We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed our flight home...gladly”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #147 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This is much delayed, but I stayed at Charlott with my boyfriend in early October. It wasn't my first time in Marrakech, but definitely the best place I've stayed in all of Morocco. The pictures don't do it justice, especially at night when multicolored lights illuminate the main area beautifully. We stayed in the purple room and it was gorgeous. The breakfast left a little to be desired, but not having a massively full stomach before tackling the hustle of Marrakech might be for the better. We did the day trip to Ouarzazate (arranged through the Riad) and it was a fun escape from the city. Jean Pierre was a lifesaver...we stupidly missed our flight back to Europe and it turned out to be harder to get back to Italy than we thought. He called the airport to try to stall our flight, personally rushed us there, helped us rebook until he had to go home for the day, then continued to let us use his computer. Thankfully our room was available another night and he was kind enough to charge us the off-season price, since we already paid heavily for our mistake. Everyone should stay here and take full advantage of the terrace to hear the prayer call and chill at night - unbeatable! Oh, and Jean Pierre has Moroccan wine at the hotel, so you won't have an issue finding a glass in Marrakech if you stay here.

Room Tip: The purple room was great and spacious but we also peeked into a huge red room and were very impress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7continentsby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

We had an amazing time at Riad Charlott. Before our trip, I had to email the hotel a few times for recommendations on day trips and to help organize our excursions. I always received a respond on the same day, and usually within an hour or two. The staff was very helpful and responsive from before our arrival so I knew we would be in good hands.

The hotel sent a driver to pick us up at the airport and the owner, Jean-Pierre, came to greet us at the drop off point. As cars are not allowed to where the Riad is, we had to walk a very short distance. The Riad is truly a hidden haven in the hustle and bustle of the Medina. After we dropped off our belongings in the room, Jean-Pierre offered us mint green tea and talked us through directions, gave us a few maps and recommendations, and talked us through precautions, etc. On the first night, we had dinner at the Riad and it was the best meal we had. I would recommend that everyone eat there at least once. We returned a bit late and as we are a group of girls, Jean-Pierre was so thoughtful as to call us and make sure we were safe and did not get lost. He was extremely helpful throughout our stay and really ensured that we had a good time. He even arranged for a massage lady to come to the Riad after our long day trip to Telouet and Ait Benhaddou. I would certainly recommend anyone to stay at Riad Charlott, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperMink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We stayed at Riad Charlott for 4 nights in October and can not fault the experience. The room was beautiful (we stayed in the Jade Suite) and we really enjoyed breakfast and early evening drinks on the terrace. Marrakech is a sightly crazy city but with the help of Jean Pierre the owner of Riad Charlott we were able to get the most out of it. He helped us plan our days, book restaurants, a spa and a day out of the city relaxing at a fabulous resort. I'd highly recommend staying here and if you do, make sure you tap into Jean Pierre's fantastic knowledge and passion for the city.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I recently stayed 3 nights in Riad Charlott with a friend in the Valentine Suite. Everything was fantastic, I cannot fault it. It certainly deserves its high ranking. It was beautiful and clean and the staff were very friendly especially Jean Pierre the owner. We had an evening meal on arrival which was great and the house wine is very nice and reasonably priced – all of which was served on the roof top.
However please do not think that you will be able to find the Riad from the airport – a taxi booked through the hotel is a must!! We have to admit that as two single females we were overwhelmed by the maze of alleyways, and having arrived in the dark we were actually frightened to leave the Riad the following day, but Jean Pierre was very patient with us, explaining the route with a hand drawn map to the main square. Well it was certainly an adventure, and when we found our way, I admit to being very pleased with ourselves!! And perhaps the best thing about the Riads position is that we were forced to walk through the Souks (which we may have otherwise avoided due to the constant hassle to buy), but the experience was brilliant and not to be missed.
I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the Riad Charlott, however if you are two single females be aware that you may feel vulnerable, and that you have to be polite but forceful with your “no thanks” for directions/company etc. If you are happy to do this then stay here for the overall experience, and embrace the challenge to find the square.
Jean Pierre, thank you I will definitely be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevieboyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

What a great introduction to marrakech staying at Riad Charlott was.The staff were so helpful and kind and on hand to give advise on what to see and do, marrakeck is a mad city full off life.The Riad was keeped very clean and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We went to Marrakech as four couples to celebrate our Golden wedding anniversary. Like most reviewers, we found Jean Pierre and his staff to be first class and nothing was too much trouble. The Taxi was waiting at the airport as promised and the adventure began.
Do not be put off by the route to the Riad, taxi, and then hand cart and finally waking down narrow alleyways to a large wooden door. Once through the door we were in an oasis of peace and tranquillity. The Riad is like something from the Arabian nights, beautifully appointed and spacious.
Dinner on the roof was a magical experience and the bonus of a special cake and large bunch of roses was typical of Jean Pierre's thoughtfulness. He also arranged our excursion to the Atlas Mountains which was one of the many highlights of our four night’s holiday.
If you go to Marrakech, make sure you stay in the Medina and if it is available, Riad Charlott.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BriggoHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Riad Charlott’ with a party of 6 friends. From the time we booked the Riad several months ago until the end of our stay, the manager Jean Pierre was kind, thoughtful and extremely helpful. The Riad is quiet, beautifully appointed and the rooms are elegant, stylish and spotlessly clean. All the staff were polite and eager to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Breakfast and dinner on the roof terrace were a delight! The Riad is about a 10 minute walk through the souks to the Place Jemaa El Fna. Although this seemed like a daunting prospect, Jean Pierre’s hand-drawn detailed map made it a relatively easy and entertaining stroll. We also organised a trip to the Ourika Valley in the Atlas mountains through the Riad and this was well worth a day of our short trip. I would highly recommend the Riad Charlott’ and would certainly consider staying there on any future trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChanniePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#88 of 502 in Marrakech
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Ammonites
Riad Les Ammonites
#229 of 502 in Marrakech
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Maison Belbaraka
Riad Maison Belbaraka
#134 of 502 in Marrakech
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#138 of 502 in Marrakech
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#174 of 502 in Marrakech
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#151 of 502 in Marrakech
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £47 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing