We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at a beautiful, relaxing riad!”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #140 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay at a beautiful, relaxing riad!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riad Charlott’ with a party of 6 friends. From the time we booked the Riad several months ago until the end of our stay, the manager Jean Pierre was kind, thoughtful and extremely helpful. The Riad is quiet, beautifully appointed and the rooms are elegant, stylish and spotlessly clean. All the staff were polite and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast and dinner on the roof terrace were a delight! The Riad is about a 10 minute walk through the souks to the Place Jemaa El Fna. Although this seemed like a daunting prospect, Jean Pierre’s hand-drawn detailed map made it a relatively easy and entertaining stroll. We also organised a trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas mountains through the Riad and this was well worth a day of our short trip. I would highly recommend the Riad Charlott’ and would certainly consider staying there on any future trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
229
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Jean - Pierre and staff of Riad Charlott' once again thank you so much for a memorable 3 night stay - everything was perfect. Loved the luxury toiletries the big fluffy towels, crisp white sheets, comfy bed, room A/C.. the whole package. You and your staff obviously take great pride in meeting your guests expectations and needs. Our group booked 4 of the 5 suites several months before our stay, during that time several emails were sent to the Riad with requests for information - Jean-Pierre replied promptly each of his emails ending with '' I remain at your disposal if you wish more information'' I was very impressed at this level of service - during our stay Jean - Pierre was available daily to answer our questions or just have a chat. We arranged return airport transfer, evening meal (including wine) and day trip to Ourika valley through JP, no problems. A pleasure to meet you JP and your staff. Book this Riad you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ripper2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

OK..So I stepped off the plane, smashed my head on the taxi and then thought I was seeing things for the next 15 mins as the transport Jean Pierre arranged for us drove past a guy carrying a half glazed full size door over his shoulder on a moped!..In front of him, a family of five without a single piece of protective wear between them! Cars and bikes making up their own version of the "rules" as they went along. Upon arrival just inside the inner walls we were warmly greeted by Jean Pierre! Thank goodness. I am good with directions but this place is unbelievable. One missed turn and you could be lost for hours! The heat, a reasonable 40%, smells of the markets (freshly tanned leather, fruit, meat and fish) all mingle to overload the senses. Make sure you pack your eyes in the back of your head to account for mopeds, bicycles, donkeys, cars..the list goes on. Then a doorway. Stepping through it can only be described as walking into another world! Cool, peaceful and decorated beautifully! Jean Pierre let us settle in to our stunning room and provided us with refreshments. Then it was time for the first time visitor induction. Forget tourist maps. They will get you lost in no time. The bible was JP's simple key landmark map that will keep you out of trouble. After my wifes initial statement of "WE ARE NEVER LEAVING HERE" we ventured out. Advice to ignore the youngsters who would constantly hassle you giving directions was welcome. Watch out for "square is this way" (pointing to opposite direction to way you are walking every time!) & "Its closed down there" were a constant throughout our time there. The advice given by JP of where to eat whether upmarket or off the stalls showed great knowledge. It was our anniversary whilst here and Jean Pierre went out of his way to make sure the plans for food and even the gift of the charming trinkets from the rooms were sorted. He even arranged to wrap them using his own paper from his home to avoid me struggling. We visited during Ramadam and he advised us of the issues surrounding eating etc..We forgot on the first day and had bought food for a picnic in the gardens! A quick phone call to explain we had this food but could not eat in public had him offering for us to come back to the riad and use the sublime roof terrace to eat and drink in peace. A trip to a hotel to use their pool facilities? Sorted. Advice on how much to pay for the horse and carriage ride? Sorted. My wife mixing our dates up so could we stay an extra night? Doh! No room at the inn! So what did JP do? Called a fellow Riad owner (Riad Dar-K- I have reviewed this too) 100 meters from his and you guessed it! Sorted! Jean Pierre understands his visitors and adapts to their needs quickly without being intrusive in any way. If you are heading to the madness of the medina you would not go wrong with staying at this Oasis!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We couldn't wish ourselves a better place to be in Marrakech on our honeymoon:) we had a wonderful time there listening to bird's songs in the morning and a cricket talk during the evening.
The terrace in the night was like a dream if I could I would take it home:) I am sure if you look up you will see some glow bugs:)
It is difficult to add something to previous comments it feels like everything was said...please go for a camel ride and definitely go for a day trip to Atlas mountains...

(there is no confusion with money, just ask if you are not sure; the Berber house it's expected to be tipped,so what?you will tip a lot there:) the guide in the village will be paid separately - advise the price with your driver; finding the way back to Riad?just find the right points from Jean Pierre's map as your indication and you will not get lost; always barter the price even with taxi driver).

The mint tea in Riad made our afternoon:)) and the last thing which I fell in love with was the shampoo & shower gel in our bathroom, silly thing maybe but...that will always remind me our stay in Marrakech, I found some in Agadir's airport eventually:)))oh and if you like beautiful smells like that buy amber & jasmin from the spicies market in a little squares:)
We will come back one day to Riad and we hope nothing will change.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in the Valentin suite at Riad Charlott' during late August, and found it to be a wonderful oasis of calm in amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.

Jean Pierre and his staff couldn't be more attentive to your every need and whim, from providing a refreshing mint tea and light snack following an early arrival to booking trips and making restaurant reservations... and of course providing their infamous hand drawn map to aid your adventures to/from the riad!

The riad took 4 years to complete and every ounce of hard work is visible in a beautiful, well thought out end product. The most specatular part of it was the fabulous roof terrace, where we spent each night watching the sunset over the Medina.

Also, it's located less than a 10 minute walk to the main square through the spice market and Souks, and a there's a lovely restaurant - Le Foundouk - a couple of minutes walk away which is pricey but does a mouthwatering seafood pastilla.

If you fancy a day of relaxation away from the mayhem of the Medina, then ask Jean Pierre to arrange a visit to Manzil la Torture - for approx £25 per person you can laze in their manicured gardens on a canopied double sun lounger by a 40m infinity swimming pool from 10am to 8pm, and a 3-course lunch is included in the price.

I would recommend Riad Charlott' to anyone looking to experience the real Marrakech, rather than stay in a large resort style hotel. Word of advice though - make sure you have cash to pay for the balance of your stay, as their card connection can be temparmental and unreliable due to the riad being buried with the walls of the Medina!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuwenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our 4 night stay at Riad Charlott very much. We booked it on tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. We stayed in the Pierre Suite and our two friends stayed in the Matthieu Suite. Both rooms are individually furnished to a very high standard and are very clean and spacious.
Jean Pierre (the owner) arranged our airport transfers prior to our arrival and he was waiting for us at the drop off point outside the Medina and from there he walked us to the Riad. Without this, we would never have found it and would have suffered endless harassment from local boys & men trying to guide us - for a price.
Once settled, John Pierre, sat us down with a mint tea, and took us through a detailed hand drawn map of the local area which proved invaluable. (We only got “slightly” lost once but soon found our way). He recommended various tours and sights to visit and gave us his mobile number in case we had any problems or got lost.
As we had arrived in the early evening we chose to eat at the Riad rather than venture out for the first time in the dark. We ate on the beautiful roof terrace and had a pleasant three course meal of courgette and mint soup (cold), a chicken tagine and freshly sliced oranges, washed down with a bottle of red wine. (Even though it was Ramadan wine and beer were not a problem in the Riad).
We like a warm drink whilst getting ready in a morning and as there was no tea/coffee maker in the rooms we took our own travel kettle.
Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, yoghurt, coffee, tea and various bread/pastry/cake items with homemade jams. It was basic but pleasant.
The air conditioning wasn’t working properly in our room and as the temperature was 37 degrees my husband and I spent a couple of uncomfortable nights before it was fixed. Had there been any spare rooms in the Riad, I am confident that we would have been able to swap rooms.
My husband and I found Marrakech very intense. From the heat, to the crowds, the donkey/moped dodging to the constant harassment just walking through the souks. But each day we arrived back at the Riad and soon relaxed by sitting on the tranquil roof terrace and watching the beautiful sunset behind the palm trees with the Koutoubia mosque in one direction and the Atlas mountains in the other.
Our flight home was at 9.45pm and as there were no guests arriving that day we were allowed to keep our rooms at no extra charge.
All the Riad Charlott staff are very helpful and did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Jean Pierre is a wonderful thoughtful and animated character with a desire to make your stay everything it should (and you want it) to be.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Riad Charlott and would be happy to answer any further questions anyone has.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesep28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

On arrival in Marrakesh I have to admit I did think 'where have I come to?!'
Walking through the medina is certainly an experience but once we walked through the door to riad Charlott it was like we were in another world, a lovely, tranquil and relaxing world.
The riad is beautiful and calm with a terrace on the roof top.
We ate at the riad on our first night, a traditional Moroccan meal which was delicious.
Jean Pierre (not sure on spelling) the riad manager is awesome, he is so friendly and helpful, an expert on Marrakesh. Firstly he organised our pick up then he supplied us with maps and directions, which trust me you need when you first arrive in the medina. He recommended some great places that we ate at and also booked us a day at a villa when we needed some respite from the chaos of the centre of Marrakesh.
I highly recommend a stay here if you want to sample real, traditional Morrocco.
If that's not for you then you may be better off in a hotel in the French area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiddle419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#97 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#106 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Amin
Riad Amin
#135 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#152 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Rocmarra
Dar Rocmarra
#112 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#204 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing