We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastefully decorated, comfortable, friendly but casually managed”
Review of Riad Charlott'

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Charlott'
Ranked #141 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tastefully decorated, comfortable, friendly but casually managed”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

If you have decided to stay in the medina (charm and location more important than convenience) this riad should be considered. It is very well situated. It has been tastefully renovated, is comfortable and the plumbing works. The reason why I am giving it only 3 stars is that it is very casually managed; the staff, the manager and the owner are all very friendly and eager to please but are not very efficient.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Oldboots123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    37
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
230
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, AR
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First of all, and most important, LET THEM COME GET YOU AND TAKE YOU THERE. Otherwise, you will NEVER find it. Promise. The streets in the Medina are crazy and you WILL get lost, unless you know your bearings.
Second, the hotel is overall very good and clean. Khalid and his staff are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Khalid's English is a little off, but we managed.
Our room (a suite) was decorated very nicely with a beautiful, large chandelier and a flat screen TV. The bed and sleep quality were also very, very good. Although the WiFi was very spotty at times.
However, my main issues were with the bathroom. The mirror is large enough. It goes from one end of the bathroom to the other. Although it is way too high to see yourself if you're 5'5" or under. There IS an ottoman in the bathroom, which I assume is to stand on, and I DID use it for that purpose. Second, the lighting was awful. There are 2 dimly lit sconces on either side of the mirror and that's it. If you're tall (or don't mind standing on an ottoman to see), and if lighting does not matter to you, then you'll find that this is a fabulous place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy-BO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my partner and his family for a few days recently in Riad Charlott'. We had an airport transfer booked which made things easy in terms of getting there - the sign our driver held up at the airport didn't say our names, simply the name of the riad, so make sure all members of your party know the name of the accommodation if you are arriving separately. Also, be sure to get dihrams out of an atm at the airport on the way in, as you will need to tip any porters you use once the taxi drops you off (owing to the narrow streets, cars can't make it the whole way to the riad. Its only a 5 minute walk though so if you've only got light luggage you may not need to use a porter).
Once there, Khalid made us feel very welcome, providing us with refreshments and making sure we knew our way around the winding streets. The riad itself is beautiful, with lovely rooms and a fantastic roof terrace. Breakfast is delicious, with a selection of pastries and breads, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice (it would be nice if some fruit were part of it though!). Definitely recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Couple of friends visiting Morocco and Marrakech specifically for the first time. Availed of the Taxi pick up as arriving late in the evening and would definitely recommend this unless you want an adventure and time wasted getting there. Room was well furnished, if a little dark but that appears to be the general style. Lovely simple breakfast to set you off on your day and nice refreshing mint tea in the afternoon/ evening. Very good attentive staff checking regularly that all okay which we appreciated as well as Khalid taking us to the central Medina area on our fist day so that we got our bearings. Ahmed was a gentleman, bringing us to/ from the taxi to the airport and made us feel most welcome.
I would have no hesitation in recommending the Riad to anyone considering a visit. Finally to mention, the tranquillity of the location, no noise from motorbikes as the Riad is off from one of the main pedestrian walkways so you will sleep well and even the call to prayer we found to be done in a chilled out vibe.

Room Tip: I would suggest to ask Khalid or the owner directly for a room that will best suit you as they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RealReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

My partner and I came here for 4 days for a brief holiday, Khalid and the rest of the staff made our stay at Riad Charlott as comfortable as can be, they helped us with everything we wanted and more. I would highly recommend staying here. Fantastic location too, not too close to the craziness of the main square, but just a short wall from anything in the old town. Enjoy your stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roderick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed in Riad Charlott for 5 days and could not fault the place - brilliant value for money and standard of a 5* hotel. The Riad is very quiet, comfortable, warm (even in February) and clean, and still well located within the Medina. There is a wonderful balcony (great views of the city) and good food (if a little unimaginative), and we were even upgraded on arrival, which was a bonus. However, what sets this place apart is the service of the staff, in particular Khalid. He looked after us from the minute we arrived, with directions, recommendations and advice for how to approach the city, all delivered with warmth, friendliness and in perfect English. On numerous occasions he went above and beyond the call of duty, and for this reason alone we couldn't recommend this Riad enough. Our only advice would be to book an airport transfer with the Riad if it's your first time in Marrakech - the Medina is a little difficult to navigate as a first-timer!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at riad Charlott for 4 days and it has truly been an excellent experience. The service has been very helpful, considerate and with great attention to doing what's best for me. The room has been very clean and has served as a great base for exploring Marrakech. I have through the Hotel book a guide to show me around old Marrakech. This I think was a very good idea and I can only encourage others do the same. Thank you for a nice day if I visit Marrakech again in the future this riad will surely be the place I'll be staying at.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Pierre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#156 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#121 of 499 in Marrakech
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
Riad Dollar Des Sables
#217 of 499 in Marrakech
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#108 of 499 in Marrakech
487 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#93 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Charlott'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Charlott'

Property: Riad Charlott'
Address: Derb Sidi Ahmed Bennacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#80 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A riad magnificent allying Moresque architecture and contemporary decoration, 5 vast rooms in the sophisticated decoration, one of the most beautiful brings down of the medina of Marrakesh offering a wonderfull view on the city and the Atlas. Swimming pool-Jacuzzi, hammam and massage room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Charlott' reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Charlott` Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing