We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #138 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
192 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I recently stayed 3 nights in Riad Charlott with a friend in the Valentine Suite. Everything was fantastic, I cannot fault it. It certainly deserves its high ranking. It was beautiful and clean and the staff were very friendly especially Jean Pierre the owner. We had an evening meal on arrival which was great and the house wine is very nice and reasonably priced – all of which was served on the roof top.
However please do not think that you will be able to find the Riad from the airport – a taxi booked through the hotel is a must!! We have to admit that as two single females we were overwhelmed by the maze of alleyways, and having arrived in the dark we were actually frightened to leave the Riad the following day, but Jean Pierre was very patient with us, explaining the route with a hand drawn map to the main square. Well it was certainly an adventure, and when we found our way, I admit to being very pleased with ourselves!! And perhaps the best thing about the Riads position is that we were forced to walk through the Souks (which we may have otherwise avoided due to the constant hassle to buy), but the experience was brilliant and not to be missed.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Riad Charlott, however if you are two single females be aware that you may feel vulnerable, and that you have to be polite but forceful with your “no thanks” for directions/company etc. If you are happy to do this then stay here for the overall experience, and embrace the challenge to find the square.
Jean Pierre, thank you I will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
230
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2011

What a great introduction to marrakech staying at Riad Charlott was.The staff were so helpful and kind and on hand to give advise on what to see and do, marrakeck is a mad city full off life.The Riad was keeped very clean and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We went to Marrakech as four couples to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary. Like most reviewers, we found Jean Pierre and his staff to be first class and nothing was too much trouble. The Taxi was waiting at the airport as promised and the adventure began.
Do not be put off by the route to the Riad, taxi, and then hand cart and finally waking down narrow alleyways to a large wooden door. Once through the door we were in an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Riad is like something from the Arabian nights, beautifully appointed and spacious.
Dinner on the roof was a magical experience and the bonus of a special cake and large bunch of roses was typical of Jean Pierre's thoughtfulness. He also arranged our excursion to the Atlas Mountains which was one of the many highlights of our four night’s holiday.
If you go to Marrakech, make sure you stay in the Medina and if it is available, Riad Charlott.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriggoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riad Charlott’ with a party of 6 friends. From the time we booked the Riad several months ago until the end of our stay, the manager Jean Pierre was kind, thoughtful and extremely helpful. The Riad is quiet, beautifully appointed and the rooms are elegant, stylish and spotlessly clean. All the staff were polite and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast and dinner on the roof terrace were a delight! The Riad is about a 10 minute walk through the souks to the Place Jemaa El Fna. Although this seemed like a daunting prospect, Jean Pierre’s hand-drawn detailed map made it a relatively easy and entertaining stroll. We also organised a trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas mountains through the Riad and this was well worth a day of our short trip. I would highly recommend the Riad Charlott’ and would certainly consider staying there on any future trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChanniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Jean - Pierre and staff of Riad Charlott' once again thank you so much for a memorable 3 night stay - everything was perfect. Loved the luxury toiletries the big fluffy towels, crisp white sheets, comfy bed, room A/C.. the whole package. You and your staff obviously take great pride in meeting your guests expectations and needs. Our group booked 4 of the 5 suites several months before our stay, during that time several emails were sent to the Riad with requests for information - Jean-Pierre replied promptly each of his emails ending with '' I remain at your disposal if you wish more information'' I was very impressed at this level of service - during our stay Jean - Pierre was available daily to answer our questions or just have a chat. We arranged return airport transfer, evening meal (including wine) and day trip to Ourika valley through JP, no problems. A pleasure to meet you JP and your staff. Book this Riad you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ripper2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

OK..So I stepped off the plane, smashed my head on the taxi and then thought I was seeing things for the next 15 mins as the transport Jean Pierre arranged for us drove past a guy carrying a half glazed full size door over his shoulder on a moped!..In front of him, a family of five without a single piece of protective wear between them! Cars and bikes making up their own version of the "rules" as they went along. Upon arrival just inside the inner walls we were warmly greeted by Jean Pierre! Thank goodness. I am good with directions but this place is unbelievable. One missed turn and you could be lost for hours! The heat, a reasonable 40%, smells of the markets (freshly tanned leather, fruit, meat and fish) all mingle to overload the senses. Make sure you pack your eyes in the back of your head to account for mopeds, bicycles, donkeys, cars..the list goes on. Then a doorway. Stepping through it can only be described as walking into another world! Cool, peaceful and decorated beautifully! Jean Pierre let us settle in to our stunning room and provided us with refreshments. Then it was time for the first time visitor induction. Forget tourist maps. They will get you lost in no time. The bible was JP's simple key landmark map that will keep you out of trouble. After my wifes initial statement of "WE ARE NEVER LEAVING HERE" we ventured out. Advice to ignore the youngsters who would constantly hassle you giving directions was welcome. Watch out for "square is this way" (pointing to opposite direction to way you are walking every time!) & "Its closed down there" were a constant throughout our time there. The advice given by JP of where to eat whether upmarket or off the stalls showed great knowledge. It was our anniversary whilst here and Jean Pierre went out of his way to make sure the plans for food and even the gift of the charming trinkets from the rooms were sorted. He even arranged to wrap them using his own paper from his home to avoid me struggling. We visited during Ramadam and he advised us of the issues surrounding eating etc..We forgot on the first day and had bought food for a picnic in the gardens! A quick phone call to explain we had this food but could not eat in public had him offering for us to come back to the riad and use the sublime roof terrace to eat and drink in peace. A trip to a hotel to use their pool facilities? Sorted. Advice on how much to pay for the horse and carriage ride? Sorted. My wife mixing our dates up so could we stay an extra night? Doh! No room at the inn! So what did JP do? Called a fellow Riad owner (Riad Dar-K- I have reviewed this too) 100 meters from his and you guessed it! Sorted! Jean Pierre understands his visitors and adapts to their needs quickly without being intrusive in any way. If you are heading to the madness of the medina you would not go wrong with staying at this Oasis!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We couldn't wish ourselves a better place to be in Marrakech on our honeymoon:) we had a wonderful time there listening to bird's songs in the morning and a cricket talk during the evening.
The terrace in the night was like a dream if I could I would take it home:) I am sure if you look up you will see some glow bugs:)
It is difficult to add something to previous comments it feels like everything was said...please go for a camel ride and definitely go for a day trip to Atlas mountains...

(there is no confusion with money, just ask if you are not sure; the Berber house it's expected to be tipped,so what?you will tip a lot there:) the guide in the village will be paid separately - advise the price with your driver; finding the way back to Riad?just find the right points from Jean Pierre's map as your indication and you will not get lost; always barter the price even with taxi driver).

The mint tea in Riad made our afternoon:)) and the last thing which I fell in love with was the shampoo & shower gel in our bathroom, silly thing maybe but...that will always remind me our stay in Marrakech, I found some in Agadir's airport eventually:)))oh and if you like beautiful smells like that buy amber & jasmin from the spicies market in a little squares:)
We will come back one day to Riad and we hope nothing will change.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuernseyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#91 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#151 of 499 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#219 of 499 in Marrakech
161 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#119 of 499 in Marrakech
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Soukaina
Dar Soukaina
#195 of 499 in Marrakech
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing