about 50p for a litre of petrol in Marrakech.

If you take the guided tour to the Atlas mountains, the driver will stop on the way and show you a Berber's house. You are expected to tip. It is a money making operation. The guided tour was very expensive. We paid 80 euros and was told this would include transport and the guide, and found out from the tour guide that he was expecting a payment from us of 20 euros. We told him we had already paid 80 euros, but we paid him a further 10 euros for his time as we did feel bad that he hadn't been paid.

Being a tourist in a poor country, people will try to rip you off. The service is generally good at the Riad but be careful with the services that you book through the Riad.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stellar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

This Riad is beautiful and nothing seemed too much trouble. It's contemporary and stylish and overall good value. However,I agree almost completely with the review below. The Riad is buried deep in the Medina in a city where being lost is not fun, simply because the slightest glance at a map draws so much unwanted attention. The medina is definitely an experience but it's so hard to find restaurants or anywhere licenced that most nights for us were early nights. And for us here was the main issue. On retiring to the Riad it was DEAD! Off season perhaps but I mean deserted....so beautiful surroundings YES but we were bored. Our last night was fab...we had a nice dinner on the roof, they even lit us a fire. We watched the sun set and listened to the call to prayer from every angle. We just felt it was a pity that this place lacked the atmosphere that can only come from having other people about!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kerrychick67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#181 of 502 in Marrakech
261 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#133 of 502 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#136 of 502 in Marrakech
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#90 of 502 in Marrakech
159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#100 of 502 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#119 of 502 in Marrakech
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £43 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing